To: Rules

By: Representative Wright

## HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 102

1 A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING NEW HOPE 2 ELEMENTARY, MIDDLE SCHOOL AND HIGH SCHOOL ROBOTICS TEAMS AND THEIR 3 OUTSTANDING COACH SUSANNA "SUSIE" OGLESBY FOR FANTASTICALLY LEADING THE TEAMS TO THE VEX ROBOTICS STATE COMPETITIONS SINCE 5 2015. 6 WHEREAS, three teams from New Hope schools in Columbus, 7 Mississippi, and their outstanding Coach Susanna Oglesby have won 8 the Mississippi VEX Robotics Tournament and earned their way to 9 the WORLDS VEX Robotics Championship; and 10 WHEREAS, passionate and dedicated teacher Susie Oglesby has superbly coached these teams toward championship wins for the past 11 12 eight years, from 2014 to 2022; and WHEREAS, earning one's way to the WORLDS competition is no 13 easy task as the State Championship only takes 36 teams, and the 14 15 VEX regional director will only take three Mississippi teams; and 16 WHEREAS, to qualify, the team must either win the Tournament 17 and/or the Excellence Award or Highest Skills; and WHEREAS, this year, two New Hope High School teams consisting 18

of Aiden Martin, John Beatty, Trevor Davis, Joshua Wilcox and

19

- 20 Thomas Oglesby were named state tournament champions, with Joshua
- 21 Wilcox and Thomas Oglesby being named Robot Skills Challenge
- 22 Champions, and Chloe Evans and Hayden Wofford placing second in
- 23 the Robot Skills Challenge which leads them all to world
- 24 competition; and
- 25 WHEREAS, at the middle school level, the New Hope team of
- 26 Cooper Shepherd and Andrew Bozeman won the state VEX Robot Skills
- 27 Challenge and are headed to the world contest; and
- 28 WHEREAS, the schools' winning streak began in 2015, when New
- 29 Hope High School received an invitation as Tracy Doyle's Team, and
- 30 in 2016, Tracy Doyle's Team won the VEX State Championship; and
- 31 WHEREAS, in 2017, New Hope Elementary won the VEX State
- 32 Championship with students Thomas Oglesby, Joshua Wilcox and Brady
- 33 Hogan; and
- 34 WHEREAS, in 2019, New Hope's Middle School joined in on the
- 35 school's winning legacy by winning the VEX State Championship with
- 36 students: Thomas Oglesby and Joshua Wilcox; and
- 37 WHEREAS, New Hope was on a roll in 2020 with numerous wins,
- 38 including the VEX state championship with two teams, students:
- 39 Brady Hogan, Ash Taylor, Nick Graham and Lucas Slogan; and
- 40 WHEREAS, that same year New Hope won the SKILLS division with
- 41 students Thomas Oglesby and Joshua Wilcox, resulting in New Hope
- 42 having three out of the four teams in the Final Four; and



44	graders Thomas Oglesby and Joshua Wilcox brought the VEX State
45	Championship home to the school again; and
46	WHEREAS, these triumphs would not have been attainable except
47	for the coaching and leadership skills of teacher Susanna Oglesby
48	who started the Elementary Robotics Program with Jennifer Caldwell
49	and Carol Brown in 2014-2015 and with Thomas Oglesby and Will
50	Doyle when they were in third grade; and
51	WHEREAS, Mrs. Oglesby went on to take over the Middle School
52	Robotics Program from Mr. McDill as Coach for the VEX VRC Middle
53	School with Jennifer Shepherd and she is now the Head Coach for
54	VEX VRC for Middle School and High School Robotics; and
55	WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to
56	celebrate and honor the impressive accomplishments of
57	Mississippi's youth and the teachers who inspire, work hard and
58	bring positive recognition to our state worldwide:
59	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
60	REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby
61	commend and congratulate New Hope Elementary, Middle and High
62	School Robotics teams and their outstanding Coach Susanna "Susie"

WHEREAS, 2021 was no different for the school, as ninth

Oglesby for successfully winning the Robotics State Competitions

since 2015.

43

63

64

- 67 Elementary, Middle and High School and to the members of the
- 68 Capitol Press Corps.