By: Representative Mims

To: Rules

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 99 (As Adopted by the House)

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION DESIGNATING MARCH 30, 2018, AS DOCTOR'S DAY IN MISSISSIPPI AND RECOGNIZING THE SERVICE OF THE DOCTORS OF THE DAY WHO SERVE THE MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE DURING THE 2018 REGULAR SESSION.

- 5 WHEREAS, cities, towns, communities and residents across the
- 6 State of Mississippi are proud of our state's physicians for their
- 7 commitment, dedication and personal sacrifice as they strive to
- 8 provide comprehensive and compassionate medical care to all
- 9 Mississippians; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Mississippi physicians continue to play a vital role
- 11 in caring for families and individuals, and have a \$6 billion
- 12 impact on the state's economy, which enhances Mississippi's
- 13 quality of life and national image and secures a healthy future
- 14 for residents of our great state; and
- 15 WHEREAS, we are particularly proud of the exemplary public
- 16 service shown by the Doctor of the Day program for the Mississippi
- 17 Legislature, and we take this opportunity to honor the following
- 18 physicians who donate their professional time and service during
- 19 the 2018 Regular Session: Afifa Adiba, M.D., Brandon; Joseph D.

- 20 Austin, M.D., Vicksburg; J. Stephen Beam, M.D., Hattiesburg;
- 21 Sidney W. Bondurant, M.D., Madison; K. Page Branam, M.D.,
- 22 Ridgeland; Jennifer J. Bryan, M.D., Flowood; L. Susan Buttross,
- 23 M.D., Jackson; Stephen Coachys, M.D., Jackson; Randy Easterling,
- 24 M.D., Vicksburg; Jeremy Erwin, M.D., Jackson; Roderick C. Givens,
- 25 M.D., Natchez; Tamara Glenn, M.D., Jackson; William M. Grantham,
- 26 M.D., Madison; Scott L. Hambleton, M.D., Madison; J. Clay Hays,
- 27 Jr., M.D., Jackson; W. Mark Horne, M.D., Laurel; Dedri M. Ivory,
- 28 M.D., Vicksburg; Jon Corey Jackson, M.D., Whitfield; Marc E.
- 29 Johnson, M.D., Brookhaven; Vern Antoine Keller, M.D., FACS,
- 30 Jackson; Carlos Latorre, M.D., Vicksburg; Day S. Lennep, M.D.,
- 31 Madison; Philip Levin, M.D., Gulfport; Michael Mansour, M.D.,
- 32 Greenville; Lori Marshall, M.D., Jackson; Gail Martin, M.D.,
- 33 Jackson; Shawn A. McKinney, M.D., FACS, Jackson; Philip T.
- 34 Merideth, M.D., J.D., Jackson; John R. Mitchell, M.D., Pontotoc;
- 35 John F. Pappas, M.D., Gulfport; Katherine T. Patterson, M.D.,
- 36 Indianola; Frank N. Perkins, IV, M.D., Jackson; Sara B. Robertson,
- 37 M.D., Jackson; Chasity L. Torrence, M.D., Whitfield; Justin M.
- 38 Turner, M.D., Madison; John Vanderloo, M.D., Jackson; Christy
- 39 Vowell, D.O., Eupora; Micah Walker, M.D., Flora; William L.
- 40 Waller, M.D., Hattiesburg; and Myra A. Wheaton, M.D., Jackson; and
- 41 WHEREAS, these physicians are supported by the nurses of the
- 42 <u>Capitol Medical Unit who provide exemplary service and we take</u>
- 43 this opportunity to honor: Apphia McCollough, RN, Brandon; Ann

44	Lincoln,	RN,	Brandon;	and	Stephanie	Austin,	RN	, Vicksburg;	fo:

- 45 their dedication; and
- 46 WHEREAS, more than the application of science and technology,
- 47 medicine is a special calling, and those who have chosen this
- 48 vocation in order to serve their fellowman understand the
- 49 tremendous responsibility it entails, and it is most appropriate
- 50 to designate March 30, 2018, as Doctor's Day in Mississippi to
- 51 honor the physicians in the State of Mississippi:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 53 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING
- 54 THEREIN, That we do hereby designate March 30, 2018, as Doctor's
- 55 Day in Mississippi and recognize the service of the Doctors of the
- 56 Day who serve the Mississippi Legislature during the 2018 Regular
- 57 Session.
- 58 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 59 furnished to the Mississippi State Medical Association and to the
- 60 members of the Capitol Press Corps.