1

18

19

H. R. No. 4

22/HR26/R1032 PAGE 1 (ENK\KW)

By: Representatives Bell (65th), Clarke, To: Rules Summers, Foster, Williams-Barnes

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 4

A RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING AND COMMENDING THE JACKSON STATE

2 3 4	UNIVERSITY "TIGERS" FOOTBALL TEAM AND HEAD COACH DEION SANDERS UPON WINNING THE 2021 SOUTHWESTERN ATHLETIC CONFERENCE (SWAC) CHAMPIONSHIP.
5	WHEREAS, the Jackson State University "Tigers" Football Team,
6	led by "Coach Prime" Deion Sanders, reigned supreme during the
7	2021 season, winning its first Southwestern Athletic Conference
8	(SWAC) Championship since 2007 and completing its first 11-win
9	season in school history; and
10	WHEREAS, the Tigers, who had a superior season that was
11	driven by more than just the yearning to succeed, intensely
12	amplified all of their hard work, motivation and audacity, which
13	were so apparent all through the season, for the game that
14	ultimately separated the men from the boys to edge out Prairie
15	View A&M University 27-10 at Mississippi Veterans Memorial Stadium
16	in Jackson, Mississippi, on December 4, 2021, and collect the SWAC
17	Football Championship; and

WHEREAS, striving all season long to be the best football

~ OFFICIAL ~

N1/2

program in the state, Jackson State University put aside the

- 20 excitement, fanfare and attention to focus on the championship
- 21 game and prepare as they had throughout the season, and that
- 22 strategy, along with the monumental support from the entire
- 23 community, helped solidify the Tigers' championship status; and
- 24 WHEREAS, bursting with wit and athleticism, the Jackson State
- 25 University Football Team's mental stamina and determination never
- 26 waivered from the moment they ran onto the field until the last
- 27 down was played; and
- 28 WHEREAS, during the championship game that kept fans on the
- 29 edge of their seats for the entire 60 minutes of play, the Tigers
- 30 were losing 10-7 in the second quarter, and the momentum was not
- 31 in their favor, but once Isaiah Bolden fielded a kick at the
- 32 Tigers' 9-yard line, sidestepped a defender, and broke away for a
- 33 91-yard kickoff return and touchdown, the Tigers never trailed
- 34 again; and
- 35 WHEREAS, Isaiah Bolden, the SWAC's top return specialist,
- 36 came into the championship game leading the SWAC in kick return
- 37 yards with 500 in eight games, and his kickoff return for a
- 38 touchdown ties Bethune Cookman's Darnell Deas for the SWAC lead
- 39 with two; and
- 40 WHEREAS, while the old saying goes, "defense wins
- 41 championships," it certainly held true during the championship
- 42 game, as the Tigers' defense erected an impenetrable stone wall
- 43 that not only kept the pressure heavy and prevented the Prairie
- 44 View quarterback from being able get truly comfortable in the

- 45 pocket but also allowed the Tigers' defense to collect four sacks,
- 46 each by a different player; and
- 47 WHEREAS, James Houston, who is among the leaders in FCS for
- 48 sacks, opened the lead up to double-digits on an interception
- 49 return for a touchdown in the third quarter; Cam'Ron Silmon-Craig
- 50 also added a pair of interceptions; and Aubrey Miller passed 100
- 51 tackles for the season; and
- 52 WHEREAS, the Tigers, who played with nothing but heart and
- 53 soul all season, have a very talented and distinguished roster,
- 54 and each player made a substantial contribution that led to one of
- 55 the most historic seasons in the history of the Tigers football
- 56 program; and
- 57 WHEREAS, the team's statistics were impressive this season,
- 58 and there were outstanding performances by individual players, but
- 59 the key to the team's remarkable success has been the constant
- 60 team atmosphere and year-round hard work by the following talented
- 61 student-athletes: Josh Lanier, Shedeur Sanders, CJ Holmes, Aalah
- 62 Brown, De'Jahn Warren, Shane Hooks, Kev'Ric Wiggins, John Huggins,
- 63 Keith Corbin III, JD Martin, Al Young, Warren Newman, Cam'Ron
- 64 Silmon-Craig, Greyson Thompson, Malachi Wideman, Christian Allen,
- 65 Trevonte Rucker, Damon Bell, Cedrick Moffett II, Errick Simmons,
- 66 Demonte Holliman, Kare' Lyles, Tim Robinson, Caleb Jolivette,
- 67 Herman Smith III, Shilo Sanders, Peytton Pickett, Isaiah Bolden,
- 68 Desmond Moultrie, Tyson Alexander, Anthony Petty, Randall Haynie,
- 69 Trey Lockhart, Kevin May, Lane McGregor, Greg Williams, Javien

- 70 Adams, Glenn Misiak, Bailey Raborn, Jacob Polite, Santee Marshall,
- 71 Noah Anderson, Keonte Hampton, James Houston, Jeremiah Brown,
- 72 Frankie Dunn, Daelyn Dunn, Aubrey Miller, Jr., CJ Nunnally, Baron
- 73 Hopson, Marcus O'Neal, Kaleb Graham, Cedric Dunbar, Khalil
- 74 Arrington, Donald Turley, Abdul-Malik McClain, Nyles Gaddy,
- 75 Lafonzo Ruffin, Tyler Wells, Amari Catchings, Jakob Cunningham,
- 76 Vincent Sampson, Braxton Bailey, Deontae Graham, James Reddick II,
- 77 Stephen Singleton, Rufus Carl Jones, Paxton Branning, Kirk Ford,
- 78 Charlton Goodell, Demetri Jordan, Tony Gray, Jevonte Gardner, John
- 79 Mitchell, Charles Armstrong, Tre Johnson, Jency Riley, David
- 80 Studstill, Kobe Paul, Kortlon Hubbard, Kyland Richey, DJ Stevens,
- 81 Daniel Crowell, Jr., Chad Turner, Katron Evans, Tredarius Carr,
- 82 Justin Ragin, Tre'von Riggins, Coynis Miller, Jeremiah Williams,
- 83 Jaumonie Crain, Devonta Davis, Ke'Shawn Brinkley, Antwan Owens,
- 84 Markeyvrick Eddie and Donovan Hunt; and
- WHEREAS, Head Coach Deion Sanders has superbly coached and
- 86 tremendously inspired the Tigers and broadened their knowledge of
- 87 the game while refining their skills in execution, and he
- 88 continues to build upon the legacy of superior play and true
- 89 sportsmanship forged by the tenacious and undaunted spirit of each
- 90 team member, as evidenced in his ability to produce high caliber
- 91 players and plays and by the team's successful season; and
- 92 WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to
- 93 recognize and commend outstanding Mississippi student-athletes,
- 94 especially those such as the Jackson State University "Tigers"

95	rootball Team, whose hard work and perseverance brings honor to
96	their school, their community and to the State of Mississippi:
97	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
98	REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby
99	recognize and commend the Jackson State University "Tigers"
100	Football Team and Head Coach Deion Sanders upon winning the 2021
101	Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) Championship, and extend
102	to them best wishes for continued success in all of their future
103	endeavors.
104	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be

furnished to Head Coach Deion Sanders and to the members of the

Capitol Press Corps.

105

106