MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

PAGE 1 (rdd\tb)

By: Senator(s) Caughman, Barnett

To: Rules

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 26

1 A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE 2019-2020 2 SIMPSON COUNTY ACADEMY "COUGARS" BOYS BASKETBALL TEAM AND COACH 3 JAMES CRAIN FOR WINNING THEIR FIRST-EVER MAIS OVERALL STATE 4 CHAMPIONSHIP.

WHEREAS, the 2019-2020 Simpson Academy Cougars Boys 5 Basketball Team did what no team at Simpson County Academy has 6 7 ever done, won an Overall State Championship in basketball. This "working-together" team took command of the game from the first 8 9 play. Simpson defeated Jackson Prep 45-32 before a huge crowd at 10 Mississippi College. Simpson had a rocking student section that kept their team pumped! This victory followed a 2020 State AAAA 11 12 Championship; and 13 WHEREAS, the Cougars (37-6) put on a clinic for the second 14 day in a row, taking down Jackson Prep (24-11) to score their first Overall Title in school history with a 45-32 victory over 15 the Patriots. Simpson Academy had defeated the No. 1 seed in the 16 17 tournament, Madison-Ridgeland Academy, to move on to the Championship Game, so the Class 4A Champions certainly had the 18 19 momentum on their side against Jackson Prep; and ~ OFFICIAL ~ N1/2 S. R. No. 26 20/SS26/R1209

20 WHEREAS, streaking out to an early 12-3 lead, the Cougars 21 held a 16-8 advantage at the end of the first quarter and never 22 relinquished it, leading 26-19 at the half, 34-27 at the end of 23 the third quarter, and 45-32 when the final buzzer sounded; and 24 WHEREAS, Simpson ended the 2020 season with a 14-game winning 25 streak. As the team was busy celebrating a Championship, Simpson 26 Academy Center Josh Flynt summarized the team's performance

27 perfectly, "When you are hot, you are hot"; and

28 WHEREAS, the Simpson County Academy 2019-2020 High School 29 Boys Cougars Basketball Championship Team Roster: Joe Berry, 30 Jaden Wedgeworth, Scott Maddox, Jered Smith, Todd Larkin, Drew 31 Williams, Cole Groover, Travis Cockrell, Seth Cooper, Parker 32 Jones, Zach Brown, Cameron Larkin, Warner Watkins, Dawsan Drennan, 33 John Flynt, Crosby Mullins and Wesley Boyd; Head Coach James Crain 34 and Assistant Coach Carey Crain; and

35 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize this 36 special group of student athletes who have brought honor to their 37 school, their community and to the State of Mississippi:

38 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF 39 MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the 40 2019-2020 Simpson Academy "Cougars" Boys Basketball Team and Coach 41 James Crain for winning their first-ever MAIS Overall State 42 Championship, and extend to the team members, coaches, parents and 43 sponsors our best wishes for future championships.

S. R. No. 26 20/SS26/R1209 PAGE 2 (rdd\tb)

## 

44 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to 45 Coach James Crain for the team and Simpson Academy Headmaster 46 Billy Wayne Hankins, forwarded to the Simpson County Academy Board 47 of Trustees, and made available to the Capitol Press Corps.

S. R. No. 26 20/SS26/R1209 PAGE 3 (rdd\tb) ST: Commend 2019-2020 Simpson Academy "Cougars" Boys Basketball Team for first-ever MAIS Overall State Championship.