By: Senator(s) Turner-Ford, Barnett, Chassaniol, Clarke, Dearing, Fillingane, Jackson (32nd), Jolly, Norwood, Simmons (12th)

To: Rules

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 525

- A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE
 WEST POINT HIGH SCHOOL "GREEN WAVE" FOOTBALL TEAM AND HEAD COACH
 CHRIS CHAMBLESS FOR WINNING THEIR SECOND CONSECUTIVE CLASS 5A
 STATE CHAMPIONSHIP.
- 5 WHEREAS, in 2017 something special happened with West Point
- 6 football. As the Green Wave finished off its second-straight 5A
- 7 State Championship with a 28th straight win, history was being
- 8 made. West Point dominated each and every team it played in the
- 9 2017 season. Its closest game was 19 points. It defeated 6A
- 10 Finalist Starkville, 4A State Champ Noxubee County, Hattiesburg,
- 11 and Olive Branch twice; and
- 12 WHEREAS, the December 2, 2017, championship win at
- 13 Vaught-Hemingway Stadium was exactly what so many thought it would
- 14 be. The Green Wave was simply too good. The West Point defense
- 15 canceled out each impressive Hattiesburg play with one of three
- 16 interceptions or a sack in the backfield, and with a 41-15 lead,
- 17 the West Point offense went out on the field for one last time,
- 18 and Marcus Murphy took a knee; and

- 19 WHEREAS, Marcus Murphy, the 4-star Quarterback and
- 20 Mississippi State commit, ran for 226 yards and four touchdowns,
- 21 ending his career with 5,227 rushing yards and 92 total
- 22 touchdowns; and
- 23 WHEREAS, as good as Murphy was, West Point's defense was even
- 24 better. "We challenged our defense tonight to play against a
- 25 high-powered offense," Coach Chris Chambless said. "This feels
- 26 great. The community has always been behind us and now we have a
- 27 second straight Gold Ball for them"; and
- 28 WHEREAS, the Roster for the West Point High School "Green
- 29 Wave" Football Championship Team is: Jason Brownlee, WR/DB;
- 30 Marcus Murphy, QB; Chris Calvert, RB; Tyler Rupert, DB;
- 31 Antrayvious Brownlee, FS; E.J. Bush, LB; Ledarius Glover, ATH;
- 32 Brandon Lairy, LB; Nate Montgomery, SB/WR; Ryan Melton, FS; Brentt
- 33 Cunningham, LB; Shun Crawford, WR; Jerni White, WR; Gray Berry,
- 34 QB; John Facella, WR; Kentavious McMillian, DB; Je'qwan Young, WR;
- 35 Jake Chambless, QB; Tyson Davidson, CB; Stededric Griffis, DE;
- 36 Quantaze Powell, DB; Brandon Harris, RB/QB/WR; Archie Jones, RB;
- 37 Terence Cherry, DL; Rasson Carr, DB; Cortez Shaw, CB; Latarius
- 38 Embry, DB; Jaylen Cungious, DE; Macorte Hoskins, CB; Jimothy Mays,
- 39 RB; Travion Stennis, FS; Tyrese Johnson, WR; Dantariyus Cannon,
- 40 RB/OLB; Xavier Fair, LB; Jaylun Eggerson, RB; Kameron Martin, RB;
- 41 Tyron Orr, FB/OLB; Jaquan Pool, DB; Tysean Darden, WR; Brian
- 42 Crawford, LB; Rasheed Harris, LB; Traevon Banks, DB; Cameron
- 43 Johnson, LB; Cassius Walker, DB; Lapriest Starks, DB; Jamel Banks,

- 44 DT; Jaylon Webb, DL; Dewayne Smith, WR; Thomas Robinson, WR;
- 45 Leundra Thompson, DB; Jamarquez Petty, DB; TJ Anderson, TE; Jylis
- 46 Penson, LB; Donte Smith, DE; Jamaris Ewing, DT; Deundra Thompson,
- DE; Ezekiel Head, OL; Bryson Thomas, DE; Timothy Mays, DE; Miller
- 48 Conn, C; Draylon Rieves, OL; Jacarius Harper, DT; Kendall Coleman,
- 49 MLB; Iverion Cungious, G; Emmanuel Head, G; Zameek Price, OL;
- Jameek Price, OL; Dontavius Pargo, DT; Rakim Parker, DB; Dontavius
- 51 Myers, DL; Tyler Brownlee, OL; Jose Lemus, K; Jeremiah Walker, DL;
- 52 Nehemiah Walker, OL; Pistol Smith, OL; Tyjai Matthews, DL; Kameron
- 53 Dyson, T; Jonquez Roby, T; David Rush, DL; Laderrick Mallard, OL;
- 54 Daveion Reives, T; Calvin Montgomery, DL; Shunn Cooperwood, WR;
- 55 Darius Quinn, WR; Kurtis Bradford, WR; Sema'j Harris, TE; Tyren
- 56 Warren, WR; and Chris Chandler, DE; Head Coach Chris Chambless;
- 57 and Assistant Coaches, Ricky Melton and Seth Stillman; and
- 58 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize this group
- 59 of student athletes who have brought honor to their school, their
- 60 community and the State of Mississippi:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
- 62 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That
- 63 we do hereby commend and congratulate the West Point High School
- 64 "Green Wave" Football Team and Head Coach Chris Chambliss for
- 65 winning their second consecutive Class 5A State Championship, and
- 66 extend our best wishes to the team, coaches, parents and sponsors
- 67 for future success.



PAGE 3 (tb\lr)

68	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to
69	Coach Chambless for the team, forwarded to West Point Principal
70	Jermaine Taylor and the Clay County Board of Education, and made
71	available to the Capitol Press Corps.