By: Senator(s) Little

To: Rules

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 525

1	Α	CONCURRENT	RESOLUTION	COMMENDING	AND	CONGRATULATING	THE

- 2 CORINTH HIGH SCHOOL "WARRIORS" OVERALL TENNIS TEAM AND MISSISSIPPI
- 3 HALL OF FAME COACH LYNN WOOD FOR WINNING THEIR 11TH CLASS 3A STATE
- 4 CHAMPIONSHIP.
- 5 WHEREAS, the Corinth High School "Warriors" Tennis Team
- 6 compiled a total of 17 points on Tuesday, May 9, 2006, to win the
- 7 Class 3A State Championship for the 2005-2006 season; and
- 8 WHEREAS, thirty-five-year veteran and Mississippi Hall of
- 9 Fame Coach Lynn Wood and his championship squad won an
- 10 unprecedented 11th State Championship for the Corinth High School
- 11 Tennis program; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Corinth won four of five semifinal matches early and
- 13 needed just one point in the championship round to hold off Newton
- 14 County. The squad got the point with its first boys' doubles
- 15 championship since 1998 and added two more titles to successfully
- 16 defend its 2005 title; and
- 17 WHEREAS, the Warriors' 17 points and three-event
- 18 championships tied a pair of school marks. Wood's 1981 and 1991
- 19 squads both netted 17 points, with the 1988 team matching the 1981
- 20 edition with three-event titles; and
- 21 WHEREAS, "This championship is just as sweet as the first
- 22 one, " said Coach Woods. "All of them feel the same, but are
- 23 different because they involve a different group of kids.
- 24 Everybody played with a big heart"; and
- WHEREAS, team and individual state championships compiled by
- 26 the Corinth tennis program is as follows: Team titles (11):
- 27 1981, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 2002, 2005 and

- 29 1980 and 1981; Haley Huggins, 2005 and 2006. Boys Singles (3):
- 30 Moore Hallmark, 1986 and 1987; Bobby Middleton, 1991. Girls
- 31 Doubles (8): Lisa McFall/Mary Pierce, 1981; Catherine Smith/Nancy
- 32 Smith, 1988, 1989 and 1990; Elizabeth Perry/Courtney Rogers, 1993;
- 33 Courtney Coleman/Anna Lambert, 2004 and 2005; Abby
- 34 Lambert/Courtney Puckett, 2006. Boys Doubles (6): Jeff
- 35 Lansdale/Mark McFall, 1986; Torey Hammett/Neil Jones, 1988; Todd
- 36 Archer/Jason Counce, 1990; Niel Hora/Jason Kay, 1992; Joshua
- 37 Bryant/Jay Shipp, 1998; Luke McCullen/David Palmer, 2006. Mixed
- 38 Doubles (5): Sammy Kay/Lisa Mills, 1981; Robert Williams/Kathi
- 39 Merwin, 1988 and 1989; Michael Wood/Elizabeth Perry, 1991 and
- 40 1992; and
- 41 WHEREAS, Haley Huggins capped the championship and her
- 42 stellar tennis career with a 7-5, 5-7, 6-3 win over Mooreville's
- 43 Brittany Harris in girls' singles. The lone Corinth High School
- 44 senior, who joined Antrice Kay (1980-1981) as the lone Lady
- 45 Warrior to win consecutive championships in the event, finished
- 46 the 2006 season 17-3 and dropped just two other sets outside of
- 47 her three losses; and
- WHEREAS, Abby Lambert and Christina Puckett followed with a
- 49 three-set win over Newton County in girls' doubles. The pair
- 50 dropped the first set 4-6, but bounced back with convincing 6-1
- 51 and 6-2 wins. According to Wood, Abby Lambert is the first
- 52 eighth-grader he's had to win an event title; and
- 53 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize the special
- 54 accomplishments of this group of student athletes who have again
- 55 brought honor to their school, their community and to the State of
- 56 Mississippi:

PAGE 2

- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
- 58 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That
- 59 we do hereby commend and congratulate the Corinth High School
- 60 "Warriors" Overall Tennis Team and Mississippi Hall of Fame Coach
- 61 Lynn Wood for winning their 11th Class 3A State Championship and S. C. R. No. 525 *SS26/R580* 07/SS26/R580

- 62 for their outstanding 2005-2006 season, and wish them continued
- 63 success in their future athletic and scholastic endeavors.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to
- 65 Coach Lynn Wood and the Principal of Corinth High School, and be
- 66 made available to the Capital Press Corps.