MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

By: Representative Lamar

REGULAR SESSION 2018

To: Judiciary A; Appropriations

HOUSE BILL NO. 913

AN ACT TO AMEND SECTION 9-5-13, MISSISSIPPI CODE OF 1972, TO ADD ONE CHANCELLOR TO THE THIRD CHANCERY COURT DISTRICT; TO AMEND SECTION 9-5-11, MISSISSIPPI CODE OF 1972, TO CONFORM TO THE PRECEDING SECTION; AND FOR RELATED PURPOSES.

5 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI: 6 SECTION 1. Section 9-5-13, Mississippi Code of 1972, is

7 amended as follows:

8 9-5-13. (1) There shall be * * * four (4) chancellors for
9 the Third Chancery Court District.

10 (2) (a) The chancellor of Subdistrict 3-1 shall be elected from DeSoto County. The two (2) chancellors of Subdistrict 3-2 11 12 shall be elected from Grenada County, Montgomery County, Panola County, Tate County and Yalobusha County. The chancellor of 13 14 Subdistrict 3-3 shall be elected from DeSoto County, Grenada County, Montgomery County, Panola County, Tate County and 15 16 Yalobusha County. 17 (b) For purposes of appointment and election, the * * * 18 four (4) chancellorships shall be separate and distinct. The 19 chancellorship in Subdistrict 3-1 shall be denominated only as

H. B. No. 913 G1/2 18/HR43/R1561 PAGE 1 (GT\EW) 20 "Place One," * * * the chancellorships in Subdistrict 3-2 shall be 21 denominated only as "Place Two" and "Place Three * * *"; and the 22 chancellorship in Subdistrict 3-3 shall be denominated only as 23 "Place Four." 24 SECTION 2. Section 9-5-11, Mississippi Code of 1972, is 25 amended as follows: 26 9-5-11. (1) The Third Chancery Court District is composed 27 of the following counties: 28 DeSoto County; (a) 29 (b) Grenada County; 30 (C) Montgomery County; 31 (d) Panola County; 32 Tate County; and (e) Yalobusha County. 33 (f) The Third Chancery Court District shall be divided 34 (2) 35 into * * * three (3) subdistricts as follows: 36 Subdistrict 3-1 shall consist of DeSoto County. (a) Subdistrict 3-2 shall consist of Grenada County, 37 (b) 38 Montgomery County, Panola County, Tate County and Yalobusha 39 County. 40 (c) Subdistrict 3-3 shall consist of DeSoto County, 41 Grenada County, Montgomery County, Panola County, Tate County and Yalobusha County. 42 43 SECTION 3. This act shall take effect and be in force from 44 and after July 1, 2018.

H. B. No. 913 18/HR43/R1561 PAGE 2 (GT\EW) - OFFICIAL ~ ST: Third Chancery Court District; add a judge.