To: Rules

By: Representatives Deweese, Oliver

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 57

- 1 A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE OLE
- 2 MISS REBELS ALL GIRL CHEERLEADING TEAM AND COACH TROY ALLEN FOR
- 3 WINNING THE 2022 UNIVERSAL CHEERLEADERS ASSOCIATION (UCA) DIVISION
- 4 1A GAME DAY NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP.
- 5 WHEREAS, for the second time in the last five years, the Ole
- 6 Miss Cheer Team returned to Oxford from the Universal
- 7 Cheerleaders/Dance Association College Nationals as national
- 8 champions; and
- 9 WHEREAS, in the Division 1A All Girl Game Day category on
- 10 Friday, the Rebels earned a score of 97.4333 in the semifinals to
- 11 advance to the top spot, and they went on to win the national
- 12 title with a 97.2333 in the finals, earning their first crown
- 13 since 2018; and
- 14 WHEREAS, in the Game Day format, teams are evaluated on their
- 15 ability to lead the crowd, proper game day skill incorporation,
- 16 execution of skills, motion technique and overall routine; and in
- 17 a competition focusing on program traditions, Ole Miss was
- 18 particularly lauded for its "D-Fins" signs; and

- 19 WHEREAS, in addition to claiming the Game Day crown, the
- 20 Rebels All Girl squad also won bronze in the Cheer category, while
- the coed team finished seventh in Game Day and eleventh in Cheer; 21
- 22 and
- 23 WHEREAS, under first year Head Coach Troy Allen's guidance,
- 24 the All Girl team was able to mark the perfect ending to the
- collegiate cheer career of six seniors on the All Girl squad; and 25
- 26 WHEREAS, Coach Allen's leadership was greatly supported by
- 27 his Assistant Coach Skylar Byram Casey, Graduate Assistant Whitney
- Converse and Director of Athletic Spirit Groups Rachel Levetzow; 28
- 29 and
- 30 WHEREAS, the members of this championship squad include:
- 31 Abiqail DeWolf, Alexandria Bates, Ashlynn Leebelt, Baylee Cain,
- 32 Isabella Doro, Isabella Valdez, Alexis Brianna Berry, Caroline
- Schiltz, Ashley Carson Stockham, Chamberlyn Grubbs, Caroline 33
- 34 Channing Bridges, Claudia Shelton, Ella Hoover, Elle Pettitt,
- 35 Gabriella Rico, Grace Meyer, Hannah Jenkins, Isabella Valdes,
- Kinsey Merrick, Mallie Reid, Marascalco Liston, Miranda 36
- 37 Bellehumeur, Neely Makinster, Paige Choppin, Savannah Carpenter,
- 38 Sydney Boothe, Sydney Gordin, Tyrie Pergola and Olivia Yaya Sala;
- 39 and
- 40 WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize
- and commend this special group of university athletes who reached 41
- 42 the pinnacle of collegiate cheerleading and have brought honor to
- their university, their community and to the State of Mississippi: 43

44	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
45	REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING
46	THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Ole Miss
47	Rebels All Girl Cheerleading Team and Head Coach Troy Allen for
48	winning the 2022 UCA Division 1A Game Day National Championship,
49	and extend to the athletes and coaches best wishes for continued
50	success.
51	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
52	furnished to Head Coach Troy Allen and Ole Miss Chancellor Glenn
53	Boyce for the team, the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of
54	Higher Learning, and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.