By: Representatives McKnight, Crawford To: Rules

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 149

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE WEST HARRISON

2 3 4 5	MISSISSIPPI HIGH SCHOOL ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION CLASS 5A STATE CHEERLEADING CHAMPIONSHIP AND FOR PLACING SECOND AT THE UCA NATIONALS COMPETITION.
6	WHEREAS, proving hard work and diligence are the keys to
7	success, the West Harrison High School Hurricanes Cheerleading
8	Team claimed the Mississippi High School Activities Association
9	(MHSAA) Class 5A State Cheerleading Championship on December 10,
10	2022; and
11	WHEREAS, under the insightful and accomplished leadership of
12	Head Coach Heather Serpas, Assistant Coach Hannah Jones and
13	Choreographer Jayk Stewart, the Hurricanes did an exceptional job
14	of rehearsing their cheers and routines, unifying all of their
15	strengths to make a good squad and ultimately executing an
16	outstanding job working toward the accomplishment of this highly
17	pursued goal; and

WHEREAS, in February 2023, the Hurricanes also competed in

the UCA Nationals competition, where they placed first in 2021 and

18

19

- 20 2022, and after a flawless and electric performance, they placed
- 21 second; and
- 22 WHEREAS, throughout this special season, the West Harrison
- 23 High School Cheerleaders worked extremely hard to succeed, and the
- 24 members have improved exponentially in all aspects of their
- 25 cheerleading abilities, and due to their outstanding God-given
- 26 talent, strong desire to win and tremendous work ethic, they
- 27 completed their competition season with their third state title,
- 28 as they also won in 2019 and 2020; and
- 29 WHEREAS, the members of the West Harrison High School
- 30 Cheerleading Team, who constantly impress with their sincere
- 31 displays of professionalism and self-discipline, include:
- 32 seniors, Jiavona Hayes, Destiny Jack, Tyana Johnson, Hailey
- 33 Langenbacher, Jada McCalebb, Sarah Thomas, Samantha Wells,
- 34 Maverick Johnson, Robert (Corey) McArn, Eric Necaise, Lane
- 35 Trosclair, Bryan Wooten and Kaison McGill; juniors, Macey Davis,
- 36 Mialani Garcia, Andrea Moreno, Daisy Parker, Jaclyn Powers,
- 37 Tayedeus Jacobs, Matthew Jordan and Caleb Phelps; sophomores,
- 38 Raegan Brooks, Marley Freeman, Ceana Lacey, Jenna Pierson, Myleigh
- 39 Thompson and Abram Parker; and freshmen, Lauren Butler, Mady
- 40 Gauthier, Abigail Pretti and Skylynn Yarbrough; and
- 41 WHEREAS, the Hurricanes cheerleaders have practiced and
- 42 worked together for many hours in the pursuit of greatness and
- 43 have shown a high degree of sportsmanship while representing the
- 44 State of Mississippi at all levels of competition; and

45	WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to
46	recognize and commend outstanding student-athletes such as the
47	West Harrison High School Hurricanes Cheerleading Team, whose
48	superb attitudes and unparalleled determination to reach their
49	championship goal brought honor and glory to West Harrison High
50	School and to the State of Mississippi:
51	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
52	REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby
53	commend and congratulate the West Harrison High School Hurricanes
54	Cheerleading Team for winning the 2022 Mississippi High School
55	Activities Association (MHSAA) Class 5A State Cheerleading
56	Championship and for placing second at the UCA Nationals
57	competition, and extend best wishes for continued success in all
58	their future endeavors.
59	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
60	furnished to Heather Serpas, Head Coach; Hannah Jones, Assistant
61	Coach; Jayk Stewart, Choreographer; Dr. Michael Weaver, Principal;
62	Averie Bush, Athletic Director; Mitchell King, Superintendent; and
63	to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.