MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

PAGE 1 (lr ar)

By: Senator(s) Harkins, Barnett, Blackwell, Browning, Clarke, Dearing, Jackson (15th), Jackson (32nd), Jolly, McMahan, Simmons (13th) To: Rules

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 539

1 A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING THE MISSISSIPPI STATE 2 UNIVERSITY "BULLDOGS" FOOTBALL TEAM FOR THEIR IMPRESSIVE VICTORY 3 OVER THE LOUISVILLE CARDINALS IN THE 2017 TAXSLAYER BOWL IN 4 JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA. 5 WHEREAS, closing out the 2017 season, Mississippi State University "Bulldogs" Football Team (9-4, 4-4, SEC) defeated the 6 7 Louisville "Cardinals" (8-5, 4-4, ACC) 31-27 in the TaxSlayer Bowl on December 30, 2017, at EverBank Field in Jacksonville, Florida; 8 9 and 10 WHEREAS, coached by an interim staff led by Greq Knox, the Bulldogs put on an impressive display in all facets of the game, 11 12 highlighted by big plays on each side of the ball; and WHEREAS, with the win, the Bulldogs registered their 13 14 third-consecutive bowl triumph while also improving to 13-8 all-time in bowl games. The Cardinals fell to 11-11 in bowl 15 16 appearances; and 17 WHEREAS, with Junior Quarterback Nick Fitzgerald out with an 18 ankle injury, true Freshman Keytaon Thompson made his first-ever 19 start at quarterback and put on a record-breaking performance in 539 ~ OFFICIAL ~ N1/2 S. C. R. No. 18/SS01/R752

20 the win. Thompson finished 11-of-20 passing for 127 yards and one 21 interception, while also rushing 27 times for 147 yards and three 22 touchdowns. Ultimately, Mississippi State University racked up 23 404 yards of offense behind Thompson's leadership; and

24 WHEREAS, junior safety Mark McLaurin was named the TaxSlayer 25 Bowl Most Valuable Player (MVP) after recording three interceptions on the day, contributing to four total picks the 26 27 Bulldogs had in the game. Mississippi State University also 28 recorded six pass break-ups and six stacks, capping a strong day by the defense. University of Louisville led 21-17 at halftime 29 30 and 24-17 through three quarters, but Mississippi State rallied to outscore Louisville 14-3 in the final period on the strength of 31 32 two of Thompson's three rushing touchdowns, as well as two of McLaurin's three interceptions. Mississippi State will begin its 33 34 2018 season under first-year Head Coach Joe Moorhead with spring 35 practice in March; and

36 WHEREAS, Mississippi State's 2017 season will be remembered for many things other than its 9-4 record: Change, Adversity, and 37 38 Resiliency and when the season ended, it did so with a win; and 39 WHEREAS, the Mississippi State University "Bulldogs" Football 40 Team Roster is: Brandon Bryant, DB; Logan Burnett, ATH; Jamal Peters, DB; Traver Jung, LB; Gerri Green, LB; Gabe Myles, WR; 41 Willie Gay, Jr., LB; Donald Gray, WR; Tolando Cleveland, DB; Nick 42 43 Fitzgerald, QB; Kylin Hill, RB; Malik Dear, WR; Montez Sweat, DL; Leo Lewis, LB; Keytaon Thompson, QB; Dezmond Harris, LB; J.T. 44

S. C. R. No. 539 ~ OFFICIAL ~ 18/SS01/R752 PAGE 2 (lr\ar) 45 Gray, DB; Rip Kirk, ATH; Cameron Dantzler, DB; Braden Smith, ATH; 46 Mitch Hood, ATH; Korey Charles, DB; Kareem Vance, Jr., ATH; Jamal Couch, WR; Londyn Craft, ATH; Deddrick Thomas, WR; Travis 47 O'Connor, ATH; Taury Dixon, ATH; Reggie Todd, WR; Nick Gibson, RB; 48 49 Blake Armour, ATH; Aeris Williams, RB; Raymond Freeman, ATH; Keith 50 Mixon, WR; Allen Perkins, ATH; Chris Rayford, DB; Lashard Durr, DB; Jordan Lawless, K; Alec Murphy, RB; Kody Schexnayder, P; 51 52 Jaquarius Landrews, DB; Dontavian Lee, RB; Tristan Pisacane, ATH; 53 C.J. Morgan, DB; Dan Mills, K; Maurice Smitherman, DB; Brian Cole, 54 DB; Tyler Williams, DB; Cory Thomas, DL; Landon Guidry, DB; Bennie Braswell III, ATH; Brad Wall, ATH; Johnathan Abram, DB; Nathan 55 56 Swanson, ATH; Wyatt Powell, ATH; Erroll Thompson, LB; Mark McLaurin, DB; Tucker Day, K/P; Marquiss Spencer, DL; Fletcher 57 Adams, DL; Logan Cooke, P/K; Aadreekis Conner, ATH; Josiah 58 59 Phillips, LB; Aaron Odom, DL; Jace Christmann, K; Chris Redmon, 60 ATH; Stephen Adegoke, ATH; Tim Washington, LB; R.J. Jennings, ATH; 61 Stewart Reese, OL; Kobe Jones, DL; Hunter Bradley, SN; Cameron Miller, ATH; Blake Mitchell, ATH; Martinas Rankin, OL; Dareuan 62 63 Parker, OL; Tyler Dunning, LB; Greg Eiland, OL; Deion Calhoun, OL; 64 Cordavien Suggs, OL; Brett Armour, ATH; Joel Baldwin, SN; Michael 65 Story, OL; Harry Parker, ATH; Tommy Champion, OL; Ronald Cochran, 66 OL; Darryl Williams, OL; Elgton Jenkins, OL; Harrison Moon, OL; Tyre Phillips, OL; Evans Wilkerson, OL; Christian Roberson, TE; 67 Justin Johnson, TE; Farrod Green, TE; Jordan Thomas, TE; Dontea 68 Jones, TE; Austin Williams, WR; Jesse Jackson, WR; Osirus 69

S. C. R. No. 539 **~ OFFICIAL ~** 18/SS01/R752 PAGE 3 (lr\ar) Mitchell, WR; Aaron Hamker, TE; Sherman Timbs, ATH; Powers Warren,
TE; Grant Harris, DL; James Jackson, DL; Kendall Jones, DL;
Chauncey Rivers, DL; Jeffery Simmons, DL; Braxton Hoyett, DL; Tre
Brown, DL; Lee Autry, DL; and Interim Head Coach Greg Knox; and

74 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we commend this group of 75 outstanding university athletes who have represented their school, 76 their community and the State of Mississippi with honor:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby recognize the Mississippi State University "Bulldogs" Football Championship Team for their impressive victory over the Louisville Cardinals in the 2017 TaxSlayer Bowl in Jacksonville, Florida, and extend to the team, coaches, parents and sponsors our best wishes for future success.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to Coach Knox for the team, forwarded to Mississippi State University President Mark Keenum and the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning, and made available to the Capitol Press Corps.