REGULAR SESSION 2023

By: Representatives Rosebud, Sanders, Anthony

To: Rules

## HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 182

1	Α	RESOLUTION	COMMENDING	AND	CONGRATULATING	THE	MCEVANS	SCHOOL

- 2 WARRIORS BOYS BASKETBALL TEAM AND HEAD COACH ERIC HENRY FOR
- 3 WINNING THE MISSISSIPPI HIGH SCHOOL ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION CLASS
- 4 1A STATE CHAMPIONSHIP.
- 5 WHEREAS, the McEvans School Warriors Basketball Team raced
- 6 past McAdams 67-48 to claim the Mississippi High School Activities
- 7 Association (MHSAA) Class 1A Boys State Championship on March 2,
- 8 2023, at the Mississippi Coliseum; and
- 9 WHEREAS, the Warriors finished the season with a 24-6 record,
- 10 and the championship was the school's fifth state title in school
- 11 history and its first since 2015, when the school was known as
- 12 Shaw; and
- 13 WHEREAS, during the championship game, McAdams jumped out to
- 14 a 9-3 lead to begin the game and eventually held a 16-6 lead at
- 15 the end of the quarter, but after that, it was all the Warriors,
- 16 as they implored the full-court press, which they had not used at
- 17 all during the off season, which caught McAdams off guard, but
- 18 forcing turnovers that led to easy baskets was something the
- 19 Warriors had done all year; and

20	WHEREAS, behind a defense that forced 31 turnovers and the
21	play of Brandon Hall and Jalen Smith, McEvans went on an 18-2 run
22	in the second quarter to take a 24-18 lead and held a 24-21
23	halftime lead, and a 10-2 run to begin the second half stretched
24	the Warriors' lead out to 34-23 and an 8-0 run to end the third
25	quarter gave McEvans a 42-27 lead headed to the fourth; and
26	WHEREAS, during the final period, the Warriors' lead never
27	dwindled below nine points, and Brandon Hall and Jalen Smith each
28	had 18 points to lead McEvans, while Edward Smith added 11 points
29	for the Warriors; and
30	WHEREAS, the 2022-2023 Warriors' Championship Team Roster
31	consists of the following talented athletes: Omarion Blake, Jalen
32	Smith, Brenton Hall, Jordan McDaniel, Brandon Hall, Elijah
33	Johnson, Bryan Dotson, Antone Kirkland, Edward Smith, Delvin
34	Jordan, Treyshawn Thomas, Raysheed Hornes, Tanari Cooper, and
35	Rodrick Phillips; and Head Coach Eric Henry; and
36	WHEREAS, the Warriors have been superbly coached and inspired
37	by Head Coach Eric Henry, who has been coaching the team since
38	they were in the tenth grade, and during his tenure with this
39	group of young men, he has broadened the players' knowledge of the
40	game and refined their skills in execution; and
41	WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to
42	recognize and commend excellence, especially that displayed by the
43	McEvans School Boys Basketball Team, and it is with great pride
44	that we congratulate this elite group of student-athletes and Head

45	Coach	Eric	Henry,	who	have	brought	honor	to	their	school	and	to

- 46 the great State of Mississippi:
- 47 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 48 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby
- 49 commend and congratulate the McEvans School Warriors Boys
- 50 Basketball Team and Head Coach Eric Henry for winning the
- 51 Mississippi High School Activities Association Class 1A State
- 52 Championship, and extend best wishes to the team and coaches for
- 53 continued success in all their future endeavors.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 55 furnished to Head Coach Eric Henry, McEvans Principal Shannon
- 56 Thompson, the Bolivar County School Board and to the members of
- 57 the Capitol Press Corps.