By: Senator(s) Tollison, Barnett, Browning, To: Rules Clarke, Jackson (32nd), Jolly

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 533

- A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE WATER VALLEY HIGH SCHOOL "BLUE DEVILS" FOOTBALL TEAM AND COACH
- 3 BRAD EMBRY FOR WINNING THE CLASS 3A STATE CHAMPIONSHIP ENDING A
- 4 28-YEAR TITLE DROUGHT.
- 5 WHEREAS, Water Valley "Blue Devils" Football Team Coach Brad
- 6 Embry told his group of seniors in the eighth grade they could win
- 7 a State Championship. His confidence in his players was proven
- 8 November 30, 2018, with a 34-28 win over Seminary (12-4) in the
- 9 Class 3A State Title Game at University of Southern Mississippi's
- 10 M.M. Roberts Stadium; and
- 11 WHEREAS, with the victory, the group of juniors and seniors
- 12 who went 2-9 two seasons ago as freshmen and sophomores brought
- 13 Water Valley (14-2) its first State Title since 1990; and

- 14 WHEREAS, the fact that seemingly the entire Town of Water
- 15 Valley was on hand to witness the end of the Blue Devils' title
- 16 drought is evidence of just how much this State Championship meant
- 17 to the small town of 3,362; and
- 18 WHEREAS, there were a handful of noteworthy performances that
- 19 propelled the Blue Devils. Senior Wide Receiver Bud Tolbert stole

- 20 the show. Tolbert, who was named the game's Most Valuable Player,
- 21 tallied more than 100 receiving yards and was on the receiving end
- 22 of all four of Truss' touchdown passes. The highlight of his
- 23 efforts came on a 35-yard touchdown catch in the third quarter.
- 24 On a jump ball toward the right side of the end zone, Tolbert
- 25 leaped over two defenders to bring in a pass before reaching the
- 26 ball forward for a score that put Water Valley ahead 28-6. It was
- 27 the ultimate culmination of 11 years of hard work that Coach Embry
- 28 put in at Water Valley; and
- 29 WHEREAS, the 2018 Water Valley High School "Blue Devils"
- 30 Football Team Championship Roster is: Blayne Clark, QB, MLB;
- 31 Jacob Welch, CB, WR; Ceddrik White, CB, WR; Quaterrius Tolbert,
- 32 WR, CB; Hayden Eubanks, QB, FS; Martavius Rockett, SB, CB;
- 33 Treshaun Morgan, QB, CB; Dre McCray, RB, MLB; Ja'varius Benson,
- 34 MLB, RB; Grant Burress, WR, OLB; Nate Murphy, DE, QB; Paris Adams,
- 35 DT, DE; Marion Morgan, QB, OLB; Jacob Truss, WR, SS; Kenterrious
- 36 Rucker, RB, OLB; Maleek Joy, WR, FS; Chance Dewberry, FB, DE;
- 37 Keldric McIntosh, OLB, RB; Damicah Hervey, FS, RB; Devontrae
- 38 Bailey, OLB, FB; Khahill Houston, WR, FS; Chris Harris, RB, CB;
- 39 Darius Tolbert, WR, SS; Adam Green, WR, FS; Brandon Washington, C,
- 40 MLB; Jon Surrette, WR, CB, K; Ty Morgan, C, DE; Bradley Tedford,
- 41 C, NG; Kyjuan Hervey, G, DT; Brantley Simmons, FB, MLB; Marquis
- 42 Cook, G, NG; Marley Cook, T, DT; Aulton Phillips, G, MLB; Joseph
- 43 Witt, DT, G; Jamalachi Jones, T, DT; Jamarkis McIntosh, G, MLB;
- 44 Josh Griffis, G, DT; Matthew Childress, G, NG; Austin Potts, T,

PAGE 2 (tb\rc)

- 45 DE; Marqualyn White, C, NG; Avery Humphreys, T, DE; Issac
- 46 Phillips, G, DE; Jonathan Norwood, T, DT; Kentavious Hervey, T,
- 47 DT; Dalton Higdon, C, DE; Chase King, DT, G; Jacorie Woodland, T,
- 48 NG; Kameron Sayles, DE, TE; and Isaiah White, DE, TE; and
- WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize this group
- 50 of student athletes who have brought honor to their school, their
- 51 community and to the State of Mississippi:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
- 53 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That
- 54 we do hereby commend and congratulate the Water Valley High School
- 55 "Blue Devils" Football Team and Coach Brad Embry for winning the
- 56 Class 3A State Championship and ending a 28-year title drought,
- 57 and extend to the team, coaches, parents and sponsors our best
- 58 wishes for future success.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to
- 60 Coach Embry for the team, forwarded to Water Valley Principal Drew
- 61 Pitcock, the Water Valley School Board, and made available to the
- 62 Capitol Press Corps