MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

By: Senator(s) Jolly, Jackson (32nd)

To: Rules

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 626

1 A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE 2 OKOLONA HIGH SCHOOL "CHIEFTAINS" BOYS BASKETBALL TEAM AND HEAD 3 COACH ARTERIA CLIFTON FOR WINNING THE MHSAA CLASS 1A STATE 4 CHAMPIONSHIP.

5 WHEREAS, senior members of the Okolona High School 6 "Chieftains" Boys Basketball Team finally made their legacy with a 7 dominating 80-59 victory over Ashland to win the MHSAA Class 1A 8 State Championship on March 8, 2018; and

9 WHEREAS, the Okolona Chieftains Boys Basketball Team has been 10 one of the most dominant teams in Mississippi this year, not just in 1A. The team won every playoff game by at least 21 and lost 11 12 only two games all year: One was to Tennessee's Fayette Ware and 13 the other was to Starkville by two. The Chieftains also defeated 14 Starkville in the first meeting by five; and WHEREAS, Coach Arteria Clifton doesn't often show much 15 emotion. When the 1995 Okolona graduate was handed the 16 17 Championship Trophy on March 8, 2018, he hardly cracked a smile,

18 but when nobody was watching, Clifton could be seen in the third

19 quarter jumping back in his seat and kicking his feet in the air

S. C. R. No. 626 **~ OFFICIAL ~** N1/2 18/SS36/R1278 PAGE 1 (tb\rc) 20 after his Chieftains forced a turnover with a double-digit lead;
21 and

22 WHEREAS, from the first possession, the Chieftains were 23 swarming Ashland and making life difficult. When one star 24 struggled, another one stepped up. Okolona dominated Ashland in 25 the second half and took the 1A Championship; and

26 WHEREAS, Smith, Bailey and Spears, three seniors who made 27 good on their expectations for four years, can say they made their 28 mark and made sure not to make it softly. These seniors left the 29 Mississippi Coliseum as Champions. They can go down as one of the 30 best teams in the state; and

WHEREAS, the 2018 Okolona High School Boys Basketball 31 32 Championship Team Roster is: Jaylon Bailey, Kylon McCoy, Jamal 33 Moore, Brandon Young, Antonio Buchanan, Ladarrius Spears, Jacorrius Stanfield, Deonte Hampton, Dontavious Doss, Tre Harvey, 34 35 Jalen McFarland, and Cameron Smith; and Coach Arteria Clifton; and 36 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize these student athletes who have brought honor to their school, their 37 38 community, and to the State of Mississippi:

39 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF 40 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That 41 we do hereby commend and congratulate the Okolona High School 42 "Chieftains" Boys Basketball Team and Head Coach Arteria Clifton 43 for winning the MHSAA Class 1A State Championship, and extend our

S. C. R. No. 626 **~ OFFICIAL ~** 18/SS36/R1278 PAGE 2 (tb\rc) 44 best wishes to the team, coaches, parents and sponsors for future 45 success.

46 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to 47 Coach Arteria Clifton for the team, forwarded to Okolona 48 Principal, Mr. Christopher Hill, and the Okolona School Board, and 49 made available to the Capitol Press Corps.

S. C. R. No. 626 18/SS36/R1278 PAGE 3 (tb\rc) ST: Commend Okolona High School "Chieftains" Boys Basketball Team for winning Class 1A State Championship.