MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

By: Senator(s) Blackmon, Witherspoon, Frazier, Norwood, Jordan, Jackson (11th) To: Rules

JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 201

A JOINT RESOLUTION TO AMEND CHAPTER 2234, GENERAL LAWS OF
 2012, TO REVISE THE COMPOSITION OF MISSISSIPPI STATE SENATE
 DISTRICTS 22 AND 23 AS ESTABLISHED IN JOINT RESOLUTION 201, 2012
 REGULAR SESSION; AND FOR RELATED PURPOSES.

5 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF 6 MISSISSIPPI, That Chapter 2234, General Laws of 2012, which sets 7 forth the composition of Senate Districts 22 and 23 as established 8 in Joint Resolution 201, 2012 Regular Session, are revised as 9 follows:

10 DISTRICT 22

Bolivar County: Choctaw, Longshot, Northwest Cleveland,
 Skene and West Cleveland Precincts.

Humphreys County: Gooden Lake, Isola, Lake City<u>-2</u>, Louise,
Midnight, Putnam, Silver City, Southeast Belzoni and Southwest
Belzoni Precincts.

- 16 Issaquena County: All.
- 17 ***
- 18 Sharkey County: All.

J. R. No. 201	~ OFFICIAL ~	N1/2
19/SS26/R1366		
PAGE 1 (tb\crl)		

19 Warren County: American Legion Hall, Auditorium, Brunswick, 20 Cedar Grove, Kings, No. 7 Fire Station, St. Aloysius and Vicksburg 21 Junior High School Precincts. 22 Washington County: Arcola City Hall, Darlove Baptist Church, 23 Glen Allan Health Clinic, Hollandale City Hall and Leland Health 24 Department Clinic Precincts. Yazoo County: 3-1 West, 3-2 East, 3-3 Jonestown, 3-4 25 South, * * * District 4 Ward 2, Holly Bluff, Lake City, * * * Lake 26 27 City-2, Ward 2, Ward 4 * * * and Ward 5 * * * Precincts. DISTRICT 23 28 29 30 Madison County: *Bear Creek, Flora, Magnolia Heights, 31 *Parkway, Smith School, Virlilia and Yandell Road Precincts. 32 Warren County: * * * 3-61 Store, Beechwood, Bovina, Culkin, 33 Elks Lodge, Goodrum, Jett, Moose Lodge, Oak Ridge, Plumbers Hall, 34 Redwood, Tingleville, Y.M.C.A. and Yokena Precincts. Yazoo County: Benton, Center Ridge, * * * Dover, East 35 Bentonia, Eden, Fairview, Free Run, Fugates, Mechanicsburg, 36 37 Robinette, Satartia, Tinsley, * * * Valley, West Bentonia and Zion 38 Precincts. 39 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That partial or split precincts contained in this resolution are identified in this joint 40 41 resolution by an asterisk (*) which shall precede its designation 42 within the description of a district.

J. R. No. 201 **~ OFFICIAL ~** 19/SS26/R1366 PAGE 2 (tb\crl) 43 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Chair and Vice Chair of the Standing Joint Legislative Committee on Reapportionment shall file 44 with the Secretary of State the Split Precinct Block List 45 developed in conjunction with the plan contained in this joint 46 47 resolution that details the portions of the partial or split 48 precincts that are contained within a district by census tract and block number, and such document duly filed with the Secretary of 49 50 State is hereby incorporated into and shall be construed to be an 51 integral part of this joint resolution.

52 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the redistricting contained in 53 this resolution shall supersede any prior redistricting for Senate 54 Districts 22 and 23 as established in Chapter 2234, General Laws 55 of 2012, and any prior redistricting for such Senate Districts 56 shall be null and void upon the date this resolution is 57 effectuated.

58 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution shall be placed 59 in the editor's notes that follow Section 5-1-3, Mississippi Code 60 of 1972.