By: Senator(s) Barnett, Butler (38th), McDaniel

To: Rules

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 560

- A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE BAY SPRINGS HIGH SCHOOL "BULLDOGS" FOOTBALL TEAM AND HEAD COACH DAN
- 3 BRADY FOR WINNING THEIR FIRST STATE FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIP.
- WHEREAS, on December 3, 2021, the Bay Springs High School
- 5 "Bulldogs" defeated Simmons-Hollandale High School for the 2021
- 6 Mississippi High School Activities Association (MHSAA) Class 1A
- 7 State Football Championship; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Anthony Ross ran for 219 yards and two touchdowns as
- 9 the Bulldogs brought home the school's first Football Championship
- 10 by downing the undefeated Blue Devils 32-12 at M.M. Roberts
- 11 Stadium on the University of Southern Mississippi's campus. Bay
- 12 Springs (12-1-1) gave Coach Dan Brady his first win with the
- 13 Bulldogs in two trips to a State Title Game; and
- 14 WHEREAS, "I don't know if I've ever been any happier in my
- 15 life," Coach Brady said. "Just to see a bunch of kids work so
- 16 hard and a community that wanted something so bad and they finally
- 17 got it"; and

```
18
         WHEREAS, the Bulldogs' 32 points were the most allowed in a
    single game by Simmons (13-1), which had given up just 65 points
19
20
    in 13 regular-season and playoff games; and
21
         WHEREAS, the Blue Devils led 12-8 after one quarter.
22
    Springs answered less than three minutes later on Anthony Newell's
23
    four-yard touchdown run and a two-point conversion run by Tyrick
24
    Jones to take an 8-6 lead. The Blue Devils appeared to have
25
    padded their lead late in the third quarter but from that point
26
    on, Anthony Ross and the Bulldogs took control. Ross scored on a
    one-yard run on fourth-and-goal that gave Bay Springs a 14-12 lead
27
28
    and Tony Johnson's pass to Anthony Newell doubled the Bulldogs'
29
    lead to 16-12 heading into the fourth quarter. Ross broke a
30
    34-yard TD run with less than seven minutes left to play, and
    Demarian Jones iced the game with a 24-yard scoring run; and
31
32
         WHEREAS, the 2021 Bay Springs High School "Bulldogs" Football
33
    Team Championship Roster is: Tremayne Wheaton, Jadius McCormick,
34
    Jaylen Gammage, Trevarius Keyes, Demarion Campbell, Kevin Keyes,
    King Cole, Jeremiah Gavin, Cartize Booth, Destin Nelson, Tyler
35
36
    Hartfield, Caleb Plummer, Jayvion Cunningham, Julius Holliday,
37
    Kamron Beavers, Omarion Shaw, Demarian Jones, Jamarcus Smith,
38
    Cornell Na Butler, Dalyn Pierce, Anthony Ross, Charles Carr,
39
    Brandon Clayton, Anthony Newell, Jamare Holiday, Kavaji Bolton,
    James Wilson, Tyrick Jones, Jarail Washington, Tyrice Holoway,
40
    John Andrews, Jr., Kerrion Keyes, Aubrey Gilmore, Zyon Ross, James
41
```

Ross, Destin Nelson, Demetrius Roberts, Ladarren Gammage, Tyrique

42

- 43 Roberts, Malaki Page, Espen Campbell, Nathan Gavin, Jakeal Evans,
- 44 Landon Jones, Kelo Thigpen, Rondarius Henry, Tony Johnson and
- 45 Jacoby Johnson; and Head Coach Dan Brady; and
- WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize this group
- 47 of student athletes who have brought honor to their school, their
- 48 community and to the State of Mississippi:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
- 50 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That
- 51 we do hereby commend and congratulate the Bay Springs High School
- 52 "Bulldogs" Football Team and Head Coach Dan Brady for winning
- 53 their first State Football Championship, and extend to the team,
- 54 coaches, parents and sponsors our best wishes for continued
- 55 success.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to
- 57 Coach Dan Brady for the team, forwarded to Bay Springs Principal
- 58 Dr. Kesia Pope and the Jasper County Board of Education, and made
- 59 available to the Capitol Press Corps.