2021 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Banks

House Resolution 45

(As Adopted by House)


     WHEREAS, it is written in Ecclesiastes 3:1 that "To everything there is a season, and a time for every purpose under the Heaven," and as such, on Thursday, February 25, 2021, the immaculate author and finisher of our soul's destiny summoned the mortal presence of dearly beloved, Mrs. Dorothy Jean Murray-Gilbert, to eternal rest, rendering immense heartache and loss to her family, friends and community; and

     WHEREAS, the City of Jackson lost a wonderful friend with the passing of Mrs. Murray-Gilbert, who was born on February 16, 1961, in Greenville, Mississippi, to the late Charlie Murray, Sr., and Helen Murray, and there is now a hush in our hearts as we come together to pay our respects to the memory of one who has been called to join that innumerable heavenly caravan; and

     WHEREAS, Dorothy Jean accepted Jesus Christ as her Lord and Savior at an early age, and became a member of New Bethel African Methodist Episcopal Church, and she now enjoys the eternal peace described in Luke 2:29, "Lord, now you are letting your servant depart in peace, according to your word"; and

     WHEREAS, a member of William Lanier High School's 1980 graduating class, Dorothy Jean worked for Rival Manufacturing Company for 15 years, in addition to devoting her humble and selfless services as a caretaker and sitter for Mrs. Evelyn Banks and Representative Earle Banks, until she began to experience declining health conditions; and

     WHEREAS, as fate would lend itself to being built in accordance with the blueprint divinely designed for the pattern of her life by the Great Deity and grand architect of our lives' destiny, Dorothy Jean's heart was pierced by the love, chivalry and affection of Louis V. Gilbert, Jr., and the duo became bone of one another's bone and flesh of one another's flesh after exchanging the nuptials of holy matrimony in March 1991, building a lifetime of memories shared with a blended family of 11 children; and

     WHEREAS, though she has traversed life's river to now stand upon the celestial shores in wonderment of Heaven's grandeur in glorious reunion with the kindred spirits who transitioned before her, including her parents, son, Walter Anderson, and siblings, Arlester McDonald, Barbara Ann Murray and Ernestine Taylor, the legacy of Mrs. Murray-Gilbert will continue to refresh the hearts and memories of her beloved survivors:  her devoted husband of 30 years, Louis V. Gilbert, Jr.; children, Kernesha (Ricardo) Williams, Shalondra Murray, Lillie (Patrick) Pettus, Courtney Whitaker, Valencia Whitaker, Alicia (Kasey) Kennedy, Sherri Coleman, Corey Whitaker, Louis V. Gilbert III and Curtis (Pauletha) Amos; 22 grandchildren; brother, Charlie Murray, Jr.; cousin-sister, Gloria Jean Hodge; special friends, Marvalene Black, Pearlene Kelly and Carlene Love; and a host of other relatives and friends; and

     WHEREAS, we encourage the family to find solace from the overwhelming sadness created by the earthly departure of their beloved family member and renewed in their faith that Dorothy Jean fulfilled the purpose of her appointed time in adherence to the commandment of II Timothy 4:7, by having "fought a good fight, finishing her course and keeping the faith until the hour of her departure was at hand"; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to commend the lives of such honorably noble Mississippians, especially those such as Mrs. Dorothy Jean Murray-Gilbert, whose life's light illuminated the path of hope for all she encountered along this earthly sojourn:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby mourn the loss and commemorate the life and legacy of Mrs. Dorothy Jean Murray-Gilbert, to whose family we express sincere and deepest sympathy upon her passing.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to the family of Mrs. Dorothy Jean Murray-Gilbert and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.