By: Representatives Hobgood-Wilkes, Ladner, To: Rules Owen

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 106

- A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE PICAYUNE HIGH SCHOOL "MAROON TIDE" FOOTBALL TEAM AND HEAD COACH CODY STOGNER FOR ITS BACK-TO-BACK MISSISSIPPI HIGH SCHOOL ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION (MHSAA) CLASS 5A STATE CHAMPIONSHIP.
- 5 WHEREAS, the West Point vs. Picayune trilogy is complete, and
- 6 Darrell Smith struck the deciding blow in favor of the "Maroon
- 7 Tide" as he hauled in a short pass in the left flat from Picayune
- 8 quarterback Brady Robertson and sprinted 80 yards down the
- 9 sideline for a touchdown, breaking two tackles on his way; and
- 10 WHEREAS, that touchdown gave Picayune High School a 24-14
- 11 lead late in the third quarter, and in an explosive and definitive
- 12 turning point in a second half, the Maroon Tide controlled on the
- 13 way to a 31-21 win in the Mississippi High School Activities
- 14 Association (MHSAA) 5A State Championship game on December 2,
- 15 2022, at M.M. Roberts Stadium, and after a title game defeat to
- 16 West Point (11-3) in 2019, Picayune (15-0) can now claim
- 17 back-to-back championship victories over a powerhouse Green Wave
- 18 program; and

- 19 WHEREAS, it is the first time the Maroon Tide has claimed
- 20 back-to-back titles, also capping the school's first undefeated
- season since 1937; and 21
- 22 WHEREAS, the 2022 Picayune High School "Maroon Tide"
- Championship roster is: Dante Dowdell, Jabari McWilliams, Darrell 23
- 24 Smith, Niquis Ratcliff, Chris Davis, Brady Robertson, Jessiah
- Contee, Dylan Martz, Jamonta Waller, Ian Herring, Jamal Simmons, 25
- 26 Damarius Magee, Brandon Parker, Jr., Broderick Ducre, Triston
- 27 Cooper, Chandler Kiley, Nathan Hickman, Javion Goss, Tyran Warren,
- 28 Tyrel McGill, Robert Williams, Amarion Tyson, Cristian James, Ben
- 29 Ducker, Winston Drain, James Mitchell, Morgan Craft, Darnell
- 30 Smith, Jeremiah Grant, Elysha Diodati, Caleb Simmons, Zavion
- 31 Coleman, Jeremiah Contee, Quinton Haynes, Gage Thibodeaux, Canaan
- 32 Uzel, Roman Galvez, Peyton Wells, Brennen Williams, Brodie
- Hassell, Chase Stubbs, Michael Morrell, Karsen Robbins, Jermiah 33
- 34 Adams, Donell Lewis, Mitchell Smith, Michael Smith, Marquez
- 35 Solomon, Ty Grant, Marty D, Frank Simmons, Scotty Adam, Hooty
- Adam, Joshua Perry and Joe Abston; Head Coach Cody Stogner; and 36
- 37 Assistant Coaches Adam Feeley, Seth Hayden and Mark Summers; and
- 38 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize this group
- 39 of student-athletes who have brought honor to their school, their
- 40 community and to the State of Mississippi:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF 41
- 42 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby
- commend and congratulate the Picayune High School "Maroon Tide" 43

23/HR26/R2322 PAGE 2 (MCL\KW)

- 44 Football Team, and Head Coach Cody Stogner for its back-to-back
- 45 Mississippi High School Activities Association (MHSAA) Class 5A
- 46 State Championship, and extend best wishes for continued success
- 47 to the team members in all their future endeavors.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 49 furnished to Head Coach Cody Stogner and to the members of the
- 50 Capitol Press Corps.