By: Representatives Rushing, Bounds, Evans (45th), Hood, Mickens, Miles, Roberson, Shirley, Walker, White

To: Rules

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 82

- A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE EAST CENTRAL COMMUNITY COLLEGE LADY WARRIORS SOFTBALL TEAM UPON THEIR OUTSTANDING 2015 SEASON.
- 4 WHEREAS, the East Central Community College (ECCC) Lady
- 5 Warriors Softball Team had an exceptional 2015 season, finishing
- 6 with a 48-14 record under third-year Head Coach Kristin Chaney;
- 7 and
- 8 WHEREAS, 11 of their 14 losses during the 2015 season were to
- 9 teams ranked in the Top 20 of the final National Junior College
- 10 Athletic Association (NJCAA) Softball Poll; and
- 11 WHEREAS, the Lady Warriors finished second in the Mississippi
- 12 Association of Community and Junior Colleges (MACJC) South
- 13 Division with a 22-6 record and qualified for the MACJC State
- 14 Playoffs; and
- 15 WHEREAS, the Lady Warriors finished second in the MACJC State
- 16 Tournament held at Jones County Junior College in Ellisville,
- 17 Mississippi, where three of the four participating teams were
- 18 ranked in the top 11 in the nation; and

20 Region 23 Tournament, also held at Jones County Junior College in Ellisville, where all four participating teams were ranked in the 21 22 top 11 in the nation; and 23 WHEREAS, the Lady Warriors earned a berth in the 16-team, 24 double elimination 2015 NJCAA Division II Softball National 25 Championship held in Clinton, Mississippi, on May 13-16, 2015, and 26 the No. 5 seed Lady Warriors were 6-2 over the four-day 27 tournament, including a win over No. 1 seed Phoenix College; and 28 WHEREAS, the Lady Warriors battled back from the losers bracket to win four straight games, including two on the final 29 30 day, before falling to Kankakee Community College in the finals 31 5-1 and finishing as the No. 2 team in the nation, the 32 highest-ever finish for the college's softball team; and 33 WHEREAS, freshman outfielder Katlyn Duke of Neshoba Central 34 High School won the Marucci Elite Hitter Award as the tournament's 35 top batter, and freshman first baseman Mahalia Gibson of Oak Grove High School, freshman pitcher Lacey Hill of Kilbourne High School, 36 37 and sophomore second baseman Mallory Turner of West Lauderdale 38 High School were named to the National All-Tournament Team; and

WHEREAS, the Lady Warriors finished second at the NJCAA

Leake Academy, MACJC State Pitcher of the Week (two times) and

WHEREAS, three members of the Lady Warriors were recognized

as the national and/or state player or pitcher of the week during

the regular season, including: freshman pitcher Chloe Thaggard of

NJCAA Division II National Pitcher of the Week (two times); Lacey

39

40

41

42

43

19

- 44 Hill, MACJC State Pitcher of the Week and NJCAA Division II
- 45 National Pitcher of the Week; and freshman shortshop Maegen Ellis
- 46 of Oak Hill Academy in West Point, MACJC State Player of the Week;
- 47 and
- WHEREAS, several members of the Lady Warriors received other
- 49 postseason recognition, including: Mahalia Gibson, NJCAA
- 50 First-Team All-American, the first for ECCC since 2001, All-Region
- 51 23, and First-Team All-State; Lacey Hill, All-Region 23; Chloe
- 52 Thaggard, All-Region 23; and Maegen Ellis, First-Team All-State;
- 53 and
- 54 WHEREAS, several members of the Lady Warriors were recognized
- 55 by their coaches for their hard work, dedication and superior play
- 56 in 2015, including: Maegen Ellis, Baserunning Award; Mallory
- 57 Turner, Hustle Award; sophomore catcher Karoline Holsonback of
- 58 South Lamar High School, Most Improved Award; Lacey Hill and Chloe
- 59 Thaggard, co-recipients of the Pitching Award; Katlyn Duke, Most
- 60 Outstanding Defense Award; Mahalia Gibson, Most Outstanding
- 61 Offense Award and Most Valuable Player Award; and sophomore third
- 62 baseman Anna Katherine Nowell of Leake Academy, Lady Warrior Award
- 63 and Scholar-Athlete Award; and
- 64 WHEREAS, Head Softball Coach Kristin Chaney notched her 100th
- 65 career victory on April 21, 2015, when her Lady Warriors shutout
- 66 Pearl River Community College 9-0 in the second game of a
- 67 doubleheader; and



- WHEREAS, the ECCC Softball Team was named both the NJCAA and
- 69 MACJC Women's Softball Academic Team of the Year for compiling an
- 70 overall 3.63 grade-point average; and
- 71 WHEREAS, several Lady Warriors received individual academic
- 72 honors, including: Anna Katherine Nowell, NJCAA Pinnacle Award
- 73 for Academic Excellence and MACJC Distinguished Academic
- 74 All-State; Karoline Holsonback, NJCAA Award for Superior Academic
- 75 Achievement and MACJC Distinguished Academic All-State; and
- 76 Mallory Turner, NJCAA Award for Exemplary Academic Achievement and
- 77 MACJC Academic All-State; and
- 78 WHEREAS, the members of the Lady Warriors developed a winning
- 79 and cooperative spirit and a high degree of sportsmanship, and
- 80 their activities and attitude on and off the field reflect great
- 81 credit upon the individual players and their coaches and bring
- 82 honor to East Central Community College, the team members' parents
- 83 and hometown communities, and the State of Mississippi as they
- 84 have achieved these accolades the ECCC way, "Excellence with
- 85 Class"; and
- WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize
- 87 and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the young
- 88 adults of our state, who are its future:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 90 REPRESENTATIVES, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby
- 91 commend and congratulate the East Central Community College Lady
- 92 Warriors Softball Team, Head Coach Kristin Chaney and Assistant

- 93 Coach Courtney Nunn for their outstanding 2015 season and extend
- 94 best wishes for continued success in all of their future academic
- 95 and athletic endeavors.
- 96 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 97 furnished to the East Central Community College Lady Warriors
- 98 Softball Team, Head Coach Kristin Chaney, President Dr. Billy
- 99 Stewart and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.

82