By: Senator(s) Kirby, Barnett, Frazier To: Rules

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 9

2 3 4	SCHOOL "PIRATES" BOYS TRACK TEAM AND COACH CHRIS BARNETT FOR WINNING THE MHSAA STATE 6A CHAMPIONSHIP FOR THE THIRD CONSECUTIVE YEAR.
5	WHEREAS, on May 7, 2021, for the third year in a row and the
6	fourth time in five years, the Pearl High School "Pirates" Boys
7	Track Team won the 6A State Championship. The 2021 Championship
8	is the 17th overall for the "Pirates"; and
9	WHEREAS, the Pirates were able to win the title despite the
10	loss of one of their top runners, Corvin Johnson. Heading into
11	the State Meet, Johnson had the best times in Class 6A in the
12	100-meter dash, 200-meter dash, 400-meter dash and 110-meter
13	hurdles. Johnson won the 110-meter hurdles at the State Meet,
14	then was injured; and
15	WHEREAS, "Our athletes performed well all year," Pirate Head
16	Track Coach Chris Barnett said. "We were able to overcome losing

Corvin early after he won the 110-meter hurdles"; and

WHEREAS, the Pearl High School "Pirates" Boys Track Team

results at the State Meet: 3200-meter run: Brady Helms, 2nd

17

18

19

- 20 (10:04.5); 110-meter hurdles: Corvin Johnson, 1st (14.38);
- 21 1600-meter run: Tanner Moore, 5th (4:40); 800-meter run: Javien
- 22 Davis, 5th (2:01.58); long jump: Jerry Johnson, 1st (23'4.5");
- 23 high jump: Albert Martin, 6th (6'); shot: Leo McIntyre, 1st
- 24 (55'); shot: Niquez Wade, 4th (47'11"); discus: Niquez Wade, 1st
- 25 (161'7"); discus: Leo McIntyre, 3rd (141'7"); and triple jump:
- 26 Jerry Johnson, 2nd (44'10.75"); and
- 27 WHEREAS, on April 10, 2021, the Pearl High School "Pirates"
- 28 Boys Track Team won the Division 6-6A Championship. Their results
- 29 were: 3200-meter run: Brady Helms, 1st (10:33) and Maxi Duran,
- 30 2nd (10:57); 110-meter hurdles: Corvin Johnson, 1st (14.48);
- 31 100-meter dash: Corvin Johnson, 1st (10.79); 1600-meter run:
- 32 Brady Helms, 2nd (4:53.41) and Tanner Moore, 3rd (4:53.51);
- 33 400-meter dash: Corvin Johnson, 1st (49.09); 300-meter hurdles:
- 34 Nic Medina, 3rd (48.12) and Harold Lyle, 4th (48.22); 800-meter
- 35 run: Javien Davis, 1st (2:03); Tanner Moore, 2nd (2:04); and
- 36 Brendan Clark, 3rd (2:05); 200-meter dash: Corvin Johnson, 1st
- 37 (21.62); long jump: Jerry Johnson, 2nd (22'2"); high jump:
- 38 DeAndre Woods, 2nd (6') and Albert Martin, 3rd (6'); shot: Niquez
- 39 Wade, 1st (50'3") and Leo McIntyre, 2nd (47'); discus: Niquez
- 40 Wade, 1st (150'1"); Leo McIntyre, 2nd (144'1"); and Connor Mozee,
- 41 3rd (114'9"); triple jump: Jerry Johnson, 1st (44'6") and Marcus
- 42 Thompson, 2nd (41'2"); and

43	WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize these
44	student athletes who have brought honor to their school, their
45	community and to the State of Mississippi:
46	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
47	MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Pearl
48	High School "Pirates" Boys Track Team and Coach Chris Barnett for
49	winning the MHSAA State 6A Championship for the third consecutive
50	year, and extend to the team, coaches, parents and sponsors our
51	best wishes for future success.
52	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to
53	Coach Chris Barnett and Pearl Principal Chris Chism for the team,
54	forwarded to the Pearl School Board, and made available to the
55	Canitol Press Corps