By: Senator(s) Harkins, Jackson (32nd), Barnett, Burton, Dearing, Frazier, Hopson, Jackson (11th)

To: Rules

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 642

1 2 3	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE MEMBERS OF PHI THETA KAPPA'S ALL-MISSISSIPPI ACADEMIC TEAM ON THE OCCASION OF "MISSISSIPPI PHI THETA KAPPA DAY."
4	WHEREAS, on March 28, 2018, members of Phi Theta Kappa, an
5	esteemed honor society for community and junior colleges which has
6	its international headquarters in Jackson, Mississippi, will
7	celebrate "Mississippi Phi Theta Kappa Day"; and
8	WHEREAS, special commendations are extended to the
9	outstanding scholars who comprise Phi Theta Kappa's
10	All-Mississippi Academic Team, a team of highly successful
11	community and junior college students assembled by the Mississippi
12	Community College Board, to participate in Phi Theta Kappa's
13	All-Mississippi Academic Team Competition; and
14	WHEREAS, the following students have been recognized as
15	members of the 2018 All-Mississippi Academic Team: Miracle
16	Hunter, Coahoma Community College in Clarksdale; Anna Scott,
17	Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Natchez; Candice Tetlow,

Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Natchez; Abigail Algee,

18

- 19 Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Mendenhall; Carley May,
- 20 Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Mendenhall; Kelsi Baldwin,
- 21 Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Wesson; Michael Hamilton,
- 22 Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Wesson; Reagan Gorgas, East
- 23 Central Community College in Decatur; Laicon Partain, East Central
- 24 Community College in Decatur; Elizabeth Ornelas, East Mississippi
- 25 Community College in Mayhew; Scott Sandifer, East Mississippi
- 26 Community College in Mayhew; Malerie Guess, East Mississippi
- 27 Community College in Scooba; Allison Vick, East Mississippi
- 28 Community College in Scooba; Brooke Williams, East Mississippi
- 29 Community College in Scooba; Zerrian Greenwood, Hinds Community
- 30 College in Jackson (Academic/Technical Center); Kena Span, Hinds
- 31 Community College in Jackson (Academic/Technical Center); Jamye
- 32 Davis, Hinds Community College in Jackson (Nursing/Allied Health
- 33 Center); Abigail Walters, Hinds Community College in Jackson
- 34 (Nursing/Allied Health Center); Danielle Gipson, Hinds Community
- 35 College in Jackson (Nursing/Allied Health Center); Claudia Nelson,
- 36 Hinds Community College in Pearl; Hannah Stovall, Hinds Community
- 37 College in Pearl; Landon Hunter, Hinds Community College in
- 38 Raymond; Joanna Stevens, Hinds Community College in Raymond;
- 39 Jeffery Fairley, Hinds Community College in Utica; Brianna
- 40 Watkins, Hinds Community College in Utica; Jaylon Gooden, Hinds
- 41 Community College in Utica; Taylor Ballard, Hinds Community
- 42 College in Vicksburg; Samantha Hawn, Hinds Community College in
- 43 Vicksburg; Nettie Stauts, Hinds Community College in Vicksburg;

- 44 Ethan Burton, Holmes Community College in Goodman; Ashlee Bennett,
- 45 Holmes Community College in Grenada; Sarah Leflore, Holmes
- 46 Community College in Grenada; Buck Allgood, Holmes Community
- 47 College in Ridgeland; Johnna Davis, Holmes Community College in
- 48 Ridgeland; Marlin Ferguson, Itawamba Community College in Fulton;
- 49 Hunter Holley, Itawamba Community College in Fulton; Karla
- 50 Morales, Itawamba Community College in Tupelo; Lillian Salem,
- 51 Itawamba Community College in Tupelo; Katelynn McGowen, Jones
- 52 County Junior College in Ellisville; Benjamin Robertson, Jones
- 53 County Junior College in Ellisville; Alonso Hernandez, Jones
- 54 County Junior College in Ellisville; Dakota Shoemaker, Jones
- 55 County Junior College in Ellisville; Katherine Loper, Meridian
- 56 Community College in Meridian; Hunter Stanley, Meridian Community
- 57 College in Meridian; Aaron Kirby, Meridian Community College in
- 58 Meridian; James Morphis, Meridian Community College in Meridian;
- 59 Mary Barnes, Mississippi Delta Community College in Greenville;
- 60 Kyla Rice, Mississippi Delta Community College in Greenville;
- 61 Hannah-Linn Holcomb, Mississippi Delta Community College in
- 62 Moorhead; Heather Lee, Mississippi Delta Community College in
- 63 Moorhead; Ciara Churchwell, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community
- 64 College in Lucedale; Justin Torres, Mississippi Gulf Coast
- 65 Community College in Lucedale; Tea Burdine, Mississippi Gulf Coast
- 66 Community College in Gautier; Anastasia Rogers, Mississippi Gulf
- 67 Coast Community College in Gautier; Braedon Kimball, Mississippi
- 68 Gulf Coast Community College in Gulfport; Nolan Stringfellow,

- 69 Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in Gulfport; RiAnne
- 70 Taylor, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in Perkinston;
- 71 Aren Watts, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in
- 72 Perkinston; Kelly Chadwell, Northeast Mississippi Community
- 73 College in Booneville; Mallorie Waldon, Northeast Mississippi
- 74 Community College in Booneville; Jacob Ozbirn, Northeast
- 75 Mississippi Community College in Booneville; Elma Andrade,
- 76 Northwest Mississippi Community College in Southaven; William
- 77 Watson, Northwest Mississippi Community College in Southaven;
- 78 Daniel Locke, Northwest Mississippi Community College in Oxford;
- 79 Sydney Osbarn, Northwest Mississippi Community College in Oxford;
- 80 Haley Appleton, Northwest Mississippi Community College in
- 81 Senatobia; Jamison Payne, Northwest Mississippi Community College
- 82 in Senatobia; Lorenzo Catlett, Pearl River Community College in
- 83 Hattiesburg; Melissa Novak, Pearl River Community College in
- 84 Hattiesburg; Michael Evans, Pearl River Community College in
- 85 Hattiesburg; Jonathan Parks, Pearl River Community College in
- 86 Hattiesburg; Alejandra Alcantara, Pearl River Community College in
- 87 Poplarville; Gage Kennedy, Pearl River Community College in
- 88 Poplarville; Heath Greenlee, Pearl River Community College in
- 89 Poplarville; Shelby King, Pearl River Community College in
- 90 Poplarville; Alexcia Carr, Southwest Mississippi Community College
- 91 in Summit; and Myles Kendrick, Southwest Mississippi Community
- 92 College in Summit; and



93	WHEREAS, as members of Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi
94	Academic Team, these students have demonstrated impressive
95	intellect, outstanding leadership, and a determination for
96	achieving academic excellence; and
97	WHEREAS, the praiseworthy and devoted efforts of the members
98	of Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team have earned
99	great respect and admiration for themselves and their academic
L00	institutions; and
L01	WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize and commend
L02	the accomplishments of these students who have brought honor to
L03	their colleges and to the State of Mississippi:
L O 4	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
L05	MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That
L06	we do hereby commend and congratulate the members of Phi Theta
L07	Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team on the occasion of
108	"Mississippi Phi Theta Kappa Day" and extend heartiest wishes for
L09	success in all of their future endeavors.
L10	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to

Phi Theta Kappa and made available to the members of the Capitol

Press Corps.

111

112