By: Senator(s) Clarke, Simmons (12th), Norwood, Jackson (32nd)

To: Rules

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 601

- A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING AND CONGRATULATING THE
- 2 HOLLANDALE-SIMMONS HIGH SCHOOL "BLUE DEVILS" FOOTBALL TEAM AND
- 3 DISTRICT COACH OF THE YEAR TAVARES JOHNSON FOR WINNING THE 2015
- 4 MHSAA CLASS 1A STATE CHAMPIONSHIP AND FOR THEIR PERFECT SEASON.
- 5 WHEREAS, we join the students of the Hollandale School
- 6 District in the excitement of a perfect 12-0 season and State
- 7 MHSAA Class 1A Championship by the Hollandale-Simmons High School
- 8 "Blue Devils" Football Team; and
- 9 WHEREAS, on December 4, 2015, the Mississippi State Football
- 10 Championship was held on the campus of the University of
- 11 Mississippi. The game featured the state's only two undefeated
- 12 teams, Simmons Junior-Senior High School and Resurrection High.
- 13 Although the game started as a defensive struggle between two top
- 14 rated defenses, Simmons took control of the game and led at
- 15 halftime. After halftime Simmons dominated on both offense and
- 16 defense and won the game 25-9. The win gave Simmons its first
- 17 State Championship in school history; and
- 18 WHEREAS, the highlights of the 2015 Championship season
- 19 include the following:

- 2015 State 1A Champions Perfect Season 12-0;
- 2015 Regional Champions;
- 2015 District Champions;
- 2015 WXVT Team of the Year;
- 2015 District Player of the Year;
- Seven players selected First Team All-District:
- 26 Marquez Pam, Joshua Jordan, Tyus Levy, Roderick Jarrett, Mykhal
- 27 Maybell, David Turner and Charles Robinson;
- 2015 District Coach of the Year Tavares Johnson;
- Two players selected First Team All-State TreVeon
- 30 Nelson and Marquez Pam;
- 2015 State 1A Coach of the Year;
- Delta Democrat Times Player of the Year TreVeon
- 33 Nelson;
- Delta Democrat Times Defensive Player of the Year
- 35 Roderick Jarrett;
- Delta Democrat Times Newcomer of the Year Chandler
- 37 Robinson;
- Delta Democrat Times Coach of the Year Tavares
- 39 Johnson; and
- 40 WHEREAS, the Simmons "Blue Devils" 2015 Football Roster is:
- 41 Nero Nelson, TreVeon Nelson, Súmetris Stewart, Fred Smith, Marquez
- 42 Pam, Charles Robinson, Charles Robinson, Jr., Charlie Williams,
- 43 Chandler Robinson, Rodrick Jarrett, David Turner, Jamaal Pam, Ryan
- 44 Smith-Maybell, Stephon Harper, Mykhal Maybell, Dequarius Pam, Thad

- 45 Allen, Jaxavius Thirsty, Aaron Davis, Jatarrion Wilbert, Datayvion
- 46 Reynolds, Tylenn Bridges, Joshua Jordan, Jacquez Atkins-Simth,
- 47 Victor Daniels, Tyus Levee, Carlito Lindsey, Marquis Warren and
- 48 Hosie Doss and Coach Tavares Johnson; and
- WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we commend a group of
- 50 student athletes who have brought pride to their school, their
- 51 community and to the State of Mississippi:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
- 53 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That
- 54 we do hereby recognize and congratulate the Hollandale-Simmons
- 55 High School "Blue Devils" Football Team and District Coach of the
- 56 Year Tavares Johnson for winning the 2015 MHSAA Class 1A State
- 57 Championship and for their perfect season, and extend our best
- 58 wishes to the team, coaches, administrators, parents and sponsors
- 59 for future success.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to
- 61 the Hollandale-Simmons "Blue Devils" and Coach Tavares Johnson,
- 62 Superintendent Angela Johnson, forwarded to the Board of Trustees
- of the Hollandale School district, and made available to the
- 64 Capitol Press Corps.