REGULAR SESSION 2019

To: Rules

~ OFFICIAL ~

N1/2

By: Representative Mims

1

H. R. No. 42
19/HR31/R1822
PAGE 1 (MCL\JAB)

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 42

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE PARKLANE

2 ACADEMY LADY PIONEERS FAST-PITCH SOFTBALL TEAM FOR WINNING THE 3 MISSISSIPPI ASSOCIATION OF INDEPENDENT SCHOOLS 2018 AAAA OVERALL SOFTBALL STATE CHAMPIONSHIP. 5 WHEREAS, the Parklane Academy Lady Pioneers Fast-pitch Softball Team clinched a well-deserved victory to top off their 6 7 outstanding season when they defeated the Simpson Academy Lady Cougars Fast-pitch Softball Team to win the Mississippi 8 9 Association of Independent Schools (MAIS) AAAA Overall Softball 10 State Championships; and WHEREAS, the Lady Pioneers crushed the state championship 11 12 dreams of each of their opponents in the state playoffs, by 13 pulverizing Jackson Prep, out-maneuvering Madison Ridgeland 14 Academy, hammering Hartfield Academy, powering through Jackson Prep once again, rolling over East Rankin Academy and ultimately 15 16 surpassing Simpson Academy in the championship series; and 17 WHEREAS, striving to win with unparalleled motivation and ardent determination, the Lady Pioneers played their best games of 18 19 the season during the championship series, as their mental stamina

- 20 and athletic prowess never wavered from the moment they first
- 21 walked onto that red, dusty diamond until the last out was made;
- 22 and
- 23 WHEREAS, the Lady Pioneers' statistics were impressive and
- 24 the key to this team's success has been the constant positive
- 25 atmosphere, the exceptional team spirit, and the year-round hard
- 26 work by the following talented and distinguished student-athletes:
- 27 Meg Gatlin, Skye Sharp, Alli Robinson, Gabby Hutson, GiGi Lindsey,
- 28 Halee Jenkins, Carley Dixon, Lagen Harvey, Libby Carr, Nan Gatlin,
- 29 Kate Clements, Emma Roberts, Alli Albritton, Rachel Platt, Lana
- 30 Johnson, Maddie Dixon, Emme Wallace and Liberty Gillihan; and
- 31 WHEREAS, the Lady Pioneers have been superbly coached and
- 32 tremendously inspired by Head Coach Greg Gatlin, Assistant Coach
- 33 Ron Rushing and Assistant Coach Chad Johnson, who have broadened
- 34 the team's knowledge of the game and refined their skills in
- 35 execution; and
- 36 WHEREAS, in their tireless dedication, the Lady Pioneers have
- 37 developed a winning, cooperative spirit and a high degree of
- 38 sportsmanship, and their activities and attitudes reflect great
- 39 credit upon the individual players and their coaches, bringing
- 40 honor to Parklane Academy; and
- 41 WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to
- 42 recognize and commend the superb accomplishments of Mississippi
- 43 student-athletes, especially those such as the Parklane Academy
- 44 Lady Pioneers Fast-pitch Softball Team, whose excellence on the

45	field	brings	honor	to	their	school,	their	community	and	the	State
----	-------	--------	-------	----	-------	---------	-------	-----------	-----	-----	-------

- 46 of Mississippi:
- 47 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 48 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby
- 49 commend and congratulate the Parklane Academy Lady Pioneers
- 50 Fast-pitch Softball Team and Head Coach Greg Gatlin for winning
- 51 the Mississippi Association of Independent Schools (MAIS) AAAA
- 52 Overall Softball State Championship, and extend best wishes to the
- 53 team and coaches for continued success in all of their future
- 54 endeavors.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 56 furnished to Head Coach Greg Gatlin and to the members of the
- 57 Capitol Press Corps.

