MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

By: Senator(s) Hill, Branning, Johnson, Norwood, Simmons (13th), Thomas To: Rules

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 504

1 A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE 2 COLUMBIA HIGH SCHOOL "WILDCATS" FOOTBALL TEAM AND COACH CHIP 3 BILDERBACK FOR WINNING THEIR FIRST MISSISSIPPI HIGH SCHOOL 4 ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION (MHSAA) CLASS 4A STATE CHAMPIONSHIP SINCE 5 1982.

WHEREAS, on December 1, 2021, the Columbia High School 6 7 "Wildcats" Football Team coached by Chip Bilderback won the MHSAA 8 Class 4A State Championship at the USM M.M. Roberts Stadium in 9 Hattiesburg by defeating Senatobia 22-21 in a thrilling match; and 10 WHEREAS, less than 30 seconds separated Jaheim Oatis from his 11 ultimate goal at Columbia. The Wildcats led Senatobia by a point 12 in the MHSAA 4A State Championship Game and the Warriors lined up 13 for a 20-yard potential game-winning field goal, which would decide if Columbia would win its first State Championship since 14 15 1982. "We knew we had to step up big time and stop that kick," 16 said Oatis, a four-star Alabama defensive line commit. The kick 17 curved, spinning past the left upright and missed with 21 seconds 18 remaining, and Columbia prevailed 22-21 at Southern Miss; and

S. C. R. No. 504 **~ OFFICIAL ~** N1/2 22/SS26/R481 PAGE 1 (rdd\tb) 19 WHEREAS, the 6-foot-4, 370-pound Jaheim Oatis was selected as 20 the 2021 MHSAA 4A Mr. Football Award Winner after recording 55 tackles, 22 for loss and five sacks in the regular season. Oatis 21 22 headlined a Wildcats defense that ended the season on a 12-game 23 winning streak and held opponents to nearly 10 points per game 24 during that stretch. The senior had two quarterback hurries, two tackles and a pass breakup in the Championship victory. Columbia 25 26 held Senatobia scoreless in the second half after giving up 21 27 points in the first half; and

28 WHEREAS, the 2021 Wildcats Championship Roster is: Joshua 29 Brown, WR, CB; CJ Magee, CB, WR; Omar Johnson, RB, OLB; Miguel Cook, RB; Cedric Watts, WR, CB; Jonathan Wiltz, OLB, MLB; Colin 30 31 Hancy, QB, RB, ATH; Kentrell Jackson, WR, DB; Isaiah Bolton, SS, 32 WR; Carter Smith, QB, P, ATH; Deshawn White, WR, OLB; Jeremiah 33 Foxworth, SS, WR; DJ Cloyd, WR, OLB; Will McLendon, FB, NG, MLB; 34 Peyton Anderson, OLB, TE; Amarion Fortenberry, CB, RB, WR; Kendale 35 Johnson, RB, FS, OLB; Jalon Smith, RB; Jalon Anderson, MLB, SS, 36 OLB; Caymen Watts, CB, RB; Justin Bryant; Luke Stogner, K; Myles 37 Clark, K; Kentavion Bullock; Jashawn Barnes, MLB; Donald Vivierito; Donivan Reed, DE; Amarion Hopkins; Tecorrio Shoemo, G, 38 39 NG; Sam Carney, C, G, LS; Eli Lowery, C, DE; Ethan Morris, T, DE; 40 Isiah Foxworth, DE, NG; Javon Barnes, DE; Koruan Ruffin; Nic 41 Riley, DE, G; Landon Fillingame, G; Roydale Barnes, T; Jason Townsend, T, NG; Landon Wilks, TE; Jehiem Oatis, TE, DE; Hyman 42

S. C. R. No. 504 **~ OFFICIAL ~** 22/SS26/R481 PAGE 2 (rdd\tb) 43 Pace, T; Javon Barnes, DE; and Jaceon James, CB, WR; and Head44 Coach Chip Bilderback; and

45 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we join the students, 46 faculty, parents and sponsors of Wildcat football in honoring this 47 group of student athletes who have brought recognition to their 48 school, their community and to the State of Mississippi:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Columbia High School "Wildcats" Football Team and Coach Chip Bilderback for winning their first MHSAA Class 4A State Championship since 1982, and extend to the team, parents, coaches and sponsors our best wishes for future success.

56 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to 57 Coach Chip Bilderback for the team and Columbia Principal Robert 58 Craig Washington, forwarded to the Marion County Board of 59 Education, and made available to the Capitol Press Corps.