MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

By: Representative Mickens

To: Rules

## HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 16

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE LOUISVILLE
 HIGH SCHOOL "WILDCATS" FOOTBALL TEAM AND HEAD COACH TYRONE SHORTER
 FOR WINNING THE 2022 MISSISSIPPI HIGH SCHOOL ACTIVITIES
 ASSOCIATION CLASS 4A STATE CHAMPIONSHIP.

5 WHEREAS, the slogan, "Big Louisville" for the 2022 Louisville 6 "Wildcats" Football team covered shirts and posters throughout the 7 west side of M.M. Roberts Stadium on December 3, 2022, and the 8 word "big" is certainly fitting for what Louisville (14-1) put 9 together in the final minute of its 17-14 win against Mendenhall 10 (12-2) in the Mississippi High School Activities Association Class 11 4A State Championship; and

12 WHEREAS, Wildcat Gabriel Moore forced a big fumble to get 13 Louisville the ball back with 32 seconds to go, and huge 14-yard 14 and 19-yard completions by Keyarrion Jackson got the team into 15 field goal range, and once in range, Deidrick Hunt booted a 16 beautiful 27-yard field goal to give Louisville its first state 17 title since 2020; and

18 WHEREAS, after the game, Louisville Head Coach Tyrone Shorter19 said he had confidence in his kicker, Hunt, throughout the game

H. R. No. 16 **~ OFFICIAL ~** N1/2 23/HR26/R1957 PAGE 1 (ENK\KW) and especially at the buzzer, and the Wildcats set the tone of the game early, jumping out to a 7-0 lead after a 13-play opening drive; and

23 WHEREAS, the beginning drive, capped by Kendon Sanders' 24 2-yard touchdown run, was met by a quick three-and-out by the 25 Wildcats' defense, and the lead was extended to 14-0 quickly with 26 Louisville going 33 yards on six plays for another score, this 27 time by Nigel Anderson with a 7-yard touchdown run; and

28 WHEREAS, the teams exchanged failed offensive drives 29 throughout the second half, setting up the moment for Hunt, who 30 immediately embraced his long snapper as the celebration of 31 Louisville's 11th state title began; and

32 WHEREAS, the Wildcats are 11-0 in title games, a number Coach 33 Shorter is well aware of, as he "didn't want to be the first coach 34 to come down here and lose it"; and

35 WHEREAS, the 2022 Louisville High School Wildcats 36 Championship Roster is comprised of the following talented athletes: Josiah Steele, Jykevious Goss, Nigel Anderson, 37 38 Christavious Savior, Kendon Sanders, Jayllum Hoskins, Gabriel 39 Moore, Keyarrion Jackson, Xavier Hunt, Corxavier Coleman, TayQuon 40 McKinney, Kenneth Hill, Deniro Jackson, Swahili Earby, Khallin Macon, Robert Long, Kamron Tripplett, De'Areius Norton, Triston 41 Edwards, Semaj Knowles, Xzarion Haynes, Victor Rush, Jaden 42 43 Tripplett, Randerous Leonard, Travon McDonald, Jaylin Jordan, Laterrious Haynes, Hakeem Holman, Jacari Owens, Dallas Lee, Caden 44

H. R. No. 16 23/HR26/R1957 PAGE 2 (ENK\KW)

## 

45 Thompkins, Tyler Glenn, Caleb Hughes, Eric Tripplett, Armon 46 Tripplett, Jayshunn Robbins, Ayden Coleman, JaQuay Haynes, Zytavious Pledge, Tristan Harrington, Timothy Hoskins, Chase 47 48 Fairley, Dyjaylen Miller, Gregory Jernigan, Dayton Hampton, Aaron 49 Moore, Cameron Hampton, Seth Fairley, Zavion Harrington, Wynn 50 Ewing, Dontea Cross, Jr., Cameron Skeen, Jeremiah Ash, Jamarion Culberson, Ladarrious Cunningham, Bryceston Cistrunk, Marquavion 51 52 Jackson, Chris Hickman, Kellon Mann, Nazyrion Goss, Joshua Ammons, 53 Noah Childs, Davin Caldwell, Ceidrick Hunt, Kirkland Triplett, 54 Kristain Eiland, Tyjavian Davis, Jacob Walker, Davian Caldwell, 55 Jayshun Robbins and Korben Sanders; Head Coach Tyrone Shorter, 56 Assistant Coaches, Chris Carlisle and Javancy Jones; and

57 WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to 58 recognize this group of student athletes and their coach, Head 59 Coach Tyrone Shorter, who have brought honor to their school, 60 their community and to the State of Mississippi:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby
commend and congratulate the Louisville High School "Wildcats"
Football Team and Head Coach Tyrone Shorter for winning the 2022
Mississippi High School Activities Association Class 4A State
Championship, and extend best wishes to the team, coaches, parents
and sponsors for continued success.

68 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be 69 furnished to Head Coach Tyrone Shorter for the team as well as

H. R. No. 16 **~ OFFICIAL ~** 23/hR26/R1957 PAGE 3 (ENK\KW) 70 Louisville High School Principal, Mr. Danya Turner, the Louisville 71 Municipal Separate School District Board of Trustees and to the 72 members of the Capitol Press Corps.

H. R. No. 16 23/HR26/R1957 PAGE 4 (ENK\KW) ST: Louisville High School Football Team; commend upon winning the 2022 MHSAA Class 4A State Championship.