By: Representatives Barker, Byrd, Dedeaux, Fillingane, Parker, Walley, Warren, Watson, Patterson, Weathersby To: Rules

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 67

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE STUDENTS, FACULTY, STAFF,
ADMINISTRATION, ALUMNI AND FRIENDS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF SOUTHERN
MISSISSIPPI, BOTH PAST AND PRESENT, UPON THE ONE HUNDREDTH
ANNIVERSARY OF ITS FOUNDING.

WHEREAS, March 30, 2010, marks the one hundredth anniversary 5 6 of the founding of the University of Southern Mississippi; and 7 WHEREAS, the University of Southern Mississippi began as 8 Mississippi Normal College through the passage of House Bill No. 9 204, which was introduced by State Representative Marshall 10 McCullough of Lincoln County, then passed by the Mississippi House of Representatives on March 16, 1910, approved by the Senate a 11 week later and signed into law by Governor Edmond Favor Noel on 12 13 March 30, 1910, with no state appropriation; and

14 WHEREAS, during the search for a location for the college, 15 Hattiesburg residents, Dr. T.E. Ross, Mr. H.A. Camp and Mr. A.A. 16 Montague, saw the tremendous opportunity for their city and state, 17 and donated 120 acres of land on a stretch of wilderness a few 18 miles west of downtown Hattiesburg, thus enabling Hattiesburg to 19 be chosen over Jackson and Laurel as the site for the new college; 20 and

21 WHEREAS, leaders of the City of Hattiesburg and Forrest 22 County took the bold and courageous step of selling bonds to raise 23 the needed money to build the first buildings on the new college's 24 campus; and

25 WHEREAS, the first classes began at Mississippi Normal 26 College on September 18, 1912, under the leadership of its first 27 president, Dr. David Anderson Cook, with the education and

H. R. No. 67 10/HR03/R1972 PAGE 1 (CAA\LH) N1/2

28 training of new teachers to serve the people of Mississippi as the 29 college's mission; and

30 WHEREAS, since its inception, this noble institution has 31 built a reputation of persevering and succeeding in both good and 32 tumultuous times, surviving several politically motivated 33 dismissals of presidents and even attempts by the Mississippi 34 Legislature to close its doors; and

35 WHEREAS, this determination to succeed, advance and "do more 36 with less" pushed the institution to greater heights, as its 37 mission expanded and its name changed from Mississippi Normal 38 College to State Teachers College (1924), Mississippi Southern 39 College (1940) and, ultimately, the University of Southern 40 Mississippi (1962); and

WHEREAS, under the vision and leadership of nine different presidents, the University of Southern Mississippi's breadth and depth of academic programs have evolved from its humble beginnings of solely training teachers to its current status as an internationally recognized pioneer in areas such as nursing, economic development, language disorders, marine research, gifted education, athletics, the arts and polymer science; and

WHEREAS, the University of Southern Mississippi has graduated over 125,000 alumni, counting among its ranks statesmen, scholars, entertainers, educators, athletes and artists; and

51 WHEREAS, the same desire to survive and succeed continues to 52 mold and motivate its students, faculty, staff, administration and 53 alumni, thus ensuring the University of Southern Mississippi's 54 second century will be all the more prosperous than the first; and 55 WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to 56 commend 100 years of service to the State of Mississippi by such

57 an outstanding institution as the University of Southern

58 Mississippi:

59 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF

60 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby

H. R. No. 67 10/HR03/R1972 PAGE 2 (CAA\LH) 61 commend the students, faculty, staff, administration, alumni and 62 friends of the University of Southern Mississippi, both past and 63 present, on one century of loyalty and excellence, and express 64 best wishes on guiding the university to greater heights in the 65 next century.

66 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be 67 furnished to President Martha Dunagin Saunders and to the members 68 of the Capitol Press Corps.