2022 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representatives Roberson, Aguirre, Anderson (110th), Anderson (122nd), Anthony, Arnold, Bailey, Bain, Banks, Barnett, Barton, Beckett, Bell (21st), Bell (65th), Bennett, Blackmon, Bomgar, Bounds, Boyd, Brown (20th), Brown (70th), Burnett, Busby, Byrd, Calvert, Carpenter, Clark, Clarke, Cockerham, Crawford, Creekmore IV, Criswell, Crudup, Currie, Darnell, Denton, Deweese, Eubanks, Eure, Evans (45th), Evans (91st), Faulkner, Felsher, Ford (54th), Ford (73rd), Foster, Gibbs (36th), Gibbs (72nd), Goodin, Guice, Gunn, Hale, Haney, Harness, Hines, Hobgood-Wilkes, Holloway, Hood, Hopkins, Horan, Horne, Huddleston, Jackson, Johnson, Karriem, Kinkade, Ladner, Lamar, Lancaster, Mangold, Massengill, McCarty, McCray, McGee, McKnight, McLean, McLeod, Mickens, Miles, Mims, Morgan, Newman, Oliver, Osborne, Owen, Paden, Patterson, Pigott, Porter, Powell, Read, Reynolds, Robinson, Rosebud, Rushing, Sanders, Sanford, Scoggin, Scott, Shanks, Smith, Stamps, Steverson, Straughter, Summers, Taylor, Thompson, Tubb, Tullos, Turner, Walker, Wallace, Watson, Weathersby, White, Williams-Barnes, Williamson, Wright, Yancey, Yates, Young, Zuber

House Concurrent Resolution 8

(As Adopted by House and Senate)


     WHEREAS, after decades amongst the elite in college baseball, the Mississippi State University Baseball Team reigned supreme at the 2021 College World Series in Omaha, Nebraska, by winning the university's first national championship in any team sport; and

     WHEREAS, playing with clear eyes, full hearts and unimaginable amounts of strength, the Bulldogs outplayed and ultimately defeated defending champions, the Vanderbilt University Commodores, putting a bow on a great season with an 9-0 win to sweep the best-of-three championship series; and

     WHEREAS, throughout the 2021 College World Series, the Bulldogs faced off with some of the nation's best contenders on the red, dusty diamond, and persevered to finish with a win after making their presence and talent known as the gladiators of NCAA baseball; and

     WHEREAS, the Bulldogs have been exceptionally coached and tremendously inspired by Head Coach Chris Lemonis, assistant coaches Scott Foxhall and Jake Gautreau, and team staff, who have broadened the team's knowledge of the game and refined their skills in execution; and

     WHEREAS, Coach Lemonis and the assistant coaches continue to build upon the legacy of superior play and true sportsmanship forged by the tenacious and undaunted spirit of each team member, as evidenced in their ability to produce high caliber players and the team's successful season; and

     WHEREAS, this achievement by the extraordinary student-athletes on the Bulldog baseball team marks one of the proudest moments in the history of the university, and the outpouring of support the team received from its alumni and fans in Omaha, back home in Mississippi, and across the country reflects the storied tradition of the university's baseball program; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize and commend outstanding accomplishments of Mississippi student-athletes, especially those such as the Mississippi State University Bulldogs Baseball Team, whose excellence on the field brings honor to Mississippi State University and the State of Mississippi:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Mississippi State University Bulldogs Baseball Team and Head Coach Chris Lemonis for winning the 2021 NCAA Baseball National Championship at the 2021 College World Series, and extend best wishes to the team and coach for continued success in all their future endeavors. 

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to Head Coach Chris Lemonis and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.