REGULAR SESSION 2016

MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

By: Senator(s) Jackson (15th), Blackwell, Branning, Browning, Carmichael, Caughman, Clarke, Dearing, DeBar, Fillingane, Frazier, Jolly, Massey, McMahan, Moran, Norwood, Parker, Simmons (12th), Simmons (13th), Stone, Watson, Jackson (11th), Jackson (32nd), Burton

To: Rules

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 514

- A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION TO RECOGNIZE MISSISSIPPI STATE
 UNIVERSITY QUARTERBACK DAK PRESCOTT AS THE FIRST PLAYER IN HISTORY
 TO WIN THE COVETED C SPIRE CONERLY TROPHY IN BACK-TO-BACK SEASONS
 AND TO COMMEND HIS STELLAR FOOTBALL CAREER.

 WHEREAS, Mississippi State University fifth-year Senior
- 6 Quarterback Dak Prescott was named the winner of the 20th Annual
- 7 C Spire Conerly Trophy by the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and
- 8 Museum on December 1, 2015. Dak Prescott is the first player in
- 9 history to win the award in back-to-back seasons and Mississippi
- 10 State is the first university to have a player win the award seven
- 11 times; and
- 12 WHEREAS, given annually to the best college football player
- in Mississippi, Prescott earned the honor after being the only
- 14 player in the Southeastern Conference to lead his team in both
- 15 passing yards (3,413) and rushing yards (541) in the regular
- 16 season. The Haughton, Louisiana, native broke his own
- 17 single-season school records for completion percentage (66.9 in
- 18 2015; 61.6 in 2014) and yards per game (284.4 in 2015; 265.3 in

19 2014) and has a chance to break more records in the bowl game. In

S. C. R. No. 514 16/SS01/R247.1 PAGE 1 (tb\rc)

- 20 conference games, Prescott led the SEC in completions (226),
- 21 completion percentage (67.1), passing yards (2,528),
- 22 touchdown-to-interception ratio (17:4), passing yards per game
- 23 (316.2) and total offense (363.2). In games vs. ranked teams,
- 24 Prescott led the SEC in completions (87), completion percentage
- 25 (63.5), passing yards (889) and yards per game (296.3); and
- 26 WHEREAS, "I am humbled to be named the winner of this year's
- 27 Conerly Trophy," Prescott said. "This trophy represents the hard
- 28 work and dedication of my teammates, coaches and people around me.
- 29 I am grateful for them"; and
- 30 WHEREAS, with current Oakland Raiders' star offensive lineman
- 31 Gabe Jackson capturing the award in 2013, Dak's presentation was
- 32 the first time in history one school has won the trophy in three
- 33 straight years. Prescott is the second player ever to win the
- 34 honor twice (Eli Manning, 2001 and 2003); and
- 35 WHEREAS, Dak is the fourth player in Football Bowl
- 36 Subdivision (FBS) history and the second in the SEC (Tebow) to
- 37 throw for 60 touchdowns and rush for 40 touchdowns in a career.
- 38 He currently ranks fourth in SEC history with 110 touchdowns
- 39 responsible for and is third all-time with 11,470 yards of total
- 40 offense. Prescott is also the 10th player in FBS history (second
- 41 in SEC) to total 8,500 career passing yards and 2,000 career
- 42 rushing yards and the third quarterback in the last two decades to
- 43 rush for 10 touchdowns in three straight years (Tebow, Colin
- 44 Kapernick). Prescott was a finalist for the 2014 award after

- 45 becoming one of two FBS players in the last seven years to average
- 46 265 yards passing and 75 rushing per game in a season (Johnny
- 47 Maziel, 2012). Prescott joined Heisman Trophy winners Tim Tebow
- 48 (2007 and 2008), Cam Newton (2010) and Manziel (2012) as the only
- 49 signal callers in the SEC since 2000 to throw for 25 touchdowns
- 50 and rush for 10 scores in a single season; and
- 51 WHEREAS, the redshirt senior gave the Mississippi State
- 52 faithful one outstanding last hurrah when he passed for 380 yards
- 53 and four touchdowns and rushed for 47 yards to lead the Bulldogs
- 54 to a 51-28 victory against North Carolina State in the Belk Bowl
- 55 at Bank of America Stadium in Charlotte, North Carolina, on
- 56 December 30, 2015. It was the third consecutive bowl that
- 57 Prescott produced outstanding statistical numbers. He finished
- 58 his career with 1,308 total yards in bowl games. Prescott wasn't
- 59 phased by the light rain that fell as the game began and started
- 60 well against the Wolfpack. "I don't think there are words to
- 61 really describe what he's done for this program," MSU Coach Dan
- 62 Mullen said. "I think he has taken the university and the
- 63 football program and changed the way people think about us"; and
- WHEREAS, on December 8, 2015, Dak Prescott earned All-SEC
- 65 honors as noted by the leagues coaches. He successfully defended
- 66 his first team SEC Crown from 2014 by leading Mississippi State
- 67 University in passing and rushing. Dak Prescott was also named a
- 68 finalist for the 2015 Manning Award by the Allstate Sugar Bowl.
- 69 The award, given to the best quarterback in college football, is

- 70 the only national quarterback award which includes candidates'
- 71 bowl performances in its balloting. The Manning Award was created
- 72 by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football
- 73 accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. In its first
- 74 11 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in
- 75 college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 10 different
- 76 schools and from four different conferences. Dak Prescott will
- 77 play in the 2016 Senior Bowl in Mobile, Alabama, giving him an
- 78 extended audition in front of NFL scouts and team executives; and
- 79 WHEREAS, for an unheralded prospect out of Louisiana,
- 80 Prescott added one more reason why he is one of the best to ever
- 81 play in Mississippi. "It's become home," Prescott said. "People
- 82 and the hospitality make it home"; and it is with great pride that
- 83 we commend the stellar football career of an outstanding football
- 84 player who has added another line to his Mississippi State legacy
- 85 and has brought honor to his university, his community and to the
- 86 State of Mississippi:
- 87 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
- 88 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That
- 89 we do hereby recognize Mississippi State University Quarterback
- 90 Dak Prescott as the first player in history to win the coveted C
- 91 Spire Conerly Trophy in back-to-back seasons, and commend his
- 92 stellar football career, and extend our best wishes to Dak and his
- 93 family on this auspicious honor.

94	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to
95	Dak Prescott, forwarded to Mississippi State University Football
96	Coach Dan Mullen, Mississippi State University President Mark
97	Keenum and the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher
98	Learning, and made available to the Capitol Press Corps.