MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

By: Senator(s) Hill, Barnett, Thompson

To: Rules

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 603

1 A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE 2 PEARL RIVER COMMUNITY COLLEGE "WILDCATS" MEN'S BASKETBALL TEAM AND 3 HEAD COACH CHRIS ONEY FOR WINNING ITS THIRD CONSECUTIVE MACCC 4 TITLE.

WHEREAS, it took overtime to get it done, but the No. 22 5 Pearl River Men's Basketball Team clinched its third consecutive 6 7 Mississippi Association of Community Colleges Conference (MACCC) Title with a thrilling overtime 80-70 victory over No. 21 8 9 Northeast Mississippi. The victory over the Tigers snapped their 10 31-game home winning streak; and WHEREAS, we knew going into the game that one streak had to 11 12 end," Head Coach Chris Oney said. "It was either our conference 13 winning streak or their home winning streak. "It's exciting to 14 get to host the tournament for the college and for the town," he said; and 15

16 WHEREAS, the teams traded the lead off and on for most of the 17 second half. Pearl River took a slim 59-57 lead after Jaronn 18 Wilkens (Biloxi) was perfect from the free-throw line. Late in 19 the game, Northeast reclaimed the lead 64-62, but Pearl River got S. C. R. No. 603 ~ OFFICIAL ~ N1/2 22/SS08/R1283 PAGE 1 (rdd\tb) 20 a clutch offensive rebound and put it back up to tie the score, 21 64-64. Both teams had a chance at the end to win, but neither 22 were able to convert, sending the game to overtime. In overtime, 23 Pearl River jumped out to an early overtime lead to 74-66. The 24 Wildcats rode the momentum to victory, defeating the Tigers by a 25 final score of 80-70; and

WHEREAS, Cameron Brown led the way for the Wildcats with 19 26 27 points, matching his season-high. He also finished with four 28 rebounds and three assists. Earl Smith finished second on the 29 team with 13 points, five rebounds and four assists. Jariyon 30 Wilkens and Carlous Williams rounded out the Wildcats in double figures with 12 each. The 2022 Pearl River Community College 31 32 "Wildcats" Championship Team Roster: Jair Currie, Alex Jordan, Jariyon Wilkens, Jaronn Wilkens, Earl Smith, Jr., J.D. Allen, 33 Cameron Brown, Brison Waller, Carlous Williams, Dylan Brumfield, 34 35 Ankerion Gross, Jeremiah Foster and Preston Turner; and Head Coach 36 Chris Oney; and

37 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize this 38 championship group of student athletes who have brought honor to 39 their college, their community and to the State of Mississippi: 40 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF 41 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That 42 we do hereby commend and congratulate the Pearl River Community 43 College "Wildcats" Men's Basketball Team and Head Coach Chris Oney for winning its third consecutive MACCC Title and extend our best 44

S. C. R. No. 603 ~ OFFICIAL ~ 22/SS08/R1283 PAGE 2 (rdd\tb) 45 wishes to the team, coaches, parents and sponsors for future 46 success.

47 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to 48 Head Coach Chris Oney and Pearl River Community College President 49 Dr. Adam Breerwood, forwarded to the Pearl River Community College 50 Board of Trustees and be made available to the Capitol Press 51 Corps.

S. C. R. No. 603 22/SS08/R1283 PAGE 3 (rdd\tb) Consecutive MACCC title. S. C. R. No. 603 Consecutive MACCC title. Consecutive MACCC title.