REGULAR SESSION 2018

MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

By: Senator(s) Caughman, Jackson (32nd)

To: Rules

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 612

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE SIMPSON COUNTY ACADEMY "LADY COUGARS" SOFTBALL TEAM AND HEAD COACH

3 ADAM EVANS FOR WINNING THEIR FIRST-EVER SOFTBALL STATE

4 CHAMPIONSHIP.

5 WHEREAS, the 2017 Simpson County Academy "Lady Cougars"

6 Softball Team ended the softball season with a record of 28-9,

7 AAAA DII District 3 Champions, AAAA DII State Champions, and MAIS

8 Overall Runner-Up; and

9 WHEREAS, after trailing 6-3 to Magnolia Heights in the AAAA

10 DII Championship Game, the Lady Cougars stormed back to tie the

11 game in the bottom of the 6th. With the game tied and the bases

12 loaded, Abigail Carter stepped up to the plate and hit the

13 game-deciding Grand Slam driving in four runs. The Lady Cougars

14 held on to the 10-6 lead, defeating Magnolia Heights for the

15 school's first-ever Softball State Championship; and

16 WHEREAS, the Lady Cougars' Championship Softball Team are

17 comprised of the following outstanding student athletes: Bailey

18 Sartin, Abigail Carter, Leah Beth Luckey, Bella Luckey, Morgan

19 Griffith, Allison Richardson, Kristen Busby, Anna Claire Walker,

- 20 T.K. Catchings, Carlee Cockrell, Maddie Moody, Haley Roberts,
- 21 Gracie Giordano, Clara Grace Jensen, Chloe Petterson, Marlee
- 22 Dampeer, Olivia Hodum, Sydney Kate Russell and Natalie Styron;
- 23 Head Coach Adam Evans and Assistant Coaches: Blake Blakeney, Bart
- 24 Carter and Jeff Wedgeworth; and
- 25 WHEREAS, the Lady Cougars were led by Senior Bailey Sartin,
- 26 who set the bar as the leader and helped set the standard for
- 27 their team attitude and work ethic. Bailey was also selected to
- 28 the MAIS All-Star Game, All-MAIS Softball Team, and All-District,
- 29 and Coach Adam Evans was named MAIS AAAA DII Coach of the Year;
- 30 and
- 31 WHEREAS, the Lady Cougars had four players to make the MAIS
- 32 All-State Team. Those players are as follows: Bailey Sartin,
- 33 Abigail Carter, Leah Beth Luckey and Morgan Griffith. Junior
- 34 Bella Luckey was named MAIS AAAA DII Player of the Year; and
- 35 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize a group of
- 36 student athletes who have brought honor to their school, their
- 37 community and to the State of Mississippi:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
- 39 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That
- 40 we do hereby commend and congratulate the Simpson County Academy
- 41 "Lady Cougars" Softball Team and Head Coach Adam Evans for winning
- 42 their first-ever Softball State Championship, and extend to the
- 43 team, coaches, parents and sponsors our best wishes for future
- 44 success.

- 45 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to
- 46 Coach Adam Evans for the team, forwarded to Billy W. Hankins,
- 47 Headmaster of Simpson Academy, and made available to the Capitol
- 48 Press Corps.