By: Senator(s) Kirby, Chaney, Frazier, Harden

To: Rules

## SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 581

- A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE PEARL HIGH SCHOOL "PIRATES" BOYS SOCCER TEAM AND COACH ANDY KIVLAN
- 3 FOR WINNING THEIR THIRD CONSECUTIVE CLASS 4A STATE CHAMPIONSHIP.
- WHEREAS, the Class 4A boys final on Saturday, February 10,
- 5 2007, was a soccer fan's dream come true. It featured two rivals,
- 6 Pearl High School and Florence High School, meeting in what would
- 7 be a "Rankin County War." Fans were treated to nasty collisions,
- 8 diving saves, stellar play from both goal-keepers, maybe a thrown
- 9 fist or two and plenty of offense; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Florence appeared to have the game won in the 45th
- 11 minute when the Eagles had a 2-0 lead; however, the Pirates had an
- 12 answer in Senior Forward David Slowik, who scored the winning goal
- 13 seven minutes into overtime to lift Pearl to a 3-2
- 14 come-from-behind win in front of an estimated 800 fans at
- 15 Millsaps' Harper Davis Field; and
- 16 WHEREAS, with his winning shot, preceded by goals from Dillon
- 17 Walker and Chris Williams, the Pearl Pirates claimed their third
- 18 consecutive Class 4A title; and
- 19 WHEREAS, first-year Pearl Coach Andy Kivlan got his third 4A
- 20 title after winning two previous championships at St. Stanislaus.
- 21 "It was pretty improbable," Kivlan said. "But you don't put
- 22 anything past these kids. A lot of it had to do with heart and
- 23 determination"; and
- WHEREAS, Pearl (19-6-1) lost 13 Seniors from its previous two
- 25 title-winning teams, and Coach Kivlan said the team had been
- 26 challenged all year; and

27 WHEREAS, the Pirates defeated West Lauderdale, Oxford and 28 Pontotoc in the playoffs prior to the State Championship victory 29 over Florence and the team roster is as follows: Josh Beam (K); 30 Dillon Walker (M); Kyle Collins (D); Manny Garcia (M); Steven 31 Nelson (D); Adam Wade (D); Dusty Wilson (M); Kevin Clarke (F/M); 32 Trey Fontaine (F/M); Tyler Love (D); Chris Williams (M); Josh 33 Emmons (D/M); Andrew Black (D/M); Jonathan Jones (F/M); David 34 Slowik (F); Josh Bailey (D); Joseph Logue (M); Justin Waite (M/F); Michael Scarborough (D/M); Michael Skaggs (M); Jonathan Logue (M); 35 36 Kyle Thompson (F); John Wixson (K/M); Austin Coley (M); Eli McMillan (D); Eddie Ronquillo (F/M); Kyle Williams (M); Russell 37 Williamson (M/D); Thomas Moore (F/M); and Nick Weeks (D); and 38 WHEREAS, it is the goal of the Pearl High School sports 39 40 program to produce young men and women who have the capacity to be successful citizens in our highly competitive society, and it is 41 42 with great pride that we recognize this unique achievement by a 43 team of student athletes who have brought honor to their school, their community and to the State of Mississippi: 44 45 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That 46 47 we do hereby commend and congratulate the Pearl High School 48 "Pirates" Boys Soccer Team and Coach Andy Kivlan for winning their 49 third consecutive Class 4A State Championship and extend to the 50 team our best wishes for success in their future athletic and 51 academic endeavors. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to 52 53 Athletic Director Woody Barnett and Coach Andy Kivlan for the team and be forwarded to the Board of Trustees of the Pearl Public 54 School District and the Capitol Press Corps. 55