MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

By: Senator(s) Stone, Blackwell, Parks, Massey, Simmons (13th), Tollison, Chassaniol, Browning, Jordan, McMahan, Jolly, Doty, Jackson (11th), Parker, Burton, Dearing, Fillingane, Jackson (32nd), Watson To: Rules

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 552

1 A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE 2 NORTHWEST MISSISSIPPI COMMUNITY COLLEGE "RANGERS" FOOTBALL TEAM 3 AND HEAD COACH JACK WRIGHT FOR WINNING ITS FIRST NATIONAL JUNIOR 4 COLLEGE ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION (NJCAA) NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP SINCE 5 1992.

6 WHEREAS, for the third straight year, the Junior College 7 National Football Championship was decided on South Mississippi 8 soil. For the third consecutive season, a team from the Magnolia 9 State used that home-field advantage to take the title home. No. 10 1 Northwest Mississippi Community College defeated Rochester (Minnesota) Community and Technical College 66-13 on December 6, 11 12 2015, in the Annual Mississippi Bowl VIII at Biloxi High; and WHEREAS, it was a match-up of the top two teams in the 13 14 National Junior College Athletic Association Top 20 Poll. Both 15 teams ended the season at 11-1 but it was the Rangers who took home the National Crown. "We played really well," second-year 16 Rangers Head Coach Jack Wright said. "This is a tribute to our 17 18 school, our coaches and our players"; and

S. C. R. No. 552 **~ OFFICIAL ~** N1/2 16/SS01/R245 PAGE 1 (tb\rc) 19 WHEREAS, Northwest quarterback Gardner Minshew and tailback 20 Justin Crawford each accounted for a pair of touchdowns in the first 25 minutes of the game, handing the Rangers a commanding 21 22 28-0 lead. Minshew, an All-State product of Brandon High, added 23 yet another scoring strike just before halftime to make it 35-0 at 24 intermission. Crawford led all rushers with 145 yards on 19 carries and two scores, while McCrary hauled in seven catches for 25 26 150 yards and a pair of touchdowns; and

27 WHEREAS, this victory marks the third National Championship in school history for Northwest, also winning the Crown Trophy in 28 29 1982 and 1992. East Mississippi, which handed Northwest its only 30 loss of the season, had captured back-to-back National Titles with 31 wins in the Mississippi Bowl the past two seasons. "This is a 32 testament to JUCO football in the State of Mississippi," Wright 33 concluded. "Every week in our state you have to be ready to 34 play"; and

35 WHEREAS, for the first time in 16 years, the Northwest Rangers are MACJC Football Champions, defeating Mississippi Gulf 36 37 Coast Community College 34-24 on November 7, 2015, to claim its 38 ninth State Football Title in program history (2015, 1999, 1992, 39 1991, 1989, 1987, 1982, 1965, 1960). Northwest improved to 10-1 overall defeating its fifth-ranked opponent in the regular season. 40 41 It was their first-ever postseason win over the Bulldogs in eight 42 tries; and

S. C. R. No. 552 **~ OFFICIAL ~** 16/SS01/R245 PAGE 2 (tb\rc) 43 WHEREAS, the 2015 Rangers Football Team Roster is: Tito Windham, DB; Wesley Bush, DB; Justin Crawford, RB; Alfred Dickens, 44 LB; Gardner Minshew, QB; Chris Williams, DL; Jamison Goods, DB; 45 46 Ryan Golden, WR; Titus Ivory, WR; Jacob McCrary, WR; KyKy Austin, 47 WR; Shea Chism, QB; Alex Norwood, WR; K.T. McCollin, DB; Steven 48 Bradley, DB; Darius Thomas, WR; David Herrington, LB; Romeel Cochran, WR; Todd Wilson, WR; Marquisian Chapman, WR; Chris Fobbs, 49 50 DB; Tyrique Armstrong, WR; D'Andre Brown, LB; Tywun Walters, RB; 51 Javonta Woods, DB; Max Joseph, RB; Raheim Avery, LB; Malik 52 Hawkins, LB; Jim Speights, P/K; Willie Bland Jr., DB; Devante 53 Davis, LB; Quondarius Qualls, DL; Aleck Hobson, LB; Willie 54 McCaleb, DL; Quandez Lee, FB; Maurice Rivers, DL; A.J. Smith, LB; 55 Kenyana Heard, OL; J.R. Burns, OL; Jordan Sanders, OL; Corey 56 Brown, DL; Anderson Gund, OL; Chris Phillips, OL; Terrance Malone, OL; Jermaine Jones, OL; Chase Johnson, OL; Andrew Herrington, OL; 57 58 Jalen Harvey, DL; Kris Reliford, DL; Anthony Gund, DL; Coaching 59 Jack Wright, Head Coach; Scott Oakley, Wide Receivers; Jim Staff: Jones, Offensive Line; Jonathan Webster, Defensive Backs; Travis 60 61 Macon, Defensive Line; and Benjy Parker, Defensive Coordinator; 62 and

WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize this group
of National Champion college athletes who have brought pride to
their college, their community and to the State of Mississippi:
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That

68 we do hereby commend and congratulate the Northwest Mississippi 69 Community College "Rangers" Football Team and Head Coach Jack 70 Wright for winning its first National Junior College Athletic 71 Association (NJCAA) National Championship since 1992, and extend 72 our best wishes for future success.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to Coach Wright for the team, forwarded to Northwest Mississippi Community College President Dr. Gary Lee Spears and the Northwest Mississippi Community College Board of Trustees and the State Community College Board, and made available to the Capitol Press Corps.

S. C. R. No. 552 16/SS01/R245 PAGE 4 (tb\rc) ST: Commend Northwest Mississippi Community College "Rangers" Football Team for 2015 NJCAA National Championship.