2020 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Senator(s) DeBar

Senate Resolution 60

(As Adopted by Senate)


     WHEREAS, McKay Lee Bray of Greene County was crowned 2020 Mississippi Miss Hospitality on August 8, 2020, at the Historic Saenger Theater in Hattiesburg, Mississippi; and

     WHEREAS, with 36 contestants competing for the title, Bray was selected following virtual preliminary in June and Saturday's on-stage Top 10 competition; and

     WHEREAS, crowned the state's 71st Mississippi Miss Hospitality, Bray will serve as Goodwill Ambassador for Economic Development and Tourism for Mississippi.  She will participate in numerous events with a national reach that highlight Mississippi's tourism attractions and industries; and

     WHEREAS, "I'm thrilled in my new role as 2020 Mississippi Miss Hospitality," Bray said.  "This program is more important now than ever as we show support for local businesses across the state during the challenges of COVID-19"; and

     WHEREAS, McKay Lee attends Jones College with plans to obtain a degree in Biological Sciences.  She is an officer in the Jones College Phi Theta Kappa Honors program, a member of the Charles Pickering Honors Institute, and is part of Jones on Stage and JC Choir.  She plans to attend the University of Mississippi to pursue a career in Internal Medicine and has future plans to practice in a rural area in Mississippi; and

     WHEREAS, "Congratulations to these contestants.  They worked hard preparing for competition and have tirelessly promoted the program's platform of tourism and economic development," said Marlo Dorsey, Executive Director and judge's coordinator.  "We look forward to seeing all contestants continue their journey representing communities across the state:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby congratulate McKay Lee Bray of Greene County as "2020 Mississippi Miss Hospitality."

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to McKay Lee Bray and made available to the Capitol Press Corps.