MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

By: Senator(s) Hill, Moran, Seymour, Barnett, Butler (38th) To: Rules

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 33

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE PICAYUNE HIGH
SCHOOL "MAROON TIDE" FOOTBALL TEAM AND COACH CODY STOGNER FOR
WINNING THE MHSAA 5A STATE FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIP.

4 WHEREAS, Picayune High School Football Coach Cody Stogner knew his "Maroon Tide" Football Team were underdogs against West 5 Point in the MHSAA Class 5A State Football Championship. However, 6 7 that did not matter on December 4, 2021, in Hattiesburg, when Picayune (14-1) upset West Point High School 40-21, after falling 8 9 behind 21-20, holding the Green Wave to seven points in the second half to win the championship. It was Coach Stogner's first 10 11 championship as Head Coach; and

12 WHEREAS, Junior running back Dante Dowdell led the way with 25 carries, 149 yards and two touchdowns as the Maroon Tide 13 14 avenged their 2019 State Championship Game loss to West Point; and 15 WHEREAS, Picayune took control in the second half. The Maroon Tide trailed 21-20 with 8:47 left in the third guarter 16 before Darrell Smith broke free for a 59-yard touchdown run. 17 The 18 freshman running back finished with 10 carries for 88 yards.

S. R. No. 33	~ OFFICIAL ~	N1/2
22/SS36/R429		
PAGE 1 (rdd\kr)		

Dowdell and Smith were jointed by Chris Davis as Picayune's three-headed rushing attack. Davis finished with eight carries for 139 yards and two touchdowns. Dowdell capped off a 12-play, 80-yard drive with a 2-yard touchdown run with 11:10 remaining. The score gave Picayune a 34-21 lead. Sophomore defensive end Jamonta Waller sealed the victory with a 35-yard fumble recovery for a touchdown on the following drive; and

26 WHEREAS, the second-half defensive performance was a 27 culmination of what Stogner believed for most of the season. The 28 Maroon Tide allowed 16 points per game during their 11-game 29 winning streak. "I believe we got the best defense in the state," 30 Stogner stated; and

31 WHEREAS, the 2021 Picayune MHSAA Class 5A Football 32 Championship Roster is: Dante Dowdell, Justin Martz, Darrell Smith, Dorian Robinson, Chris Davis, Dawson Underwood, Jessiah 33 34 Contee, Dylan Martz, Kyler King, Jamonta Waller, Brady Robertson, 35 Noah Carter, Tamauz Oatis, Terance Wilson, Niquis Ratcliff, Terijh Newton, Nathan Hickman, Josh Tatum, Christian Nixon, Chris Nixon, 36 37 Karson Lauga, Tyran Warren, Tyrel McGill, Robert Williams, Amarion 38 Tyson, Cristian James, Jabari McWilliams, Nick Woodson, Cameron 39 Wade, Morgan Craft, Darnell Smith, Tanner Busby, Dekevyion Jones, 40 Zavion Coleman, Jeremiah Contee, Kendall Jones, Quinton Haynes, Gage Thibodeaux, Roman Galvez, Peyton Wells, Isaiah Evans, Karsen 41 Robbins, Donell Lewis, Ryan Pascal, Kaanan Williams, Ian Herring, 42 Scotty Adam, George Croncich, Hooty Adam, and Carey Meitzler; Head 43

S. R. No. 33 **~ OFFICIAL ~** 22/SS36/R429 PAGE 2 (rdd\kr) 44 Coach Cody Stogner; and Assistant Coaches Adam Feely, Seth Hayden 45 and Mark Summers; and

46 WHEREAS, we join the Picayune community in celebrating this 47 State Championship which brings honor to the team, coaches, 48 students, faculty and sponsors of the Maroon Tide Football Team 49 and extend our best wishes for future success:

50 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF 51 MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the 52 Picayune High School "Maroon Tide" Football Team and Coach Cody 53 Stogner for winning the MHSAA 5A State Football Championship.

54 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to 55 Coach Cody Stogner and Picayune Principal Kristi Mitchell for the 56 team, forwarded to the Picayune School Board and made available to 57 the Capitol Press Corps.