By: Representatives Rushing, Bounds, Evans (45th), Hood, Roberson, Shirley, Mickens, Miles, Walker, White

To: Rules

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 83

- A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE EAST CENTRAL COMMUNITY COLLEGE WARRIORS FOOTBALL TEAM FOR THEIR EXCEPTIONAL 2015 SEASON.
- 4 WHEREAS, the East Central Community College (ECCC) Warriors
- 5 Football Team had an exceptional 2015 season, finishing with an
- 6 8-3 record under third-year Head Coach Ken Karcher, the college's
- 7 best record since 1999; and
- 8 WHEREAS, all three losses during the 2015 season were by a
- 9 combined total of 26 points to teams ranked in the Top 10 of the
- 10 final National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) Top 20
- 11 Football Poll; and
- 12 WHEREAS, the Warriors finished second in the Mississippi
- 13 Association of Community and Junior Colleges (MACJC) South
- 14 Division with a 4-2 division record and qualified for the MACJC
- 15 State Playoffs for the first time since 2001; and
- 16 WHEREAS, the Warriors traveled to Senatobia, Mississippi, and
- 17 put on a gutsy performance in the MACJC semifinal game, falling

- 18 27-20 on a fourth quarter touchdown by Northwest Mississippi
- 19 Community College, the eventual State and National Champion; and
- 20 WHEREAS, the ECCC Warriors were invited to the C.H.A.M.P.S.
- 21 Heart of Texas (HOT) Bowl in Copperas Cove, Texas, their first
- 22 bowl invitation in 19 years and only the third invitation in the
- 23 college's 87-year history; and
- 24 WHEREAS, the Warriors were one of only 14 community college
- 25 teams in the nation that were invited to bowl games in 2015; and
- 26 WHEREAS, the Warriors defeated Kilgore College by the score
- of 35-21 to win the 2015 HOT Bowl trophy on December 5, 2015; and
- 28 WHEREAS, sophomore safety Austin Balthazor of Seminary High
- 29 School was named the Most Valuable Player of the 2015 HOT Bowl
- 30 after returning a fumble 90 yards for a touchdown and making six
- 31 tackles; and
- 32 WHEREAS, the Warriors were ranked No. 10 in the nation in the
- 33 final NJCAA Top 20 Football Poll for the 2015 season; and
- 34 WHEREAS, several members of the Warriors Football Team
- 35 received postseason recognition, including: Austin Balthazor,
- 36 Second Team All-State Defense; sophomore wide receiver Kabion Ento
- of Dollarway High School in Pine Bluff, Arkansas, All-Region 23
- 38 and First Team All-State Offense; sophomore defensive lineman
- 39 Derek Mahaffey of Oxford High School, Alabama, All-Region 23 and
- 40 First Team All-State Defense; sophomore linebacker Eric McPherson
- 41 of Jim Hill High School in Jackson, Mississippi, First Team
- 42 All-State Defense; sophomore offensive lineman Hunter Soileau of

- 43 Forrest County High School, Mississippi, Second Team All-State
- 44 Offense; sophomore quarterback Jesse Hosket of French Camp
- 45 Academy, Mississippi, First Team All-State Offense; sophomore
- 46 tight end Jordan Thomas of Sumrall High School, Mississippi,
- 47 Second Team All-State Offense; and sophomore offensive lineman
- 48 Eddie Houston of Newton High School, Mississippi, Second Team
- 49 All-State Offense; and
- 50 WHEREAS, in addition to receiving postseason recognition and
- 51 awards, several members of the Warrior Football Team were
- 52 recognized by their teammates and coaches for their hard work,
- 53 dedication and superior play in 2015, including: Austin Balthazor,
- 54 Defensive Captain Award; sophomore offensive lineman Micah Parten
- of Northwest Rankin High School, Mississippi, Offensive Captain
- 56 Award; defensive lineman Jerry Magee of Collins High School,
- 57 Mississippi, Most Improved Defensive Player Award; Jesse Hosket,
- 58 Luke 2:52 Award and Academic Award; Jordan Thomas, Most Improved
- 59 Offensive Player Award; and Eddie Houston, Academic Award; and
- WHEREAS, in recognition of his team's outstanding season,
- 61 Head Coach Ken Karcher was selected as the MACJC South Division
- 62 Coach of the Year; and
- 63 WHEREAS, many Warriors will continue their football careers
- 64 next fall at NCAA Division I and Division II colleges and
- 65 universities, including Mississippi State University, the
- 66 University of Colorado, University of Tennessee Chattanooga,
- 67 Nicholls State University, University of Central Arkansas,

- 68 Arkansas Tech University, University of Arkansas Monticello,
- 69 Northwestern State University, Southeastern Missouri State
- 70 University and Delta State University, among others; and
- 71 WHEREAS, the members of the Warriors Football Team have
- 72 developed a winning and cooperative spirit and a high degree of
- 73 sportsmanship, and their activities and attitude on and off the
- 74 field reflect great credit upon the individual players and their
- 75 coaches and bring honor to East Central Community College, the
- 76 team members' parents and hometown communities, and the State of
- 77 Mississippi as they have achieved these accolades the ECCC way,
- 78 "Excellence with Class"; and
- 79 WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize
- 80 and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the young
- 81 adults of our state, who are its future:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 83 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING
- 84 THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the East
- 85 Central Community College Warriors Football Team and Head Coach
- 86 Ken Karcher and his staff for their outstanding 2015 season, and
- 87 extend best wishes for continued success in all of their future
- 88 academic and athletic endeavors.

83

- 89 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 90 furnished to East Central Community College President Dr. Billy
- 91 Stewart, Head Coach Ken Karcher and to the members of the Capitol
- 92 Press Corps.

H. C. R. No. 16/HR43/R1753 PAGE 4 (AJT\EW)

## 

~ OFFICIAL ~

ST: East Central Community College Warriors Football Team; commend for outstanding 2015 season.