By: Senator(s) Younger, Jackson (32nd), Jackson (15th), Barnett, Burton, Carmichael, Chassaniol, Dearing, Fillingane, Norwood, Simmons (12th), Turner-Ford To: Rules

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 526

- A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING AND SALUTING THE EAST
 MISSISSIPPI COMMUNITY COLLEGE "LIONS" FOOTBALL TEAM AND "COACH OF
 THE YEAR" BUDDY STEPHENS FOR WINNING A RECORD-SETTING FOURTH NJCAA
 NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP AND NUMBER-ONE RANKING IN THE FINAL NATIONAL
 JUNIOR COLLEGE ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION POLL.
- 6 WHEREAS, East Mississippi Community College achieved a
- 7 Magnolia State first at the 2013 Mississippi Bowl. It won the
- 8 first National Championship on Mississippi soil; and
- 9 WHEREAS, the Lions achieved another landmark at the 2017
- 10 Mississippi Bowl. With cameras aimed at his East Mississippi
- 11 Community College Lions, Coach Buddy Stephens held up "Four! Four
- 12 Championship fingers!" The celebration came minutes after Number
- One East Mississippi secured a 31-28 victory over Number Two
- 14 Arizona Western in Mississippi Bowl X. The victory at A.L. May
- 15 Memorial Stadium tied EMCC (2011, 2013, 2014) with host Gulf Coast
- 16 (1948, 1971, 1984, 2007) for four National Championships, tops
- 17 among Mississippi Association of Community and Junior Colleges
- 18 (MACJC) members; and

- 19 WHEREAS, Coach Stephens said nobody in Mississippi has ever
- 20 won four National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA)
- 21 titles. It means a lot after the 2015 and 2016 teams didn't get
- 22 to play; and
- 23 WHEREAS, East Mississippi (11-1) started off fast when former
- 24 LSU Quarterback Lindsey Scott, Jr., connected with Dontario
- 25 Drummond for a 13-yard touchdown. Ty Williams picked off Arizona
- 26 Western Quarterback Bryce Perkins on the very next possession and
- 27 returned it 49 yards for a touchdown to put the Lions ahead 14-0.
- 28 The Matadors responded midway through the second quarter on a
- 29 three-yard touchdown connection. Clinging to a 28-21 lead,
- 30 Vancleave's Taylor Crabtree easily converted a 34-yard field goal
- 31 with 14:54 remaining that ended up being the difference as it
- 32 pushed EMCC ahead 31-21. Not done, Perkins led the Matadors down
- 33 the field one last time, converting a crucial fourth down in
- 34 Lions' territory to set up a three-yard touchdown pass to Anderson
- 35 with 1:54 remaining. The Matadors came up empty on the ensuing
- 36 onside kick and the Lions ran out the clock to claim their fifth
- 37 Mississippi Bowl victory in front of a record crowd of 3,148.
- 38 Scott was named the EMCC Lions Offensive MVP and the Mississippi
- 39 Bowl Player of the Year after throwing for 170 yards and two
- 40 scores and rushing for 40 more yards; and
- WHEREAS, "So many of our guys had big games or made big plays
- 42 that all contributed to the win in the end," East Mississippi
- 43 Community College Head Coach Buddy Stephens said. "I could not be

- 44 prouder of the way our young men played and for all they
- 45 accomplished. Our administration had a vision to make our
- 46 athletics successful and let the school build off that success,
- 47 and they have given us everything we needed to be successful"; and
- WHEREAS, the 2017 East Mississippi Community College
- 49 Championship Team Football Roster is: Daniel Crowell, Jr., WR;
- 50 Ti'Morrius Conner, QB; Kirk Merritt, WR; Dorrean McLaurin, WR;
- 51 Dontario Drummond, WR; Ty Williams, DB; Ja'Mori Mark, WR/RB;
- 52 Tyrell Price, RB; JaQuez Akins, DB; Quin Jones, LB; Jacob
- 53 Anderson, DB; Brandon Rodgers, WR; Calvin Keys, Jr., WR; Mike
- 54 Williams, WR; Keilos Swinney, DB; Travion Jones, WR; Joseph
- 55 Anderson, DB; Lindsey Scott, Jr., QB; Adrian Miller, WR; Reginald
- 56 Hunter, Jr., RB; D.J. Clayton, WR; Duke Upshaw, DB; Braden Boykin,
- 57 WR; Dwayne Pickett, Jr., DB; Grayson Pontius, P; C.J. Gholar, WR;
- 58 Taylor Crabtree, PK; Untareo Johnson, LB; Ty'Ree Evans, LB;
- 59 Emanuel Bridges, LB; Kaleb Gentry, LB; Justin Connor, RB; Nicholas
- 60 Patterson, LB; Cole Baker, DL; Denzel Bonner, DB; Rasheed Jackson,
- 61 DL; Raleigh Wood IV, LS; Eriq Kitchen, DL; Jakoby Jones, OL;
- 62 Connor Reinike, OL; Matt Toles, OL; D'Anthony Page, OL; Kornelius
- 63 Rogers, OL; LaQuinston Sharp, OL; Stuart Coggins, OL; Walter
- 64 Barnes, OL; Cordell Birge, OL; Jauan Collins, DL; Lorenzo
- 65 Dantzler, DL; Maleke Bell, DL; Aarron Boatright, DL; Kane Taylor,
- 66 DL; Everitt Cunningham, DL; Marquise Griffin, DL; Tyone Clemons,
- 67 DL; Head Coach Buddy Stephens; and Assistant Coaches: David

- 68 Boykin, Cliff Collins, Davern Williams, Justin Sanders, Bo Wallace
- 69 and Courtland Hays; and
- 70 WHEREAS, this fourth National Championship was a fitting way
- 71 to remember legendary Coach Bull Sullivan, whose strict
- 72 disciplinary coaching methods and success were the topic of a
- 73 famous Sports Illustrated article "The Toughest Coach There Ever
- 74 Was"; and it is with great pride that we note this fourth National
- 75 Championship by a team which has brought honor to its college, its
- 76 community and to the State of Mississippi:
- 77 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
- 78 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That
- 79 we do hereby recognize and salute the East Mississippi Community
- 80 College "Lions" Football Team and "Coach of the Year" Buddy
- 81 Stephens for winning a record-setting fourth NJCAA National
- 82 Championship and Number-One ranking in the Final National Junior
- 83 College Athletic Association Poll, and extend our best wishes to
- 84 the team, coaches, parents and sponsors on this honor.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to
- 86 Coach Stephens and East Mississippi Community College President
- 87 Dr. Thomas Huebner, the Board of Trustees of East Mississippi
- 88 Community College and the Mississippi Community College Board, and
- 89 made available to the Capitol Press Corps.