By: Senator(s) Michel, Chassaniol, Dearing, Fillingane, Horhn, Jackson (11th), Jackson (32nd), Norwood, Simmons (12th)

To: Rules

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 508

- 1 A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION TO RECOGNIZE "OLE MISS" STAR WIDE 2 RECEIVER A.J. BROWN UPON HIS RECEIPT OF THE COVETED 2017 C SPIRE 3 CONERLY TROPHY AND TO COMMEND HIS STELLAR FOOTBALL CAREER.
- 4 WHEREAS, Ole Miss Wide Receiver A.J. Brown won the 2017 C
- Spire Conerly Trophy on November 28, 2017, as Mississippi's most 5
- outstanding college football player this season; and 6
- 7 WHEREAS, now in its 22nd year, the C Spire Conerly Trophy is
- named after the late Charlie Conerly, the only football inductee 8
- 9 in the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame who was an All-American at
- a Mississippi university, an NFL Rookie of the Year and NFL 10
- 11 All-Pro member and quarterbacked a team to a World Championship,
- 12 and is given annually to the best college football player in
- 13 Mississippi; and
- 14 WHEREAS, A.J. Brown, a sophomore from Starkville,
- 15 Mississippi, finished the 2017 season as the Ole Miss
- 16 single-season record-holder in receiving yards (1,252) and tied
- 17 for the top spot in receiving touchdowns (11). He leads the SEC

508

- 18 and ranks sixth nationally in receiving yards per game (104.3);
- 19 and
- 20 WHEREAS, his six 100-yard receiving games is tied for best in
- 21 a single season, equaling Laquon Treadwell's mark in 2015. Brown
- 22 finished third on the single-season record charts in receptions
- 23 (75); and
- 24 WHEREAS, the award put an exclamation mark on a
- 25 record-setting season for the sophomore from Starkville, who
- 26 probably wrapped up the award by catching six passes for 167 yards
- 27 and a touchdown in Ole Miss' 31-28 win over Mississippi State in
- 28 the 2017 Egg Bowl; and
- 29 WHEREAS, Brown becomes the seventh Rebel, eighth time
- 30 overall, to win the prestigious award. It also marks the first
- 31 time Ole Miss has won the award in back-to-back seasons. The six
- 32 former Rebels to win the Conerly Trophy include: Stewart Patridge
- 33 (1997), Deuce McAllister (1999), Eli Manning (2001, 2003), Patrick
- 34 Willis (2006), Bo Wallace (2012) and Evan Engram (2016); and
- 35 WHEREAS, we commend the stellar football career of an
- 36 outstanding football player who has added another line to his
- 37 Mississippi football legacy and has brought honor to his
- 38 university, his community and to the State of Mississippi:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
- 40 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That
- 41 we do hereby recognize Ole Miss Wide Receiver A.J. Brown upon his
- 42 win of the coveted C Spire Conerly Trophy and commend his stellar

- football career, and extend our best wishes to A.J. and his family 43
- 44 on this auspicious honor.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to 45
- A.J. Brown, forwarded to the University of Mississippi Football 46
- Coach Matt Luke, University of Mississippi Chancellor Jeffrey S. 47
- Vitter and the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher 48
- 49 Learning, and made available to the Capitol Press Corps.