By: Senator(s) Kirby, Blackwell, Branning, Clarke, Dearing, Hopson, Jackson (11th), Jackson (32nd), Jordan

To: Rules

## SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 652

- 1 A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION TO ACKNOWLEDGE THAT MARCH 30, 2019, 2 IS "NATIONAL DOCTORS' DAY" AND TO RECOGNIZE THE SERVICE OF THE
- 3 DOCTORS OF THE DAY SERVING THE MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE DURING THE
- 2019 REGULAR SESSION.
- WHEREAS, cities, towns, communities and residents across the 5
- State of Mississippi are proud of our state's physicians for their 6
- 7 commitment, dedication and personal sacrifice as they strive to
- provide comprehensive, compassionate medical care to all 8
- 9 Mississippians; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Mississippi physicians continue to play a vital and
- significant role in caring for families and individuals and have a 11
- 12 \$6 Billion impact on the state's economy, thereby enhancing
- Mississippi's quality of life and national image and securing a 13
- 14 healthy future for residents of our great state; and
- WHEREAS, in keeping with the Proclamation established in 1991 15
- by President George H.W. Bush, March 30, 2019, is designated as 16
- 17 National Doctors' Day; and
- 18 WHEREAS, we are particularly proud of the exemplary public
- 19 service shown by the "Doctor of the Day" program at the

- 20 Mississippi Legislature and we take this opportunity to honor the
- 21 following physicians donating their professional time and service
- 22 during the 2019 Regular Session: Afifa Adiba, M.D., Brandon; Mary
- 23 G. Armstrong, M.D., Madison; Michael Artiques, M.D., McComb; K.
- 24 Page Branam, M.D., Ridgeland; Jennifer J. Bryan, M.D., Brandon;
- 25 Susan A. Chiarito, M.D., Fellow, American Academy of Family
- 26 Physicians (FAAFP), Vicksburg; Cassie N. Confait, M.D., Meridian;
- 27 Kristen Crawford, M.D., Madison; S. Randy Easterling, M.D.,
- 28 Vicksburg; Roderick C. Givens, M.D., Natchez; Jessica Eileen
- 29 Gordon, D.O., Jackson; William M. Grantham, M.D., Madison; DeGail
- 30 J. Hadley, D.O., Cleveland; Scott L. Hambleton, M.D., Madison;
- 31 Hunter J. Harrison, D.O., Meridian; Anita S. Henderson, M.D.,
- 32 Hattiesburg; Wesley A. Hendricks, M.D., Waynesboro; W. Mark Horne,
- 33 M.D., Laurel; Dedri M. Ivory, M.D., Vicksburg; Jon Corey Jackson,
- 34 M.D., Whitfield; Marc E. Johnson, M.D., Brookhaven; Carlos A.
- 35 Latorre, M.D., Vicksburg; Brandon Wayne Lennep, M.D., Madison; Day
- 36 S. Lennep, M.D., Jackson; Philip Levin, M.D., Gulfport; Michael
- 37 Mansour, M.D., Greenville; William A. Martin, D.O., Hattiesburg;
- 38 Justin McKinney, D.O., Jackson; Eric A. McVey, III, M.D., Jackson;
- 39 John R. Mitchell, M.D., Pontotoc; Katherine G. Pannel, D.O.,
- 40 Oxford; Katherine T. Patterson, M.D., Indianola; Frank N. Perkins,
- 41 IV, Jackson; M.D., Jennifer Rebecca Roberts, D.O., Laurel; Sara B.
- 42 Robertson, M.D., Jackson; Melissa R. Stephens, M.D., Hattiesburg;
- 43 Steven W. Stogner, M.D., Hattiesburg; Chasity L. Torrence, M.D.,
- 44 Whitfield; John P.F.H. Vanderloo, M.D., Jackson; Christy Vowell,

- 45 D.O., Eupora; Micah Ray Walker, M.D., Flora; Geri Lee Weiland,
- 46 M.D., Vicksburg; and Amy Ross Woods, M.D., Byhalia; and
- WHEREAS, these physicians are supported by Ann Lincoln, R.N.,
- 48 of the Capitol Medical Unit who provides exemplary service, and we
- 49 take this opportunity to honor her dedication; and
- 50 WHEREAS, as stated in the original National Doctors' Day
- 51 Proclamation, "More than the application of science and
- 52 technology, medicine is a special calling, and those who have
- 53 chosen this vocation in order to serve their fellow man understand
- 54 the tremendous responsibility it entails." The physicians in the
- 55 State of Mississippi are honored this day:
- 56 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
- 57 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That
- 58 we do hereby acknowledge that March 30, 2019, is "National
- 59 Doctors' Day" and recognize the Doctors of the Day serving the
- 60 Mississippi Legislature during the 2019 Regular Session.
- 61 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to
- 62 representatives of the Mississippi State Medical Association for
- 63 proper distribution and made available to the Capitol Press Corps.