REGULAR SESSION 2016

MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

16/HR26/R2135 PAGE 1 (PP\KW)

By: Representatives Mims, Mangold, To: Rules Cockerham, Myers, Pigott

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 87

1 2 3 4	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE SOUTHWEST MISSISSIPPI COMMUNITY COLLEGE MENS BASKETBALL TEAM UPON THE TRIUMPHANT OCCASION OF WINNING THE 2016 MISSISSIPPI ASSOCIATION OF COMMUNITY AND JUNIOR COLLEGES STATE CHAMPIONSHIP.
5	WHEREAS, on February 25, 2016, the Southwest Mississippi
6	Community College Bears Mens Basketball Team won the 2016
7	Mississippi Association of Community and Junior Colleges State
8	Championship, hoisting the championship trophy for the first time
9	since the 1962-1963 season; and
10	WHEREAS, the Bears epitomized exceptional team play
11	throughout the season, finishing the season with an accomplished
12	17-8 record and earning the number three seed in the South
13	Division playoffs; and
14	WHEREAS, entering the playoffs the Bears continued to rely or
15	a variety of contributors on the road to the championship and in
16	the first round they defeated Northwest Mississippi Community
17	College 86-80, led by Rodrick Sikes with 27 points; and
18	WHEREAS, the semifinals found the Bears facing the East
19	Mississippi Community College Lions, and the Bears being led by

H. C. R. No. 87 WWW WWW ~ OFFICIAL ~ N1/2

- 20 Terrel Miller, who scored 20 points and had 13 rebounds, outlasted
- 21 the Lions 61-51; and
- 22 WHEREAS, in the finals the Bears had to contend with their
- 23 last impediment to immortality, the Jones County Junior College
- 24 Bobcats, who proved their mettle and forced Southwest to overtime
- 25 before the Bears ultimately rose to the challenge and defeated the
- 26 Bobcats 94-83, earning them the coveted MACJC State Championship;
- 27 and
- 28 WHEREAS, the Southwest Community College Bears earned this
- 29 prized distinction over the course of the season that included
- 30 contributions from many different players, additionally the Bears
- 31 benefitted from the exceptional leadership of their coaches, Head
- 32 Coach Mr. Thomas Gray, who began this campaign by emphasizing the
- 33 importance of team play and was supported in their journey by
- 34 Assistant Coaches Mr. Andy Farrell and Mr. Mike DuBose; and
- 35 WHEREAS, the players who proved to be the state's best
- 36 include: Terrel Miller, James Hawthorne, Lafayette Rutledge,
- 37 LeDerrius Simmons, Chris McIntosh, Joseph Coleman, Guy Johnson,
- 38 Zach Barnes, Mario Doyle, Sean Smith, Emanuel Thompson, Ben Howze,
- 39 Bryce Baker and Roderick Sikes; they were aided in their pursuit
- 40 of glory by student assistants Gregory Henderson, Flozell Johnson,
- 41 Donnie Thibodeaux and the Bears athletic trainer Keith Raybon; and
- WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize
- 43 and honor the achievements of student athletes such as the
- 44 Southwest Community College Mens Basketball Team who have brought

- 45 honor to their school, their community and to the State of
- 46 Mississippi:
- 47 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 48 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING
- 49 THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Southwest
- 50 Community College Mens Basketball Team and Head Coach Mr. Thomas
- 51 Gray for completing an outstanding season and upon winning the
- 52 2016 Mississippi Association of Junior and Community Colleges
- 53 State Championship, and extend best wishes to the team and their
- 54 coaches for continued success in all of their future athletic and
- 55 academic endeavors.
- 56 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 57 furnished to the Bears Head Coach Mr. Thomas Gray, Southwest
- 58 Mississippi Community College President Dr. Steve Bishop, Vice
- 59 President for Student Affairs/Athletic Director Dr. Bill Ashley
- and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.