By: Representative Newman

To: Apportionment and Elections

HOUSE BILL NO. 19

- AN ACT TO BRING FORWARD SECTION 9-3-1, MISSISSIPPI CODE OF
- 2 1972, FOR THE PURPOSE OF POSSIBLE AMENDMENT; AND FOR RELATED
- 3 PURPOSES.
- 4 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI:
- 5 **SECTION 1.** Section 9-3-1, Mississippi Code of 1972, is
- 6 brought forward as follows:
- 7 9-3-1. The state shall be divided into three (3) Supreme
- 8 Court districts, as follows, to wit:
- 9 The counties of Bolivar, Claiborne, Copiah, Hinds, Holmes,
- 10 Humphreys, Issaquena, Jefferson, Kemper, Lauderdale, Leake,
- 11 Madison, Neshoba, Newton, Noxubee, Rankin, Scott, Sharkey,
- 12 Sunflower, Warren, Washington and Yazoo shall constitute the First
- 13 District.
- 14 The counties of Adams, Amite, Clarke, Covington, Forrest,
- 15 Franklin, George, Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Jasper,
- 16 Jefferson Davis, Jones, Lamar, Lawrence, Lincoln, Marion, Pearl
- 17 River, Perry, Pike, Simpson, Smith, Stone, Walthall, Wayne, and
- 18 Wilkinson shall constitute the Second District.

- 19 The counties of Alcorn, Attala, Benton, Calhoun, Carroll,
- 20 Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clay, Coahoma, DeSoto, Grenada, Itawamba,
- 21 Lafayette, Lee, Leflore, Lowndes, Marshall, Monroe, Montgomery,
- 22 Oktibbeha, Panola, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Quitman, Tallahatchie,
- Tate, Tippah, Tishomingo, Tunica, Union, Webster, Winston and 23
- Yalobusha, shall constitute the Third District. 24
- 25 SECTION 2. This act shall take effect and be in force from
- 26 and after July 1, 2023.