By: Senator(s) Walls, Simmons, Clarke, Jackson (11th)

To: Rules

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 579

1 A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE 2 WEST BOLIVAR HIGH SCHOOL "EAGLES" FOOTBALL TEAM AND HEAD COACH 3 HENRY JOHNSON FOR WINNING THE CLASS 2A STATE CHAMPIONSHIP. WHEREAS, for the first time since 1986, the West Bolivar High 4 5 School "Eagles" Football Team led by Head Coach Henry Johnson won 6 the Class 2A State Championship with a perfect undefeated season of 15-0; and 7 WHEREAS, this season was the culmination of an excellent 8 history of playoff appearances for the Eagles. The 2007 season 9 marked the Eagles 17th Division Championship, its 23rd Playoff 10 Appearance and its 4th State Championship; and 11 12 WHEREAS, the team was led by Head Coach Henry Johnson who 13 thanked the Rosedale community for making 2007 a successful season 14 which "represented a win for the entire Mississippi Delta." Coach Johnson was assisted by Coaches Jimmy Reynolds, Greg Wilson, 1.5 Nikita Johnson, Dane Milling, Willie Pittman and Jeremy Banks; and 16 WHEREAS, the following players received individual honors 17 during the playoffs: Keondrick Brown - All-District/All-State, 18 19 Ladarrius Dawson - All-District/All-State, Christopher Tucker -All-District/All-State and Deconte Walker - All-District/ 20 21 All-State; and WHEREAS, the West Bolivar Eagles' 2007 Football Roster is as 22 23 follows:

POSITION

QΒ

LB

DB/RB

DB/WR DE/TE

Sky King

S. C. R. No. 579

Daniel Lee

Jeff Reed

Keondrick Brown

Marcus Fortney

NAME

24

25

26

27

2.8

29

PAGE 1

30	Ladarian Petty	DB/WR
31	Deconte Walker	LB/FB
32	Jacorrius Liner	CB/TB
33	Emmanuel Ford	DB/QB
34	Mac Taylor	DE/TE
35	Kareem Tyler	QB/WR
36	Arthadius Dudley	DB/QB
37	Jakovis Stewart	DB/WR
38	Desmond Johnson	DB/WR
39	Millaun Brown	DE/TE
40	Ladarrius Dawson	DN/WR
41	Daquarius Johnson	RB/DB
42	Tony Lewis	TB/SS
43	Quantaurus Banks	LB/FB
44	Jaworski Devine	TE/DE
45	Gary McCoy	DB/RB
46	Leondric Hill	DB/RB
47	Quazedric Toliver	WR/DB
48	Devens Johnson	OL/DL
49	Stanley Adams	OL/DL
50	Terry Gray	OL/LB
51	Leander Williams	OL/DT
52	Trent Gilford	OL/DL
53	David James	DE
54	Jeremy Smith	LB/OL
55	Willie Lloyd	OL/DL
56	Kimvaqwas Hudson	LB/FB
57	Laderrian Lloyd	NG
58	Lazedric Toliver	OL/DL
59	Ventrell Wilson	OL/DL
60	Rod Cain	OL/DL
61	Chris Tucker	OL/DL
62	Paul Medders	OL/DL
63	Cord Lloyd	WR/DB
64	Caleb Murray	WR
65	Trennel Brown	WR
66	Chris Rogers	DB/WR

WHEREAS, it is with pride that we recognize the special accomplishments of this team which brought honor and identity to their school, the Mississippi Delta and to the State of

70 Mississippi:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That
we do hereby commend and congratulate the West Bolivar High School
"Eagles" Football Team and Head Coach Henry Johnson for their
Class 2A State Championship and their outstanding undefeated 2007
season, and extend to them the best wishes of the Legislature for
future scholastic and athletic successes.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to
Coach Johnson and the team and the Superintendent, Henry Phillips,
Jr., and Principal, Earl Phillips of West Bolivar, and be made
available to the Capitol Press Corps.