By: Senator(s) Davis (1st), Burton, Frazier, To: Rules Hopson, Lee (35th), Watson

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 563

1 A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE MEMBERS OF PHI THETA 2 KAPPA'S ALL-MISSISSIPPI ACADEMIC TEAM ON THE OCCASION OF 3 "MISSISSIPPI PHI THETA KAPPA DAY." WHEREAS, on March 19, 2008, members of Phi Theta Kappa, an 4 5 esteemed honor society for community and junior colleges, which 6 has its international headquarters in Jackson, Mississippi, will celebrate "Mississippi Phi Theta Kappa Day"; and 7 8 WHEREAS, special commendations are extended to the 9 outstanding scholars who comprise Phi Theta Kappa's 10 All-Mississippi Academic Team, a team of highly successful community and junior college students assembled by the Mississippi 11 12 State Board for Community and Junior Colleges, to participate in the Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team competition; 13 14 WHEREAS, the following students have been recognized as 15 members of the 2008 All-Mississippi Academic Team: Darrell Dixon, 16 Coahoma Community College in Clarksdale; Jushuntia Stephens, 17 Coahoma Community College in Clarksdale; Elizabeth Austin, 18 19 Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Natchez; Cavin Madden, Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Natchez; Krystina Farish, 20 21 Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Simpson County; Cambre Paes, Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Simpson County; Anna Evans, 22 23 Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Wesson; Mallory Johnson, Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Wesson; Carole Alexander, East 24 Central Community College in Decatur; Jonathan Jackson, East 25

Central Community College in Decatur; Mandy Stewart, East

Mississippi Community College in Golden Triangle; James Towery,

26

27

- 28 East Mississippi Community College in Golden Triangle; Katie
- 29 Moore, East Mississippi Community College in Scooba; Christopher
- 30 Wilson, East Mississippi Community College in Scooba; Taylor
- 31 Campbell, Hinds Community College in Rankin County; Rachel Swords,
- 32 Hinds Community College in Rankin County; Janet Koester, Hinds
- 33 Community College in Raymond; Kimberly Watson, Hinds Community
- 34 College in Raymond; Jerrica Stimage, Hinds Community College in
- 35 Utica; Apryl Trimble, Hinds Community College in Utica; Emily
- 36 Edwards, Hinds Community College in Vicksburg; Kimberly Cotton,
- 37 Holmes Community College in Goodman; Christopher Prevost, Holmes
- 38 Community College in Goodman; Tonda Beck, Holmes Community College
- 39 in Grenada; Irma Swindle, Holmes Community College in Grenada;
- 40 Bonnie O'Neal, Holmes Community College in Ridgeland; Jenny
- 41 Payment, Holmes Community College in Ridgeland; Bethany
- 42 Poppelreiter, Itawamba Community College in Fulton; Spencer
- 43 Walton, Itawamba Community College in Fulton; Carla Witt, Itawamba
- 44 Community College in Tupelo; Justin Wooten, Itawamba Community
- 45 College in Tupelo; Eric James, Jones County Junior College in
- 46 Ellisville; Tyler Thompson, Jones County Junior College in
- 47 Ellisville; Shelia Mitchell, Meridian Community College in
- 48 Meridian; Juan Zabrodiec, Meridian Community College in Meridian;
- 49 Ann McClellan, Mississippi Delta Community College in Moorhead;
- 50 Katy Spradlin, Mississippi Delta Community College in Moorhead;
- 51 Rachelle Cooley, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in
- 52 Jackson County; Estrella Ward, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community
- 53 College in Jackson County; Cheri Gray, Mississippi Gulf Coast
- 54 Community College in Jefferson Davis; Amber Morykwas, Mississippi
- 55 Gulf Coast Community College in Jefferson Davis; Rachel Cuevas,
- 56 Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in Perkinston; Elisabeth
- 57 Palchak, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in Perkinston;
- 58 Joel Barron, Northeast Mississippi Community College in
- 59 Booneville; Cody Burchell, Northeast Mississippi Community College
- 60 in Booneville; Lauren Delashmit, Northwest Mississippi Community

- 61 College in DeSoto; Mary Zluticky, Northwest Mississippi Community
- 62 College in DeSoto; Rebekah Green, Northwest Mississippi Community
- 63 College in Senatobia; Elizabeth Milstead, Pearl River Community
- 64 College in Hattiesburg; Brenna Welch, Pearl River Community
- 65 College in Hattiesburg; Andrew Reish, Pearl River Community
- 66 College in Poplarville; Rachel Selzer, Pearl River Community
- 67 College in Poplarville; Jana Wallace, Southwest Mississippi
- 68 Community College in Summit; Carolita Yoder, Southwest Mississippi
- 69 Community College in Summit; and
- 70 WHEREAS, as members of Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi
- 71 Academic Team, these students have demonstrated impressive
- 72 intellect, outstanding leadership and a determination for
- 73 achieving academic excellence; and
- 74 WHEREAS, the praiseworthy and devoted efforts of the members
- 75 of Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team have earned
- 76 great respect and admiration for themselves and their academic
- 77 institutions; and
- 78 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize and commend
- 79 the accomplishments of these students who have brought honor to
- 80 their colleges and to the State of Mississippi:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
- 82 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That
- 83 we do hereby commend and congratulate the members of Phi Theta
- 84 Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team and extend heartiest wishes
- 85 for success in all of their future endeavors.
- 86 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 87 furnished to Phi Theta Kappa and to the members of the Capitol
- 88 Press Corps.