By: Senator(s) Kirby, Chassaniol, Dearing, Fillingane, Frazier, Harkins, Jackson (32nd), Norwood, Simmons (12th)

To: Rules

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 502

- A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND SALUTING THE PEARL
 "PIRATES" FOOTBALL TEAM, COACH OF THE YEAR JOHN PERRY AND PLAYER
 OF THE YEAR TYLAN KNIGHT FOR WINNING THEIR FIRST-EVER MHSAA CLASS
- 4 6A STATE CHAMPIONSHIP AND FOR THEIR PERFECT SEASON.
- 5 WHEREAS, the players on the 2017 Pearl "Pirates" Championship
- 6 Team were eighth graders when they were told, "You'll be the best
- 7 class that ever plays for Pearl High School." Hearing it then,
- 8 they didn't know where they would be four years later. The
- 9 perfect season was destiny; and
- 10 WHEREAS, on a crisp, cool, clear December 1, Friday night at
- 11 Vaught-Hemingway Stadium, the Pirates made their coach a prophet.
- 12 The Pirates scored late to defeat determined Starkville for the
- 13 State 6A Championship, and they proved that prediction to be true,
- 14 leading Pearl to its first-ever State Championship by defeating
- 15 Starkville 21-17 and completing a perfect 16-0 season. "It is
- 16 unbelievable," Coach of the Year John Perry said; and
- 17 WHEREAS, with 1:06 remaining and from four yards out, Player
- 18 of the Year, Tylan Knight, rushed up the middle and into the end
- 19 zone. "He is the best player in the State of Mississippi," Coach

- 20 Perry said. The Pirates trailed 14-9 at the half and Pearl didn't
- 21 answer until the fourth quarter on a five-yard touchdown run by
- 22 Johnny Winston, who put his team back on top 15-14. Time ticked
- 23 on and Pearl (16-0) battled. The Pirates held on to their
- 24 one-point lead; and with 3:54 left in the game, Starkville took
- 25 the lead back on a 34-yard field goal. The Yellowjackets (13-3)
- 26 went up 17-15. There was no way the Pirates were letting this one
- 27 go; it was their second time making it here and they weren't going
- 28 home this time without the Gold Ball. The next drive of the game
- 29 the Pirates worked their way downfield, the Gold Ball in sight,
- 30 and Knight's touchdown made it come true; and
- 31 WHEREAS, all season long there has not been one player or one
- 32 side of the ball that has dominated for the Pirates. It has been
- 33 the entire team working together to get to this point. The
- 34 defense did what they had to so the offense could finish the job;
- 35 and
- 36 WHEREAS, Pearl Defense Coordinator Chris Carmody lived up to
- 37 his grandfather's legacy. Carmody's grandfather, Jim "Big Nasty"
- 38 Carmody, is one of the most renowned defensive coaches in
- 39 Mississippi history. He was part of some of the biggest victories
- 40 in school history at Southern Miss, Ole Miss and Mississippi
- 41 State; and
- WHEREAS, the Pearl High School "Pirates" Championship
- 43 Football Team Roster is: Willie Brown, LB/RB; Steve Alexander,
- 44 LB/RB; Brayden Stensaas, WR/LB; Johnquarise Patterson, WR/FS;

- 45 Dylan Kelly, WR/CB; Tylan Knight, SS/ATH; Kendarius Evans, WR;
- 46 Dillon Hayes, LS; Gunnar Dennis, QB; Jordan Bailey, LB/DL; Demario
- 47 Nichols, DB; Jake Smithhart, QB; Kyle Morgigno, K; Tyrik Blakely,
- 48 CB; Tyler McKenzie, S; Derrick Watts, WR/CB; Donae Carpenter,
- 49 TE/LB; Cedrick Moffett, CB; Demonte Holliman, CB; Corey Winston,
- 50 RB/LB; Jaylon Stovall, WR; Nate Smith, RB/LB; Johnny Winston, RB;
- 51 Blake Calender, DB; Trevontae Lewis, WR/CB; Damien Lynch, LB;
- 52 Jalin Hayes, DB; Jarvis Townsend, FS; Derrick Stovall, RB; Jaylon
- 53 Young, WR; DJ Hill, DE; Sam Brumfield, RB/LB; Zikeyln Williams,
- 54 RB/LB; Landon Carpenter, DE; Preston Turney, LB; Elijah Harris,
- 55 RB; Cade Davis, K; Marquevious Cooley, DB; Carlen Andujo, LB;
- 56 Carleontaye Spires, RB/LB; Josh Notree, TE; Brandon Roberson, RB;
- 57 Kolby Burns, DL; Kaleb Sheppard, LB/WR; Brice Scott, TE; Caleb
- 58 Anthony, OL; Nate Brewer, DL; Davion Carter, DL; Austin Jones, OL;
- 59 Cody McCory, OL; Jaylon Webb, OL; Dashun Temple, DL; Justin
- 60 Bryant, OL; Curley Page, OL; Alan Anderson, OL; Damon Small, OL;
- 61 Hiram Wilson, OL; Xavier Simpson, OL; Darius McCrimon, DL; Jordan
- 62 Johnson, OL; Kevin Butts, OL; Kaleb Cadiere, OL; Peyton McDonald,
- 63 OL; Charles Brown, DL; Eric Ronquilla, OL; Austin Mitchell, DL;
- 64 Andrew May, OL; Malachi Lewis, WR; Kaleb Williams, WR; Cameron
- 65 Medina, WR; Trey Patten, WR; Landon Boyd, WR/DB; Zane Coghlan,
- 66 K/WR; Nicholas Webb, K/WR; and Colby Mozee, WR; Head Coach John
- 67 Perry; Assistant Coaches: Chase Carmody, Justin Hunter, Caleb
- 68 Kelly, Joel McCarty, Darius Knight, Terrance Robinson, Erik
- 69 Stensaas, Korey Welch, Austin Wilbanks, and Nathaniel Worrell; and

70	WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we note this singular
71	achievement by a group of student athletes who have brought honor
72	to their school, their coaches, their community and to the State
73	of Mississippi:
74	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
75	MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That
76	we do hereby commend and salute the 2017 Pearl High School
77	"Pirates" Football Team led by Coach of the Year John Perry and
78	outstanding Senior Player of the Year Tylan Knight for winning
79	their first-ever Mississippi High School Activities Association
80	(MHSAA) Class 6A State Championship, and extend our best wishes to
81	the team, coaches, parents and sponsors for future success.
82	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to
83	Coach John Perry for the team, forwarded to Pearl High School
84	Principal Chris Chism and the Pearl School Board, and made
85	available to the Capitol Press Corps.