By: Senator(s) Hill, Moran, Barnett, Butler To: Rules (38th), Seymour

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 548

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE
PICAYUNE HIGH SCHOOL "MAROON TIDE" FOOTBALL TEAM AND HEAD COACH
CODY STOGNER FOR ITS BACK-TO-BACK MHSAA CLASS 5A STATE
CHAMPIONSHIP.

- 5 WHEREAS, the West Point vs. Picayune trilogy is complete, and
- 6 Darrell Smith struck the deciding blow in favor of the "Maroon
- 7 Tide." Smith hauled in a short pass in the left flat from
- 8 Picayune Quarterback Brady Robertson and sprinted 80 yards down
- 9 the sideline for a touchdown, breaking two tackles on his way; and
- 10 WHEREAS, that touchdown gave Picayune High School a 24-14
- 11 lead late in the third quarter, and in an explosive and definitive
- 12 turning point in a second half, the Maroon Tide controlled on the
- 13 way to a 31-21 win in the Mississippi 5A State Championship game
- 14 on December 2, 2022, at M.M. Roberts Stadium. After a title game
- 15 defeat to West Point (11-3) in 2019, Picayune (15-0) can now claim
- 16 back-to-back championship victories over a powerhouse Green Wave
- 17 program; and
- 18 WHEREAS, it is the first time the Maroon Tide has claimed
- 19 back-to-back titles, also capping the school's first undefeated

S. C. R. No. 548 23/SS26/R373 PAGE 1 (rdd\kr)

- 20 season since 1937. "It's so hard to get here," Head Coach Stogner
- 21 said. "It involves so much work and luck and effort. The things
- 22 they do are remarkable. I can't say enough about the team"; and
- 23 WHEREAS, Darrell Smith's reception marked the second of two
- 24 completed passes for the Maroon Tide on the night. With a
- 25 star-studded rushing attack, it mattered little. "It helps when
- 26 you've got the No. 2 back carrying the load 29 to 30 times a game.
- 27 We've been knowing Smith was going to be a good player since he
- 28 was in seventh grade"; and
- 29 WHEREAS, the 2022 Picayune High School "Maroon Tide"
- 30 Championship roster is: Dante Dowdell, Jabari McWilliams, Darrell
- 31 Smith, Niquis Ratcliff, Chris Davis, Brady Robertson, Jessiah
- 32 Contee, Dylan Martz, Jamonta Waller, Ian Herring, Jamal Simmons,
- 33 Damarius Magee, Brandon Parker, Jr., Broderick Ducre, Triston
- 34 Cooper, Chandler Kiley, Nathan Hickman, Javion Goss, Tyran Warren,
- 35 Tyrel McGill, Robert Williams, Amarion Tyson, Cristian James, Ben
- 36 Ducker, Winston Drain, James Mitchell, Morgan Craft, Darnell
- 37 Smith, Jeremiah Grant, Elysha Diodati, Caleb Simmons, Zavion
- 38 Coleman, Jeremiah Contee, Quinton Haynes, Gage Thibodeaux, Canaan
- 39 Uzel, Roman Galvez, Peyton Wells, Brennen Williams, Brodie
- 40 Hassell, Chase Stubbs, Michael Morrell, Karsen Robbins, Jermiah
- 41 Adams, Donell Lewis, Mitchell Smith, Michael Smith, Marquez
- 42 Solomon, Ty Grant, Marty D, Frank Simmons, Scotty Adam, Hooty
- 43 Adam, Joshua Perry and Joe Abston; Head Coach Cody Stogner; and
- 44 Assistant Coaches Adam Feeley, Seth Hayden and Mark Summers; and

45	WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize this group
46	of student athletes who have brought honor to their school, their
47	community and to the State of Mississippi:
48	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
49	MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That
50	we do hereby commend and congratulate the Picayune High School
51	"Maroon Tide" Football Team and Head Coach Cody Stogner for its
52	back-to-back Mississippi High School Activities Association
53	(MHSAA) Class 5A State Championship, and extend the best wishes of
54	the Legislature to the team, coaches, parents and sponsors for
55	future success.
56	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to
57	Coach Cody Stogner for the team and Picayune School District
58	Principal Kristi Mitchell, forwarded to the Picayune School
59	District Board of Trustees, and made available to the Capitol
60	Press Corps.