Adopted AMENDMENT NO 1 PROPOSED TO

House Bill No. 1106

BY: Representative Huddleston

Amend by striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

5 SECTION 1. Section 37-29-65, Mississippi Code of 1972, is
6 brought forward as follows:

7 37-29-65. (1) Except as provided in this section and in 8 Sections 37-29-409, 37-29-457 and 37-29-505, there shall be five 9 (5) trustees from each county of the junior college district which 10 originally entered into and gave financial aid in establishing the junior college. On June 30, 1992, the offices of the six (6) 11 trustees from each of the original counties in the Northwest 12 13 Community College District shall stand vacated. The board of 14 supervisors of those respective counties shall appoint two (2)

20/HR35/HB1106A.1J PAGE 1 (DJ)

15 members on July 1, 1992, to serve full terms of office as provided 16 in this section. The board of supervisors of those respective 17 counties shall appoint one (1) member who is a qualified elector from each supervisors district to serve as a member, either of 18 19 which may be the county superintendent of education if he or she 20 resides in a respective supervisors district. Counties which subsequent to the establishment of the junior college joined the 21 22 district shall have only one (1) trustee. However, the board of 23 trustees so constituted, by appropriate resolution, may enlarge 24 its number to six (6) trustees from each county. The board of 25 trustees shall also be authorized within its discretion to reduce 26 its number to two (2) trustees at large from each county. In anv 27 case in which there is an equal number of trustees the board of 28 trustees may appoint another person to membership.

29 The county superintendent, if appointed by the county (2)30 board of supervisors, may, in his discretion, choose not to serve 31 as a member of such board of trustees. Such decision not to serve shall be in writing and entered on the minutes of the board of 32 33 trustees of the junior college district. The county board of 34 supervisors of any county whose county superintendent of education 35 appointed under the authority of this section, declines the 36 appointment or resigns, pursuant to this subsection (2), shall fill the vacancy caused by such resignation by appointing a member 37 38 who is a qualified elector of the county at large in accordance with subsection (6) of this section. No county superintendent 39

20/HR35/HB1106A.1J PAGE 2 (DJ)

40 whose school district is located within the East Mississippi 41 Community College District shall serve on the board of trustees 42 for that community college district.

From and after March 24, 1990, the Board of Trustees of 43 (3)44 the East Mississippi Community College District shall consist of 45 twelve (12) members. The appointing authorities shall appoint a 46 new board of trustees as follows: Clay County shall be entitled 47 to two (2) members, Kemper County shall be entitled to two (2) 48 members, Lauderdale County shall be entitled to two (2) members, 49 Lowndes County shall be entitled to two (2) members, Noxubee 50 County shall be entitled to two (2) members and Oktibbeha County 51 shall be entitled to two (2) members. No member of the Board of 52 Trustees of the East Mississippi Community College District shall 53 have served on such board prior to March 24, 1990.

54 (4)The Board of Trustees of the Coahoma Community College 55 District shall consist of nine (9) members. The appointing 56 authorities shall appoint the new board of trustees as follows: 57 Coahoma County shall be entitled to five (5) members appointed in 58 the manner provided herein, Tunica County shall be entitled to one 59 (1) member, Quitman County shall be entitled to one (1) member, 60 Bolivar County shall be entitled to one (1) member, and 61 Tallahatchie County shall be entitled to one (1) member. Persons who are currently serving as members of the Board of Trustees of 62 63 the Mississippi Delta Community College District or Northwest

20/HR35/HB1106A.1J PAGE 3 (DJ)

64 Community College District shall be eligible for appointment to 65 the board.

66 (5) The terms of office shall be five (5) years; however, 67 upon the first selection of trustees in each county, one (1) shall 68 be elected for a term of five (5) years, one (1) for a term of 69 four (4) years, one (1) for a term of three (3) years, one (1) for 70 a term of two (2) years, and one (1) for a term of one (1) year, 71 so as to prevent the retirement of more than one (1) member of any 72 one (1) county in any one (1) year. Where the board chooses or is 73 required by statute to reduce its number, the board shall specify 74 the expiration dates of such terms of office in order to prevent 75 the retirement of more than one (1) member of any one (1) county 76 in any one (1) year.

77 The board of supervisors shall elect the requisite (6) 78 number of discreet persons of good moral character, sufficient 79 education and experience, and of proven interest in public 80 education, who are qualified electors of the county, as trustees of the junior college; and annually thereafter the board of 81 82 supervisors in like manner shall fill vacancies. All trustees so 83 appointed shall be listed in the minutes of the board of 84 supervisors and their appointment shall be certified by the 85 chancery clerk to the president of the junior college.

86 (7) Each junior college trustee may be paid, out of junior
87 college funds, a per diem as authorized in Section 25-3-69,
88 Mississippi Code of 1972, per meeting of said board and, in

20/HR35/HB1106A.1J PAGE 4 (DJ)

89 addition thereto, the mileage authorized under Section 25-3-41, Mississippi Code of 1972, per mile in coming to and returning from 90 said meeting, calculated upon the customary and normally traveled 91 route from the home of such trustee to the campus of said junior 92 93 college. Such allowance of per diem and mileage shall not, 94 however, be allowed for more than fifteen (15) meetings for any 95 one (1) fiscal year and shall only be paid for meetings actually 96 attended by such trustees.

97 (8) The provisions of this section, other than those 98 provisions pertaining to per diem compensation and travel 99 allowances for junior college trustees, shall not apply to any 100 existing publicly operated junior college, lying in and operated 101 by a county bordering on the Mississippi River, and the junior 102 college trustees of such junior college shall be appointed and 103 confirmed as heretofore.

104 (9) No county superintendent of education, by virtue of his 105 or her office, shall be automatically placed on the board of 106 trustees for any community college district to which this section 107 applies. The number of trustees from each county shall be reduced 108 by one (1) member if such member is superintendent of education. 109 However, if the county board of supervisors, in making an 110 appointment to the community college district board of trustees, chooses to appoint the county superintendent of education at the 111 112 expiration of the term of the at large member, the superintendent may serve, unless otherwise disqualified. 113

20/HR35/HB1106A.1J PAGE 5 (DJ)

SECTION 2. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after July 1, 2020, and shall stand repealed on June 30, 2020. Further, amend by striking the title in its entirety and

inserting in lieu thereof the following:

1 AN ACT TO BRING FORWARD SECTION 37-29-65, MISSISSIPPI CODE OF 2 1972, FOR THE PURPOSE OF POSSIBLE AMENDMENTS; AND FOR RELATED 3 PURPOSES.