MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

By: Representative Mickens

To: Rules

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 45

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE NOXUBEE COUNTY
HIGH SCHOOL TIGERS FOOTBALL TEAM AND COACH TYRONE SHORTER FOR
WINNING THEIR FIFTH MISSISSIPPI HIGH SCHOOL ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION
(MHSAA) CLASS 4A STATE CHAMPIONSHIP.

5 WHEREAS, the Noxubee County Tigers are the Class 4A State 6 Champions for the fifth time in program history, having previously 7 won three titles from 2012 to 2015 and four in the past eight 8 seasons, sealing their fate of preeminent status as gridiron 9 greats on December 2, 2017, defeating East Central 41-35 at 10 Vaught-Hemingway Stadium; and

11 WHEREAS, the Tigers dedicated this championship in memory of 12 Coach James Patterson, the offensive coordinator, who coached 13 Noxubee County for 37 years and accurately predicted the Tigers' 14 State Championship prior to his passing; and

WHEREAS, Noxubee County was 11-4 this season before facing a 15 formidable opponent in East Central, but the Tigers dug deep to 16 17 ignite that spark of passion of true grit with game-changing plays by quarterback Armoni Clark, who completed a 10-yard touchdown 18 19 pass to Maliek Stallings to account for 472 passing yards for ~ OFFICIAL ~ N1/2H. R. No. 45 18/HR31/R2010 PAGE 1 (DJ\JAB)

20 three touchdowns, and Keymarcus Jackson's interception at the 21 one-yard line which sealed the victory; and

22 WHEREAS, the 2017 Noxubee County High School Tigers Football 23 Team Championship roster is: Maliek Stallings, QB; Keymarcus 24 Jackson, WR/DB; Rashad Eades, WR; Kaiyus Lewis, RB; Armoni Clark, 25 QB; Rayon Johnson, RB; JaQuarius Johnson, DB; Kyziah Pruitt, WR/CB; Jaqualyn Smith, RB/CB; Jeffery Malone, WR; Torean King, WR; 26 27 Darius Williams, DB; Khristopher White, QB/DE; Jaylon Barnett, WR; 28 Rodney Williams, WR; JaQualon Sherrod, DB; Mushane Walker, QB; 29 Savion Price, WR; Anthony Jamison, DE; Tyrese Hopkins, MLB; 30 Eldrick Hopkins, LB/TE; Rodolthes Johnson, OLB; Bobby Shanklin, RB; De'Anthony Hill, DB; Chaokang Brooks, LB/OL; Jaelen Harmon, 31 32 OLB; Devin Brown, DB; Terry Joiner, OLB/DE; L.C. Clemons, MLB/RB; Timothy Bland, OLB; DaJuwuan Mumphard, DB; Travis Lockett, DB; 33 Daquauis Brooks, RB; Reggie Wilburn, DE/LB; Trillo Brown, LB; 34 35 Kavarius Harris, LB; Kadavion Robinson, DE; Tigi Shelton, T; 36 Tamorris Luster, DE/T; Treyvon Patton, OL/DL; Christopher Pippen, DT; Jaden Tate, DE; Andrew Henley, OLB; Michael Barber, C; 37 38 Lakendrick Lewis, OL; Samuel Lowery, K; Ervin Gray, OL; Anterrious 39 Gray, G; Dequavion Prince, G/T; Rickie Hunt, OL; Jordan White, OL; 40 Kenneth Smith, T; Justin Davis, G/T; Macordi Johnson, WR; Quindarius Cockrell, RB/WR; Zack Andrews, WR; Timothy Ivy, TE; 41 Coby Lockett, WR; Shemar McCloud, WR; Miles Smith, DT; Ma'teo 42 Chandler, DL; Travorus Hatcher, DL; Malcomn Purtue, DT; and 43 44 Verdell Clemons, DT; and

~ OFFICIAL ~

H. R. No. 45 18/HR31/R2010 PAGE 2 (DJ\JAB) 45 WHEREAS, the Tigers have been superbly coached and inspired by Head Coach Tyrone Shorter and Assistant Head Coach Teddy Young, 46 who have broadened the team's knowledge of the game and refined 47 their skills in execution, and assistant coaches Javancy Jones, Ed 48 49 Square, Chris Carlisle, Michael Johnson, Tyler Jackson, John 50 Sallis, Kenny Bledsoe, Curtis Bush, Terry Dora, Chris Jones and Gary Naylor have helped the players reach their fullest potential 51 52 on and off the field and played a huge role in the success of the 53 Noxubee County Tigers Football Team; and

54 WHEREAS, in their tireless dedication, the Tigers have 55 developed a winning, cooperative spirit and a high degree of 56 sportsmanship, and their activities and attitudes reflect great 57 credit upon the individual players and their coaches, bringing 58 honor to Noxubee County High School; and

59 WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to 60 recognize this group of student athletes who have brought pride to 61 their school, their community and to the State of Mississippi:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Noxubee County High School Tigers Football Team and Coach Tyrone Shorter for winning their fifth Mississippi High School Activities Association Class 4A State Championship, and extend best wishes to the team, coaches, parents and sponsors for future successes.

H. R. No. 45 18/HR31/R2010 PAGE 3 (DJ\JAB) 69 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be 70 furnished to Coach Tyrone Shorter on behalf of the team and to the 71 members of the Capitol Press Corps.

H. R. No. 45 18/HR31/R2010 PAGE 4 (DJ\JAB) Team; commend on winning Class 4A State Championship.