MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

By: Senator(s) Boyd, Jackson (11th), Parker, To: Rules Blackwell, McLendon, Whaley, Suber, Barnett, Butler (38th), McCaughn

## SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 578

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE
NORTHWEST MISSISSIPPI COMMUNITY COLLEGE CHEER TEAM AND COACH
BRANDON CASEY FOR WINNING CONSECUTIVE NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP TITLES
IN THE UCA/UDA NATIONAL CHEER COMPETITION.

5 WHEREAS, less than a year removed from winning two National 6 Titles at last spring's UCA National Championship, the Northwest 7 Mississippi Community College Cheer Team is making more room in 8 the trophy case after earning the Open Small Co-Ed National 9 Championship; and

10 WHEREAS, Northwest placed first in the Semifinals with a raw score of 94.3, joining six other squads in advancing to the final 11 12 round. Despite a raw score of 94.9 in the finals and three 13 deductions, the Rangers once again placed atop the standings with 14 a final event score of 91.9, defeating Drury University, Wilmington University, Coastal Alabama Community College, 15 University of Southern Indiana and Mississippi Gulf Coast 16 17 Community College; and 18 WHEREAS, for third-year Cheer Coach Brandon Casey, this marks 19 his third National Title. Northwest also competed in the Open

S. C. R. No. 578 **~ OFFICIAL ~** N1/2 22/SS08/R1401 PAGE 1 (rdd\tb) 20 Co-Ed Game Day Competition, placing second in the Semifinals and 21 competing against a mix of Division I and small college programs. 22 The Rangers advanced to the finals of that division and came away 23 with a fourth-place finish and 94.43 points; and

24 WHEREAS, the members of the 2022 Open Small Co-Ed National 25 Championship Cheer Team are: Rainy Bordlon, Ja'Dyn Brand, Makyla 26 Brannon, Molly Brewer, Kaylie Burrows, Sara Ellis Dean, Christina 27 Evans, McKenzie Henderson, Kayla Horne, Hartley Houston, Haven 28 Hubbard, Summer Hughes, Ethan Hunt, Josie Kennedy, Devon Kurns, 29 Zach Letson, Alyssa Martin, Ashton McMinn, Halle New, Reagan 30 Ochner, Dakota Petty, Jonah Pike, Jamilia Richmond, Madelyn Riley, Missy Smallie, Cullen Southward, Tiffany Spivey and Samaryous 31 32 Walker; and

33 WHEREAS, we join the students, faculty and sponsors in 34 recognizing this special group of collegiate athletes who earned 35 top recognition in Mississippi Community College Cheer and have 36 brought honor to their college, their community and to the State 37 of Mississippi:

38 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF 39 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That 40 we do hereby commend and congratulate the Northwest Mississippi 41 Community College Cheer Team and Coach Brandon Casey for winning 42 consecutive National Championship Titles in the UCA/UDA National 43 Cheer Competition and extend to the athletes and coaches our best 44 wishes for continued success.

S. C. R. No. 578 **~ OFFICIAL ~** 22/SS08/R1401 PAGE 2 (rdd\tb) BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to Coach Brandon Casey for the team and Northwest Mississippi Community College President Michael J. Heindl, forwarded to the Board of Trustees of Northwest Mississippi Community College, the Mississippi Community College Board, and made available to the Capitol Press Corps.