To: Judiciary B By: Representatives Bain, Miles, Aguirre, Anderson (110th), Anderson (122nd), Anthony, Arnold, Bailey, Banks, Barnett, Barton, Bell (21st), Bell (65th), Bennett, Blackmon, Bomgar, Bounds, Boyd (19th), Boyd (37th), Brown (20th), Brown (70th), Burnett, Busby, Byrd, Calvert, Carpenter, Clark, Clarke, Cockerham, Crawford, Creekmore IV, Criswell, Crudup, Currie, Darnell, Denton, Deweese, Eure, Evans (45th), Evans (91st), Faulkner, Felsher, Ford (54th), Ford (73rd), Foster, Gibbs, Goodin, Guice, Gunn, Hale, Haney, Harness, Hines, Holloway, Hood, Hopkins, Horan, Horne, Huddleston, Hulum, Jackson, Johnson, Karriem, Kinkade, Lamar, Lancaster, Mangold, Massengill, McCarty, McCray, McGee, McKnight, McLean, McLeod, Mickens, Mims, Morgan, Newman, Oliver, Osborne, Owen, Paden, Patterson, Pigott, Porter, Powell, Read, Reynolds, Roberson, Robinson, Rosebud, Rushing, Sanders, Sanford, Scoggin, Scott, Shanks, Smith, Stamps, Steverson, Straughter, Summers, Taylor, Thompson, Tubb, Tullos, Turner, Walker, Wallace, Watson, Weathersby, White, Williamson, Yancey, Yates, Young, Zuber

HOUSE BILL NO. 266 (As Sent to Governor)

AN ACT TO NAME THE MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY HEADQUARTERS' OFFICE, LOCATED IN PEARL, RANKIN COUNTY, 3 MISSISSIPPI, THE "DAVID R. HUGGINS HEADQUARTERS OF THE MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY"; TO NAME THE MISSISSIPPI STATE CRIME LABORATORY IN PEARL, RANKIN COUNTY, MISSISSIPPI, THE "TOM 5 WEATHERSBY STATE CRIME LABORATORY"; TO REQUIRE THE DEPARTMENT OF 6 7 FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION IN CONJUNCTION WITH THE DEPARTMENT OF 8 PUBLIC SAFETY TO ERECT THE PROPER LETTERING OR SIGNAGE ON THE 9 OUTDOOR FACADE OF THE BUILDINGS DISPLAYING THE OFFICIAL NAMES AS 10 THE "DAVID R. HUGGINS HEADQUARTERS OF THE MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY" AND THE "TOM WEATHERSBY STATE CRIME LABORATORY"; 11 12 AND FOR RELATED PURPOSES.

- BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI:
- 14 **SECTION 1.** The Mississippi Department of Public Safety
- 15 Headquarters' Office, to be constructed and located in Pearl,
- 16 Rankin County, Mississippi, shall be named the "David R. Huggins
- 17 Headquarters of the Mississippi Department of Public Safety." The
- 18 Department of Finance and Administration shall prepare or have

19 prepared a distinctive plaque, to be approved by the Mississippi 20 Department of Public Safety, to be placed in a prominent place within the building, that states the background, accomplishments 21 22 and service to the state by Commissioner David R. Huggins. 23 Department of Finance and Administration, in conjunction with the 24 Mississippi Department of Public Safety, shall erect or cause to be erected proper lettering or signage on the outdoor facade of 25 26 the building displaying the official name of the building as the 27 "David R. Huggins Headquarters of the Mississippi Department of 28 Public Safety." Any and all funds necessary to accomplish this 29 act will be appropriated by the Legislature for such purpose. SECTION 2. The Mississippi State Crime Laboratory of the 30 31 Mississippi Department of Public Safety located in Pearl, Rankin 32 County, Mississippi, shall be named the "Tom Weathersby State 33 Crime Laboratory." The Department of Finance and Administration 34 shall prepare or have prepared a distinctive plaque, to be 35 approved by the Mississippi Department of Public Safety and the Mississippi House of Representatives, to be placed in a prominent 36 37 place within the building, that states the background, 38 accomplishments and service to the state by the Honorable Tom 39 Weathersby. The Department of Finance and Administration, in 40 conjunction with the Mississippi Department of Public Safety, 41 shall erect or cause to be erected proper lettering or signage on 42 the outdoor facade of the building displaying the official name of the building as the "Tom Weathersby State Crime Laboratory." Any 43

- 44 and all funds necessary to accomplish this act will be
- 45 appropriated by the Legislature for such purpose.
- 46 **SECTION 3.** This act shall take effect and be in force from
- 47 and after July 1, 2023.