2018 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Sullivan

House Resolution 82

(As Adopted by House)


     WHEREAS, senior members of the Okolona High School Chieftains Boys Basketball Team solidified their legacy by etching their names in the annals of the school's sports' history with a dominating 80-59 victory over Ashland to win the Mississippi High School Activities Association (MHSAA) Class 1A State Championship on March 8, 2018; and

     WHEREAS, one of the most dominant teams in Mississippi this year, even outside of their designated MHSAA Class 1A classification, the Okolona Chieftains Boys Basketball Team ascended the scale of athletic greatness to win every playoff game by at least 21 points and lost only two games all year, once to Tennessee's Fayette Ware, and a narrow two-point loss to Starkville, whom the Chieftains also rallied to defeat in their first meeting by five points; and

     WHEREAS, a 1995 Okolona graduate, Coach Arteria Clifton, who does not often show much emotion and barely cracked a smile when presented with the golden championship trophy, could be seen in the third quarter jumping back in his seat and kicking his feet in the air after his Chieftains forced a turnover with a double-digit lead; and

     WHEREAS, from the first possession of the game, the Chieftains were swarming Ashland and making a full course press, led by Cameron Smith, Jaylon Bailey and Ladarrius Spears, three seniors who made good on their expectations for four years to make a resounding mark in aiding the team's run to go down as one of the best teams in the state; and

     WHEREAS, the Cheiftains were exceptionally coached and tremendously inspired by Head Coach Arteria Clifton, who has broadened the team's knowledge of the game and refined their skills in execution, and he continues to build upon the legacy of superior play and true sportsmanship forged by the tenacious and undaunted spirit of each team member, as evidenced in his ability to produce high caliber players and plays and by the team's successful season; and 

     WHEREAS, the talented 2018 Okolona High School Boys Basketball Championship Team has a very distinguished roster, with each player making substantial contributions on and off the hard court that led to the most historic season in the history of Okolona High, including:  Jaylon Bailey, Kylon McCoy, Jamal Moore, Brandon Young, Antonio Buchanan, Ladarrius Spears, Jacorrius Stanfield, Deonte Hampton, Dontavious Doss, Tre Harvey, Jalen McFarland, and Cameron Smith; and Coach Arteria Clifton; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to recognize and honor the achievements of student athletes such as the Okolona Chieftains, who have brought honor to their school, their community and to the State of Mississippi:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Okolona High School Chieftains Boys Basketball Team and Head Coach Arteria Clifton for winning the MHSAA Class 1A State Championship and extend best wishes to the team, coaches, parents and sponsors for future success in all their athletic and academic endeavors.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to Coach Arteria Clifton and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.