2018 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Turner-Ford, Jackson (32nd), Barnett, Chassaniol, Dearing, Fillingane, Jolly, Norwood, Simmons (12th)

Senate Concurrent Resolution 520


     WHEREAS, the Noxubee County Tigers are the 4A State Champions for the fifth time in program history, but this one meant a little more.  Noxubee County won three titles from 2012 to 2015 and four in the past eight seasons.  Winning championships were expected of the Tigers, but this season was different after the passing of Offensive Coordinator James Patterson, who had coached Noxubee County for 37 years.  This Championship win was dedicated in memory of Coach Patterson, who predicted this State Championship.  On December 2, 2017, the Tigers proved Patterson to be true, beating East Central 41-35 at Vaught-Hemingway Stadium; and

     WHEREAS, there were just under nine minutes left in the tied 4A State Championship Game and Noxubee County (11-4) was facing a fourth-and-goal situation at the one-yard line.  Nine plays, 83 yards and 2:42 later, Coach Patterson's prediction was fulfilled.  Quarterback Armoni Clark completed a 10-yard touchdown pass to Maliek Stallings that put Noxubee County up for the first time all night.  Keymarcus Jackson sealed the victory with an interception at the one-yard line, game over.  Armoni Clark had 472 passing yards for three touchdowns.  The game was filled with highlight moments from the senior quarterback and his receiver; and

     WHEREAS, the 2017 Noxubee County High School "Tigers" Football Team Championship Roster is:  Maliek Stallings, QB; Keymarcus Jackson, WR/DB; Rashad Eades, WR; Kaiyus Lewis, RB; Armoni Clark, QB; Rayon Johnson, RB; JaQuarius Johnson, DB; Kyziah Pruitt, WR/CB; Jaqualyn Smith, RB/CB; Jeffery Malone, WR; Torean King, WR; Darius Williams, DB; Khristopher White, QB/DE; Jaylon Barnett, WR; Rodney Williams, WR; JaQualon Sherrod, DB; Mushane Walker, QB; Kaiyus Lewis, RB; Savion Price, WR; Anthony Jamison, DE; Tyrese Hopkins, MLB; Eldrick Hopkins, LB/TE; Rodolthes Johnson, OLB; Bobby Shanklin, RB; De'Anthony Hill, DB; Chaokang Brooks, LB/OL; Jaelen Harmon, OLB; Devin Brown, DB; Terry Joiner, OLB/DE; L.C. Clemons, MLB/RB; Timothy Bland, OLB; DaJuwuan Mumphard, DB; Travis Lockett, DB; Daquauis Brooks, RB; Reggie Wilburn, DE/LB; Trillo Brown, LB; Kavarius Harris, LB; Kadavion Robinson, DE; Tigi Shelton, T; Tamorris Luster, DE/T; Treyvon Patton, OL/DL; Christopher Pippen, DT; Jaden Tate, DE; Andrew Henley, OLB; Michael Barber, C; Lakendrick Lewis, OL; Samuel Lowery, K; Ervin Gray, OL; Anterrious Gray, G; Dequavion Prince, G/T; Rickie Hunt, OL; Jordan White, OL; Kenneth Smith, T; Justin Davis, G/T; Macordi Johnson, WR; Quindarius Cockrell, RB/WR; Zack Andrews, WR; Timothy Ivy, TE; Coby Lockett, WR; Shemar McCloud, WR; Miles Smith, DT; Ma'teo Chandler, DL; Travorus Hatcher, DL; Malcomn Purtue, DT; and Verdell Clemons, DT; Head Coach Tyrone Shorter; and Assistant Head Coach Teddy Young; Assistant Coaches:  Javancy Jones, Ed Square, Chris Carlisle, Michael Johnson, Tyler Jackson, John Sallis, Kenny Bledsoe, Curtis Bush, Terry Dora, Chris Jones and Gary Naylor; and

     WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize this group of student athletes who have brought pride to their school, their community and to the State of Mississippi:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Noxubee County High School "Tigers" Football Team and Coach Tyrone Shorter for winning their fifth Mississippi High School Activities Association (MHSAA) Class 4A State Championship, and extend our best wishes to the team, coaches, parents and sponsors for future successes.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to Coach Shorter for the team, forwarded to Noxubee Principal James Covington and to the Noxubee County Board of Education, and made available to the Capitol Press Corps.