By: Representatives Reynolds, Stamps

To: Rules

## HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 13

- 1 A RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE CITY OF WATER VALLEY ELECTRIC 2 DEPARTMENT, THE TALLAHATCHIE VALLEY ELECTRIC POWER ASSOCIATION AND 3 THE TENNESSEE VALLEY AUTHORITY FOR THEIR TIRELESS EFFORTS IN ENSURING THAT POWER WAS RESTORED TO THE CITY OF WATER VALLEY AFTER THE OUTAGE ON JANUARY 11, 2022. 5
- WHEREAS, on January 11, 2022, the City of Water Valley was 6
- 7 terrorized by a power outage that began at 4:00 a.m. and lasted
- 8 throughout the day, causing disruptions and chaos for the
- residents and businesses in the community; and
- 10 WHEREAS, the City of Water Valley Electric Department, the
- Tallahatchie Valley Electric Power Association and the Tennessee 11
- 12 Valley Authority demonstrated untiring commitment, diligence and
- service to its customer base by restoring power in an efficient 13
- 14 and prompt manner after the terrible outage; and
- 15 WHEREAS, the members of the City of Water Valley Electric
- Department, who were unflinching in their efforts to restore 16
- 17 power, include Andy Hall, the Superintendent of the City of Water
- Valley Electric Department, Brandon Richardson, Michael Richardson 18
- 19 and Robbie Leard; and

- 20 WHEREAS, the members of the Tallahatchie Valley Electric
- 21 Power Association, including James Taylor, Adam Boyle, Jacob
- 22 Norman, Brandon Green, Michael Johnson, Kaleb Foshee, Justin
- 23 Palmertree, Keith Uselton, Taylor Brown, Kerry Davis, Josh
- 24 Strickland, Patrick Hamilton and Derek Cobern played a huge role
- 25 in restoring the electricity to Water Valley; and
- 26 WHEREAS, the engineers and officials of the Tennessee Valley
- 27 Authority, who provided unparalleled assistance to the City of
- 28 Water Valley and continue to help the city with their electrical
- 29 needs, include Kris Greer, Dane Harrington, Ashton Waldrop, Art
- 30 Pannell, Jason Sides, Jason Ortner, Joey Samples, Mike Franks,
- 31 Brad Davis, Millard Thrasher, Craig Robinson, Victoria Shanks,
- 32 Brian Ramels, Tanner Hopkins, Derek McGill, John Hutchins and Matt
- 33 Schebler; and
- 34 WHEREAS, each person employed by the City of Water Valley
- 35 Electric Department, the Tallahatchie Valley Electric Power
- 36 Association and the Tennessee Valley Authority went above and
- 37 beyond their call of duty to ensure that Water Valley,
- 38 Mississippi, residents, hospitals, industries and other businesses
- 39 had their power restored as quickly as possible; and
- 40 WHEREAS, the citizens of the City of Water Valley will never
- 41 forget the immediate response and continued dedication of the City
- 42 of Water Valley Electric Department, the Tallahatchie Valley
- 43 Electric Power Association and the Tennessee Valley Authority
- 44 following this power outage, and these extraordinary individuals

- 45 that comprise each department, association and authority merit a
- 46 special measure of commendation for their commitment to the people
- 47 of Mississippi in our time of need; and
- 48 WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to
- 49 commend the City of Water Valley Electric Department, the
- 50 Tallahatchie Valley Electric Power Association and the Tennessee
- 51 Valley Authority for their excellent work in restoring power to
- 52 the citizens of Water Valley, Mississippi, during such a trying
- 53 time in this great city's history:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 55 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby
- 56 commend the City of Water Valley Electric Department, the
- 57 Tallahatchie Valley Electric Power Association and the Tennessee
- 58 Valley Authority for their tireless efforts in ensuring that power
- 59 was restored to the City of Water Valley after the outage on
- 60 January 11, 2022, and express appreciation to these groups for
- 61 their remarkable assistance to their fellow citizens in a great
- 62 time of need.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 64 furnished to the City of Water Valley Electric Department, the
- 65 Tallahatchie Valley Electric Power Association and the Tennessee
- 66 Valley Authority and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.